Island of beauty, Parfum d’Empire Corsica Furiosa

With every fragrance launched by Parfum d’Empire, we’re taken on a trip to different parts of the world. Often that trip also involves going back in time. Founder and perfumer of this maison, Marc-Antoine Corticchiato gives us a lesson of history with his scents and he brings the olfactive impressions of times and places. After having a little break (mind that his last perfume, Azemour launched in 2011, I’m not counting the limited Musc Tonkin extrait) he’s back with a new thing.

The island of Corsica, Corticchiato’s homeland, often called “the island of beauty” is the object of inspiration for a new perfume but it’s not the first time when a perfumer decided to source the ideas from a place where he was born and where he grew up. First tribute to this picturesque island was the creation of Eau de Gloire. The latter one was more of a story about Napoleon Bonaparte and his followers. The new composition, Corsica Furiosa marks an exploration of the flora of this Mediterranean region. We get to experience the surroundings of Corticchiato’s childhood.

On my skin Parfum d’Empire Corsica Furiosa opens with a straightforward aroma of fig leaves. There’s some intensive verdancy right after spraying. The green effect is very bright and intensive. The opening has a crispy character but in the next 15 minutes the feeling becomes much more juicy with a lot of green sap. There’s also a moment at 20 minutes when the aroma becomes more milky with a hint of sweetness. Here I have to say that my nose got fooled – officially there’s no fig leaf in this perfume but there is… a tomato leaf. So if you dislike fig leaves, fret not, because it’s not this.

At 30 minutes mark the composition becomes richer. Next to the obvious greenness of Corsica Furiosa, now the perfume gains an aromatic facet. Lentisque, also known as mastic, the resin obtained from the evergreen shrub of Pistacia lentiscus is the main star of this fragrance. It brings happy and truly Mediterranean aroma of Corsican flora. Its green and resinous aroma that brings dry leaves and twigs to my mind creates a really big volume. I like the way it smells – not pungent at all, presented in a nice manner. There’s also something dusty about it, like the open space deserted area.

Freshly cut grass accord with a nice feeling of being wet from the morning dew, it continues the idea of green feeling that was the main idea in creating Corsica Furiosa. Later on you can smell the lovely herbal and a little bit mentholated aroma of nepita – a wild mint variety that grows locally there. At this point the perfume becomes a little bit more citrusy when lime accord enters the scene. It brings a nice and juicy vibe with aromatic context, I really like that!

After 3 hours some slightly metallic spiciness appears on top of the composition. It’s a pepper note which is also combined with the dry hay accord which brings the aroma of coumarine, making Parfum d’Empire Corsica Furiosa partially a fougere composition. Since some time earlier I can’t escape the feeling like there was something leathery in this scent, but such note is not mentioned in the pyramid of notes. Since this is creation made by Marc-Antoine Corticchiato, the compulsory element of the blend is an oakmoss, a signature note to every Parfum d’Empire creation he made. It has a feeling of a shrub with some roughness to it. It carries the scent that is dry and dusted but the general feeling for the perfume is that is smells fresh.

The perfume also contains the honey note which I didn’t notice. There’s also some labdanum which is responsible for giving the balsamic and slightly smoky feeling later in the drydown. Corsica Furiosa develops step by step and until it reaches the final stage, around 5 hours should pass. The perfume was presented at Esxence in Milan. When I tried it there my first thought was – “It smells similar to Eau de Gloire” and I was right, as both scents are inspired by Corsican maquis.

But these two perfumes are not identical. Eau de Gloire is more smoky and aromatic, it has lavender, tobacco and star anise. Corsica Furiosa is all about being green, green and green. Every element of its composition highlights the verdancy of the concept behind it and confirs the Mediterranean character of this new Parfum d’Empire creation. This eau de parfum was created by Marc-Antoine Corticchiato, it was launched recently and arrives to the market in the new bottle and packaging, with the only size available being 100 ml. A bad move in my opinion. For autumn the brand has scheduled another launch, of Musc Tonkin EdP which will join the regular offer after a success of a limited extrait of this perfume composition.

