Weekend poll – themed week 3rd edition

I want to do another themed week with your help. This time the ultimate battle will happen between two of the oldest and biggest perfume houses of France, namely Chanel and Guerlain. Vote for your favorite and if you please, tell which fragrance from the house you’ve chosen should be included in the themed week. If I have a sample on hand, I might review just the perfume you mentioned.

I will announce the winner in a supplement to this post, after the weekend. A week with the winning maison de parfum will start on Monday, July 21st. 5 scents will be reviewed at the minimum.

[Tuesday supplement]

Guerlain has won by quite a big margin of around 4 points. Look forward to the Guerlain week starting next Monday. I think it’s going to be a lot of fun.

Tagged , , ,

44 thoughts on “Weekend poll – themed week 3rd edition

  1. Irina says:

    Guerlain, I hope for your review of ” Apres l’Ondee”. Thanks

  2. Undina says:

    I participated once in that type of poll on Birgit’s blog but I should say that since then I’ve changed my mind: today I would go with Guerlain. Cruel Gardenia.

  3. Annamaria says:

    Guerlain, and if possible, Angelique Noire.

  4. 123andreasd says:

    Oh dear.
    Chanel does a marvelous Iris and they are Aldehyde Champs. Cuir de Russie and Boïs des Îles are fantastic. BUT: They have deteriorated. Didn’t love anything after their Sycomore Release.
    Guerlain: All in all more hits for me there. Still: am not in love with their releases after ca. 2009.
    So I’ll go with Guerlain, but only because…because…I can’t decide.
    Make it Sous le Vent. No, Après l’Ondée, because I went through 4 bottles of this. No, make it Chant d’Arômes.

  5. Anka says:

    I love Chanel N° 19, 31 Rue Cambon, 28 La Pausa but I unhesitatingly choose Guerlain!
    My favorite is Apres L’Ondée, followed by (in no order) Nahema, Chamade, Sousl le Vent, Jicky, Shalimar (and the flankers), Cuir Beluga, Mitsouko, Iris Ganache and so on.
    Btw, a very nice SA told me, if you layer Apres L’Ondée with Cuir Beluga you’ll get Iris Ganache!!
    Guerlain covers such a range of different categoris from orientals, to woody-gourmands to chypres, I am much more connected to them, to me they are more sensual, lively and less “perfect” or elegant than many of the Chanel ones. (Hm, I am curious, if I change my mind one day, too…).

    Lucas, am I guessing right, that you are neither Chanel nor Guerlain???

    • lucasai says:

      I once tried your recommendation of layering Apres L’Onde with Cuir Beluga – it really turned into Iris Ganache.

      I can’t say that I’m a dedicated fan of just one of the houses. Both have some perfumes that I like.

  6. hajusuuri says:

    Eeek, decisions, decisions….

    If Guerlain, I would love a review of Spiritueuse Double Vanille, Cuir Beluga, Shalimar (any version including flankers)

    If Chanel, I would love a review of Bois des Iles, Eau Premiere, Coco

    Can I go with Guernel?

  7. jillie says:

    Oh my goodness – this is like having to choose between your two children!

    I am fond of Chanel as Cristalle was the perfume I wore on my wedding day (and still wear every anniversary). I also like and own No 19 (both the original and Poudre).

    But …. Guerlain made the perfumes that captured my heart when I was very young, and my first two “proper” extraits were Chant d’Aromes and Chamade. This is the older house and in comparison Chanel seems almost to be an upstart. and doesn’t have such history behind it. In the end, that doesn’t matter as it’s the fragrance that counts!

    So maybe if Chanel was the choice, I would love to see what you say about Cristalle. And if Guerlain, then Chamade.

    x

  8. Lyubov says:

    Guerlain for me, please! Though I have many favorites from Chanel, there are much more perfumes from Guerlain that I do not know. And I always want to read a review for something I haven’t tried at all 🙂
    Lukas, it’s hard for me to choose my most loved scents from the Guerlain’s range, but if I have to list three, that would be Meteorites, Vol de Nuit and Myrrhe et Delires. And AA Herba Fresca, of course! 😛 Well, that’s four…
    I wish for a review of some of these: Metallica (Metalys), Brume d’Automne, L’Abeille de Guerlain, L’Heure de Nuit, Elixir Charnel Le Boise Torride, Songe d’un Bois d’Ete, Bois d’Armenie and Cuir Beluga, Reve de Lune, Vega, Place Rouge, Coque d’Or or Philtre d’Amour. I know, I know, it’s a looooong procession, but that way you have great choice, if you are prone to grant me a review, right? 🙂 Thanks in advance!
    I guess I am bad at making short lists…

  9. Shellyw says:

    Chanel all the wat! Cuirass de russies, bois, rue cambon….all so lovely

  10. Asali says:

    Although I *do* have a few favourites from Chanel, I love Guerlain, it just works for me, so why should I say something else. I would be curious as to what you’d say to the classics.

  11. rickyrebarco says:

    Hi Lucas. I love the 2 avatars fighting. I love both houses, but I am going to vote for Chanel. Thanks for the fun theme weekend! I’m off to watch football. I’m sad the World Cup is almost over. I’m a true “footy fanatic.”

  12. bellaciao says:

    My vote goes to Chanel and I wish I could make it 12 points:)- I think they still take their juices more seriously, thus their quality is overall better than Guerlain which has cheapened down depressingly…

  13. stina says:

    I’ve always been more of a Chanel girl (the tonka in the Guerlinade base turns into rancid baby powder the instant it hits my skin, ugh), and I’d love to hear what you think about vintage No. 19. So Chanel gets my vote!

    Not to muddy the waters by throwing vintages into the mix, but to my nose the vintage and the modern No. 19 are very different, with the modern version having that thin-and-screechy-because-we-can’t-do-oakmoss-anymore thing going on.

    Although, if Guerlain is victorious, a look at vintage Vol de Nuit would be lovely…

  14. I’m a Guerlain girl. I like my perfume to remind me of small furry animals covered in dessert!

    Do you have a sample of Terracotta Le Parfum? I should have grabbed one when I saw it. I blinked and now it’s all snatched up.

  15. Ania says:

    I love some Chanels (19, 22, Bois des Iles, Sycomore) but it’s Guerlain that I adore. I regularly wear Nahema, L’heure bleue, Shalimar, Samsara, Vol de Nuit, Terracota voile d’ete (in summer it reminds me of night-scented stock garden). So Guerlain it is.

  16. Mary K says:

    I think reviews of perfumes from either house would make for good reading. I’ll just have to somehow decide here and vote for one or the other. Hard choice!

Leave a Reply

