April Aromatics Rose L’Orange & Rosenlust

Being a perfumer is not an easy job. Becoming a natural perfumer, a true artisan is even harder to achieve because you have to be aware of much more regulations and restrictions when you work with natural raw materials. Tanja Bochnig started her perfume adventure by becoming an aromatherapist and studying botany. She’s also a qualified yoga teacher. Her passion for scented things led her to creating a line of natural cosmetics and perfumes – April Aromatics, in 2008.

The line is based in Berlin, Germany but it was brought to life in New York. Tanja believes in a holistic approach of scents and oils, which means that we should look at them together, as a one whole creation. At the same time parts of the whole thing, in this case essences and cosmetic ingredients, they work together, improving each others way of affecting our bodies and senses.

On my skin Rose L’Orange blossoms with a vibrant green accord which smells a little bit mentholated but quickly turns into some hard-to-define mix of cassis, mint and geranium, none of these seem to be dominating. This initial impression lasts for 5 to 10 minutes and then you are magically transported to the orange tree plantation, filled with the intoxicating scent of orange blossom. This white florals bouquet is big, intensive, it goes right up your sinuses and provides an instant feeling of serenity. It makes you feel good and relaxed. Happy too!

For the next 1 or 2 hours all you can smell is orange blossom, beautiful, slightly acidic like it was sprinkled with orange or grapefruit juice. The intensity of the floral heard is amazing as white floral tones last and last losing just a little bit of their strength over time. After two hours have passed since I sprayed Rose L’Orange on my skin I can clearly notice that the power of orange blossom is going down. But this is absolutely no reason to worry because as it becomes softer and weaker the rose accord becomes more dominating and it takes the lead. Tanja mentions that for this perfume she used rose tincture which provides a refreshing and velvety aspects. Apart the obvious floral elements there is also some verdancy from the stems and leaves to this note.

The character of the rose is gentle and soft and it remains visible/possible to smell for around 2 hours. Then it becomes more pale and sheer, at some point turning completely transparent. That’s when April Aromatics Rose L’Orange starts to diffuse some sweet notes that bring a little bit of fruity associations. Shortly the perfume reveals the powdery facet of the accord of neroli. This little flower also brings the clean and soapy vibe to the fragrance adding to the freshness of the blend. It makes me feel like I have just taken a shower and the water was not too warm and not too cold. I, who adores the soapy elements of all Prada perfumes, can’t get enough of this Rose L’Orange thing.

Rosenlust opens with a slightly herbal and crispy feeling. It brings to my mind the idea of crushed mint leaves and geranium stems and flowers. Very shortly a rose accord blooms on my skin and I’m instantly in heaven. Too bad roses don’t smell like this! I find the rose note to be multi-faceted being in this April Aromatics composition. At first it smells green thanks to the herbal tones in the opening. After a couple of minutes it’s more dewy, watery and sheer. 30 minutes later it becomes stronger, more glamorous. You have this feeling like you were sniffing a pure rose oil or an attar.

As the time affects the smell of Rosenlust, I imagined rose petals in different colors. Pastel pink, yellow-ish, bright red and crimson-colored. All because this perfume has many different faces but the natural vibe dominates the whole blend. After wearing it for 2-3 hours I started noticing some fruity elements in this composition, especially fresh and ripe apricots came to my mind while smelling my wrist. There was also this muted juiciness of citrus, with a little bit of sweet and acidic properties. This fragrance is incredibly rich in roses, which make it very luxurious, refined and desirable.

At the mark of 5 hours I was struck by a little surprise. Believe it or not but my nose picked up a very beautiful, intense and red (just like the roses) saffron. It is not mentioned in the list (neither is apricot) but a specific character of soft spiciness undoubtedly appeared on my skin. If feels super enveloping, cuddly and it reminds me of L’Artisan Parfumeur Safran Troublant. But of course April Aromatics Rosenlust is much more intensive, saturated and it lasts longer. The smell of what I know as a wild rose jam brings back the memories of childhood and it puts a big smile on my face. Could this perfume be a Holy Grail of rose fragrances? Maybe! It’s definitely in the top!

Those were April Aromatics Rose L’Orange and Rosenlust. Two perfumes presenting two different style of rose notes, both made a nice focus on these ingredients (Rose L’Orange made slightly more focus on orange blossom). All fragrances in the line represent a very high quality and nicely balanced proportions of aromas and fragrance genres. They are natural compositions and in my case both perfumes laster for around 6-7 hours on my skin & I applied lightly. The sillage was very satisfying too. Both compositions were made in 2012.

[note] Many thanks to Tanja Bochnig for providing the samples

Tagged , , , ,

21 thoughts on “April Aromatics Rose L’Orange & Rosenlust

  1. jillie says:

    These sound absolutely wonderful – natural yet long-lasting and gorgeous notes and composition. As you say, possibly the Holy Grails of rose perfume. Wild rose jam … yum. Both to eat and to smell!

    • lucasai says:

      I think that on other people they might not last as long as on me, but for naturals they last great amount of time.
      I’m.sure you’ll like them

  2. rickyrebarco says:

    Good morning, Lucas. It’s probably after noon there, but early morning here. Thanks so much for the beautiful and detailed reviews. These both sound amazing and just the type of scent that I love. I have been eyeing the April Aromatics at my indie perfume webstore and wondering if I should try them. Now I definitely will! And I appreciate your telling us some things about the perfumer as well. I go to an acupuncturist so I am all about balancing energy so one of these would really be perfect for me. I will be lusting after Rosenlust :-))

    • lucasai says:

      Hi Ricky, yes it’s early afternoon here. I’m glad the perfume seem to be ideal for you and I’m happy you already tried to find this line. April Aromatics is also available at LuckyScent since few weeks ago.

  3. Rosenlust is one of my favorites…it’s so incredibly beautiful and very subtle. Great reviews Lucas!

  4. Bina says:

    Thank you for introducing me to April Aromatics. I’m a self confessed rose lover and anything to do with orange blossom too. I live in the UK. Could you please tell me how I can get a sniff of these lovely fragrances?

    • lucasai says:

      Hello Bina, you’re welcome. Those perfumes might be real hits for you. I don’t know if April Aromatics has a UK stockist but I’m sure if you order directly at their website, samples can be shipped to you from Germany

  5. Mary K says:

    I definitely need to smell these, along with all of the others in this line. They sound like perfumes that I would like a lot.

  6. hajusuuri says:

    Dearest Lucas, Nice review! Now I am lusting over Rosenlust as well and I am not a hard-core rose lover. In my untested samples pile are 3 April Aromatics – Unter Linden (i know I am butchering the name) ordered on the basis of a post from the lovely Undina, Bohemian Spice because it sounded so decandent from the description and a third one with woods which name I cannot remember. Anyway, I now have more samples to move up to the top of my list. I do have a question though – how many sprays from your sample did you use for testing? The sample size is pretty generous and if I recall, the website mentioned that a single sample atomizer could last around 35 wearings which is a lot of wearings!

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you. Rosenlust makes many of us lusting over it. Unter den Linded is a pretty linden blossom and Bohemian Spice is kind of grungey.
      I used one spray on each wrist and one on my neck/chest, so 3 in total. The sample is 2.5ml I think and the site says it should give around 28 spritzes (not wearings)

    • Undina says:

      I’m actually considering purchase of Under den Linden – despite the price tag – I like it that much.

  7. Undina says:

    I haven’t tried Rose L’Orange, but your description of Rosenlust is very similar to what I smell. April Aromatics makes beautiful perfumes and with some of them it’s hard to believe they are all-natural (I mean it as a compliment).

Leave a Reply

