Changes…

Dear friends, there is something important that I have to tell you. Since 1st of December (and that is today) I’m switching my current position from part-time to full-time job. It is due to the fact that a girl who has been originally hired in the laboratory last year got pregnant. She is unable to perform fragrance evaluations (allergens in compositions and smells make her sick now). I was kind of left with no choice, I could either go full-time or laboratory would have to close down for some time. At the same time I would lose my job. What else could I do?

What does this change mean for me and for you? First of all it means that I’m working Monday to Friday, not Monday to Wednesday as I used to while working part-time. It also means that I will be away from home since 5:50 am to 6:30 pm because I didn’t manage to find a flat in Poznań and I don’t want to share the appartement with some strangers, having just a small room for myself. So I will be commuting for a while again. I was traveling like that during last year of studies.

What worries me the most is the fact that I will have much less time for writing the blog posts. On workdays I will probably be too tired to sit at 7:00 pm in front of the computer and write a constructive review of a fragrance. I will try my best to write posts ahead during weekends, if I manage to write 2 pieces during Saturday and Sunday that would be an ideal situation. But when you see the number of posts dropping, you will at least know what is the reason behind it.

Can I be honest with you? I’m really scared of this entire situation! I don’t know if I’m the right person to run this laboratory just by myself. Sure I gained some experience during the months there when I was an intern and part-time worker later, but I don’t think it’s enough. I know a lot about perfume but I have no experience with scents for home care or fabric care and we do a lot of projects for these branches. We’ll see what happens next. If I fail, they will fire me. That will be the time to spread my wings and start my own project. Fingers crossed? Your support is my strength.

Tagged , , ,

40 thoughts on “Changes…

  1. jillie says:

    You know that I (and I am sure all your readers) have faith in you. I honestly don’t think that they would have wanted you to do this if they didn’t think you could handle the work, and what you may lack in experience, you make up for in your wonderful perception and appreciation of fragrance. Have confidence! I am sure you will do well.
    x

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you my dear. Maybe I do have a good perception and appreciation of fragrance but for perfume, smelling compositions for toilet cleaners is far less pleasant 😛
      Thanks for the support

  2. Lyubov says:

    Dear, Lukas,
    just take it as it is. It’s a learning situation. You cannot predict the outcome, but you will learn a great deal on the way. You cannot even imagine how much. There is no point in fear. Fingers crossed from me!

    • lucasai says:

      Yes for sure. I will try to convince the boss if maybe he could take a new intern (as he took me in at first) so that I have someone to help in preparing packages for the clients etc. At the moment I not only do sniffing, but also paperwork and shipping.

  3. Anka says:

    Oh Lucas, these are big news, congratulations!!! I can understand that this feels scary, it seems like they threw you in at the deep end but like jillie says you will do well. And after trying you have always other options left (start with your candle business, your own perfume brand…you know that you are talented). I’ll keep on reading your blog no matter how often you’ll post a review and of course keep my fingers crossed.

    • lucasai says:

      Yes, very big news. You are right and that’s exactly what I thought in the first place, that they’re throwing me at the deep end.
      You know I still didn’t get any reply from any perfume school, so I supposed if I wanted to make perfume I would have to do it as a self-taught person. But making my candles a real business would be nice too. I’m going to launch 2 more realy soon (just my new oils are late…)

  4. poodle says:

    You’ll do fine. If they didn’t think so they’d hire someone else in her absence. That’s how my company does things when they don’t have faith in the folks already on the payroll. I think it should be looked at as a great opportunity for you. If blogging less is the consequence of being able to work full time in fragrance I think people will understand. If you’re taking public transportation maybe you could use the travel time to write? If not, I’m happy that the reason you are writing less is because you’re actually working more at doing something you want to do. Lots of folks don’t get the chance to work at what they love. You need to embrace chances like this.

    • lucasai says:

      You are probably right. Though I’ve been told in secret by that girl that if I don’t fulfill their expectations in some short period of time, they will try to find someone with better experience. I commute by train, 1,5h each way but writing a post on my phone would be difficult, I don’t have a tablet or a small laptop to carry with me & write posts on it, so I will have to stick to creating posts at home.
      It’s not that I love this job. It’s different than I originally though. The worst thing is that I don’t get to create anything new here, we only use ready fragrance blends

  5. Lukas – It sounds like a lot of work is coming your way, but I have the feeling that you will soar with the new responsibilities. I don’t believe they would leave you on your own if they didn’t believe in you. I think you’ll be surprised at how well you will do. I’ll be cheering for you and wish you the best in this new effort!

  6. hajusuuri says:

    How exciting, Lucas! As Poodle said, if they don’t think you can handle it, they would not have offered you the full-time position. Don’t be afraid to ask questions. Stick to the factsof what you observe. Escalate when you think it’s necessary.

