Celebration – Chemist in the Bottle turns 2

Today is exactly 2 years since the moment I created Chemist in the Bottle and published my very first article here. The time has been going by so fast that it doesn’t really feel like those 730 days are behind and belong to the past now. But it’s the birthday of my blog and that calls for a celebration. There were ups and downs on my way but I never had a single thought on stopping to write about perfume. Actually I miss this virtual place when I’m out-of-town for a few days. This place feels like a second home and you feel like my family, really. The success (as I get it) of this blog in a big part belongs to each of you.

You give me inspiration and power to write. Sometimes I ask you for help when I don’t have an idea what I should write about. You make Chemist in the Bottle entertaining with your funny reactions and comments. Though I haven’t met you in person (yet!) I think of you as my friends. Among many people who came here to visit many of you are still around since the very beginning. Sincere “thank you” to Hajusuuri, Jillie and Undina who are around whenever they can.

Few number facts: since today I have written 292 posts which means that a new article was published every 2,5 days on average. That’s a result I had in my mind when creating this blog – to post every 2-3 days. Together we wrote over 7000 comments, creating some great discussions and the blog was visited almost 200 000 times. A review of Prada Candy L’Eau is the most often read article. During last 12 months I also added a facebook page and instagram profile to my blog.

Now, grab the plates and lets eat the Chemist in the Bottle birthday cake together. As part of a celebration and my way to say “thank you” to all of you, I’m announcing a contest.

Take a picture of your perfume collection/part of it/most precious bottles, tag the blog in the picture by placing in the frame a piece of paper with “Chemist in the Bottle” written on it (you can include birthday wishes too) and submit it until Tuesday, July 8. Send your entry to lucas.szczesniak[at]gmail.com Some fabulous prizes are waiting for you.

  • 1st place – from friends at Atelier Cologne, I have for you an Ecrin Absolu coffret (200 + 30ml + leather case) of Collection Metal fragrance of your choice OR two 30ml petit flacons – perfumes of your choice with two personalized leather cases;
  • 2nd place – from Ramon Monegal and Francisco Gratacos, a 15ml flacon of Ramon Monegal Barcelona scent, you get to choose the fragrance;
  • 3rd place – from the loveliest Julien and Madalina of Jul et Mad, a 7ml Nomad Spray filled with divine Aqua Sextius – ideal summer scent.

I can’t wait to see all these pictures presenting your own perfume collections or the bottles that you cherish the most. I believe that the prizes are worth spending some time to take a great photo. After July 8 I will ask team Atelier Cologne, Ramon Monegal, Francisco Gratacos and Julien and Madalina to help me pick the winners. Be creative with the photographies and have fun! Thank you for spending another year with Chemist in the Bottle. You’re the best audience I could have!

And last but not least, I’m happy to share the news with you that after 4 months of my internship (for free, as a volunteer) in the laboratory of fragrance composition I was offered a part time job. Starting today I’m taking a position of junior fragrance evaluation manager. I’m very excited for that!

Tagged , , , , , ,

52 thoughts on “Celebration – Chemist in the Bottle turns 2

  1. Ines says:

    Happy blog birthday! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Those two years seem to have flown by.

    And thank you for the amazing give-away – I look forward to taking a picture of part of my collection (I’ll do a summer perfumes one).

  2. jillie says:

    Happy birthday, and congratulations on your job! It’s been great reading your blog over these two years (where did the time go?), and it’s almost as though you have grown up before our very eyes. I think that your life must be very different now from what it was before Chemist in the Bottle was born. You love your blog, and we love reading it! Well done. You have worked so hard and deserve your success. Here’s a toast to many more happy years!
    x

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you sweetie!
      Actually yes, you can say it like that. I’ve grown up from being a student to being a just employed.
      My life has changed after creating the blog- all for the bettet

  3. Asali says:

    Two years already, incredible, very happy blogoversary to you Lucas. And honestly you make the greatest competitions, I love a creative challenge, so I’ll definitely be sending a photo-greeting.
    Cheers for ‘the chemist’

  4. Laurels says:

    Congratulations on your two-year anniversary, and you new job!

    I’m not much of a photographer, but maybe I’ll give your contest a go.

  5. poodle says:

    Happy Blog Birthday! Hard to believe that much time has gone by. I’m happy to hear that you were offered a job too. Congrats!

  6. Congratulations Lucas!!! See, all the hard work is paying off…you are going places! Keep up the good work, I can’t wait to see what you have in store for the next 2 years.

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you! Yes, it’s all coming back to me ๐Ÿ˜‰ can’t wait for the Pitti fair too.

      Here is to hope that in 2 years maybe I will have my own brand

  7. hajusuuri says:

    Wahoo, dearest Lucas! Only two years??? I feel like I’ve known you far far longer, like long lost scent twins! I love the variety of posts that you’ve written, some entertaining, some emotionally-charged, others informative and far too many enabling.