Tagged , , ,

14 thoughts on “Island of beauty, Parfum d’Empire Corsica Furiosa

  1. Ines says:

    I’m always for fig! 🙂
    Sounds good to me.

  2. i’n not a huge fan of fig, but do love Pd’E’s perfumes. Although I have to say that one of my favorites Iskander has turned on me and I wore it the other day and I felt like it died on me. And interestingly enough, the Musk Tonkin that I abhored and gave to my husband….he wore it the other day and I thought he smelled terrific. Maybe my nose is changing things up?!

    • lucasai says:

      I’m not after fig too but Corsica Furiosa is nice. Maybe that tomato leaf wouldn’t smell like fig to you.

      Speaking of Iskander, I’ve been in love with it but after a few months my perception of it changed and it smelled very flat and artificial. I sold the partial bottle I had.

      That is very interesting observation on Musk Tonkin on your husband. Maybe it’s the heat? Hard to say – but if your good impressions of it continue, you should try Musk Tonkin in EDP when it’s launched in the Autumn.

  3. jillie says:

    Well, I love green. But…… I can not bear the smell of tomato leaf, and like you and Houndie I am not so fond of fig either. The fact that I might also smell a little honey turns me away from this as I also can’t bear honey! Ah well, I can’t love everything, even if it is green. And PdE does plenty of scents that I do like!

    • lucasai says:

      One less to love in Parfum d’Empire range won’t cause any harm to the perfume world. Especially that you just said that you generally like the offerings from this house (me too!)

  4. hajusuuri says:

    Wowee! Sounds like I need to try this STAT! I am just miffed that the smallest size available is 100mLs. That makes absolutely NO SENSE to me AT ALL. Here’s hoping that the demise of the 50 mL packaging is just giving way to 30 mLs and, be still my heart, travel spray sizes of anywhere from 5 mLs to 15 mLs. I hope, I hope, I hope and maybe spreading this rumor / want will make it happen…otherwise, I will resort to my usual splitsville.

    • lucasai says:

      I just had to google what STAT means.

      I completely don’t understand the marketing tactics of Parfum d’Empire. OK, they changed the bottles (for the uglier in my opinion) but they didn’t have to give up on 50ml size.

      I’m afraid they’re not planning to introduce a size such as 30ml and I didn’t hear any rumours about the travel sprey size (that would be great idea for Pd’E by the way)

      Glad you can rely on your split-pals.

    • So sad about the loss of the 50ml! Those bottles were cute too!

      I am looking forward to sniffing this one though. I love me some PdE.

  5. Asali says:

    Hi Lucas, I truly enjoyed your review. I’m not sure if this one’s for me or not, but I am VERY eager to try it, I find all Parfum d’Empires fragrances very special and innovative. Glad to hear about Musc Tonkin, since I was using my decant extremely sparingly:-)

    • lucasai says:

      I understand your little fear, Corsica Furiosa is very, very green. But it’s good to try so great to hear you’re eager to do so. Parfum d’Empire range is really good imo.

      You can start using your decant of Musc Tonkin extrait more often because in september (I guess) you’ll be able to replenish with a FB of edp.

  6. rickyrebarco says:

    This one sounds very interesting. I have tried most of the Parfums d’Empire and the only one I have really thought was for me so far was Ambre Russe, but this one definitely deserves some sampling. Does the greenness resemble Chanel’s Bel Respiro or is it more grassy green than that? Thanks! Cheers.

    • lucasai says:

      Oh, funny! Ambre Russe is one of my least favorite Parfum d’Empire scents. So many different tastes around.

      It’s been a while since I have tried Chanel Bel Respiro but I think Corsica Furiosa is more dry (like hay) and more green too

Leave a Reply