    Congratulations on being offered and accepting a paying job. Keep up the great work and here’s to your continued success!

    Now, I really have to cull through my collection to pick out my favorites to show the world!

    • lucasai says:

      Yes, 2 years exactly. You feel like that because we happened to meet earlier at NST and Basenotes.
      Glad you enjoy different posts about perfume, food, my personal stuff.

      Thank you, I’ve been offered this part time jon for 3 months now, we’ll see what happens next.

      Can’t wait to see the picture from you

  8. Tora says:

    Congratulations Lucas!! I have been enjoying your reviews, and descriptions here very much!! And such good news to have your internship turn into a paying job! Here’s to continued success in writing and your career path in the fragrance world!!

  9. Holly says:

    Congratulations and Happy Birthday to Chemist in the Bottle, dear Lucas! I sincerely appreciate all that you have shared with us here. It truly does feel like we are all friends, and that is in great part due to the way that you have been so open about your life and your hopes, dreams and fears along the way. I’m thrilled that you have been offered a job in your field of interest – well done, you! I look forward to hearing more about that, to coming here to visit, and to your exceptional and insightful reviews.

  10. Ania says:

    Happy Anniversary Chemist in the Bottle! Well done Lucas, congratulations! I’ll prepare a photo of vintage part of my collection, thanks for a contest ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Mary K says:

    Congratulations on the two year anniversary of the blog, and also on the part time job where you’ll be paid to be doing what you really enjoy! That is by far the best kind of job.

  12. Ann says:

    Awesome, Lucas! We’re excited for you!

  13. Lyubov says:

    Lucas, happy hippy chemy birthday! May your bottles be filled with joy and contentment!
    And what amazing news you have – congratulations on your new job! Seems like you are going straight up the fragrant ladder! Thank you for the great chance – I will surely take part in the contest!
    Well, I think you should not leave us with the statistics only – please, tell us which review you enjoyed most writing, which is your most exciting or unexpected discovery over these two years, and (what I am dying to know) how do you organize your time to make regular posting (I am striving, indeed)?

    • lucasai says:

      I hope that I’m on the right path to become a perfumer in the future.

      Thank you for asking those interesting questions. I might one day write a post about all these things. Or I will share with you via email

  14. Dearest Lucas
    Many Happy Returns!
    And congratulations on the new role. Onwards and upwards.
    Yours ever
    The Perfumed Dandy

  15. Anka says:

    Oh, happy blogbirthday, dear Lucas! And congratulations for the position of junior fragrance evaluation manager, wow, that sounds so impressive and amazing, you’ll defenitely have your own brand, soon!

  16. Laurie E says:

    Happy blog anniversary, Lucas, and congrats on the job! Well done on both counts! I’ve enjoyed seeing you achieve your goals. Wishing you all the best. ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. Undina says:

    Dear Lucas,

    I’m so glad that everything seems to be working out for you – maintaining your blog the way you envisioned it, moving in the right direction of your dream job and maintaining your weight goal (by eating a virtual cake, I mean ๐Ÿ˜‰ ). Congratulations! And the best wishes for years ahead.

  18. Happy Birthday to the blog, and congratulations on the new job! such fun news!!

  19. Nemo says:

    Happy blog birthday, and congratulations on your new job! I hope things continue to go so well for you!

  20. Happy blog birthday and congratulations, Lucas! I’m so happy for you!! Let’s start another wonderful journey to the 3rd year. ๐Ÿ™‚

  21. Julie says:

    Congratulations to you, Lucas!
    Your writing and you(!) have brought much enjoyment to my life. You’ve taught me a lot too. It’s been a real pleasure to hear about your hopes and dreams, and to see them come to pass too!
    Wishing you many more years of perfume discovery, and articulating for us the world of fragrance.
    Happy to hear that your internship has turned into a part-time job! No surprises there ๐Ÿ˜‰

  22. Barbara B says:

    Junior fragrance evaluation manager – another step on your way to your dream job. Congratulations on a paying job!!

  23. Johanob says:

    Well Happy Birthday Chemist in the bottle!!And congrats to you Lucas,on a fine achievement with its success!I don’t comment much here,but I do read your blog very regularly!Your Milan trip was my favorite for this year so far!We’ve seen you grow into a very articulate young man!Here’s to the future of you and the blog!Hugs from South Africa!Johano

  24. rickyrebarco says:

    Lucas, congratulations on the blog’s second anniversary! Wow, I missed out by not reading this earlier- there were samples. That will teach me! I know a lot of work and time goes into all your entries on the blog and all of us perfumistas really appreciate it very much. Thanks for sharing your wealth of knowledge with us.

  25. Happy Belated Blogoversary, Lucas! I missed out on the contest, but it is a wonderful one and whoever the winner is will be very happy!

    Of all the friends that I have ad the privilege of meeting through blogging, you are one of my very dearest! Here is to many more years of Chemist in the Bottle!

Leave a Reply