    As to your blog, we’ll stick by you no matter how frequently you post. I’ve subscribed since you first started this and I am always excited to read every post and every comment – your readers’ and yours.

    • lucasai says:

      Exciting and scary too, yes. I will try to ask questions whenever I can or whenever I need.
      Next week I’m being sent for a short training to IFF in Warsaw and then I’m going for a few days to UK for another training..

      That is very important to me, lately it seems that the number of my readers has shrunk, probably because I don’t have much time to visit other bloggers. I think you were one of the first to subscribe. Glad you’re still with me.

  7. tammy says:

    Fingers crossed, eyes crossed, even my tongue…but I have EVERY faith in you! You have more than enough ability to do this, you just need the confidence. We will all be here, waiting for you and cheering you on! God bless you.

  8. Go for it and embrace the opportunity and the things you will learn. Sometimes jobs aren’t quite what you imagine and there are always mundane parts to every role but just focus on the good parts and you’ll be fine.

  9. Everything happens for a reason, Lucas, and if you’re the guy that’s in line to do this it must mean you are the perfect person for the moment. Learn all you can this is also a wonderful opportunity for you, we will still be here for you when you return — with more insights for sure!!! Enjoy the experience!

  10. Undina says:

    As everybody else said, I’m sure you’ll do just fine and will get a great experience from that.

    I still think that you should keep looking for a closer place to live, even if it means having roommates: not only you’ll get some time back from not spending it on commuting but you’ll get more independence as well. It’s healthier for a grown-up man to share an apartment with people of his age than to keep on living with parents – even if it seems like a more convenient arrangement in some respects.

    Good luck!

    • lucasai says:

      Thanks dear!

      The news was quite sudden so I didn’t have much time to search for rooms for rent, not to mention that many of them are fully occupied by the students who come to Poznań every year. I will try to find something nice and comfortable to rent starting from January. I’ll be a bit away in December, then Christmas, New Year’s Eve etc, the month will pass fast.

  11. Ashley A says:

    I think that you will be great. Of course, I will miss all of your lovely posts here, but you have such a perceptive nose and an opportunity to run a whole lab. That is an amazing experience, and if you don’t love it, or it doesn’t work out, you have so many other talents that you can do anything. I have a sneaking suspicion that you will be great, though! As many others have said, they would not have put you in charge if they didn’t think that you could handle it. You will be great, no matter what!

    • lucasai says:

      Thanks forthese kind words Ashley. The longer I think about it the more I want to establish my own brand with perfumes or scented candles. We’ll see how it goes

  12. Mary K says:

    Changes in a job or new job duties always are a little scare-y, but you’re in a line of work you like and you know what you are doing, so I am sure you will be fine! You’ll be able to figure out what can be done fast and what needs more of your attention, in order to get everything done. As others have mentioned, ask questions when you need to, as that will help a lot. You will probably have your work procedures in place sooner than you might think and you will become comfortable with everything that you will be doing.

  13. shellyw says:

    best wishes on feeling overwhelmed. I enjoyed your posts and will continue to as they may be more rare.

  14. Missionista says:

    Congratulations! This is very exciting news, and while it seems daunting, I echo what all the others have said–you are up to the challenge. Go forth and shine!

  15. Ines says:

    Congratulations! I think it’s great you now have a full time job. Yes, writing might be more of a time management issue now but you’ll be fine. 🙂

  16. Congratulations, Lucas! I’m with everyone above! They would not have offered you the position if they did not think you were capable of running the lab! It will be a tremendous learning opportunity and another lesson in time management, as you said, but I am confident that you will be successful. Bravo, dearest Lucas! And thank you for the hug from Hajusuuri!

    • lucasai says:

      Thanks Daisy!
      This will be a lesson for sure and I guess that once I decide to go my own path (read establish my own brand) I will be even more determined to do that.

      You’re welcome for the hug

  17. Holly says:

    Congratulations Lucas! I have every confidence in you, whatever you do. What a way to end 2014! You have done a lot this past year, and overcome many fears and triumphed when challenged. Your new position is the grand finale of an exciting year in your life! I hope that the transition will be smooth, and you will find yourself enjoying even the hard parts as you come to terms with the responsibility and long hours. Last but not least, your readers will remain faithful and not feel abandoned. I suspect we’ve all been there in various ways and understand how tough it can be out there. Sending you a big hug …

  18. I’m sure you’ll be absolutely fine. Changes are always a bit scary, but at the same time, exciting too. Commuting sounds a bit daunting though. I hope you can find a better arrangement soon. 🙂 Meanwhile, you can probably use the travelling time for reflecting on what you really want to do and writing? I’m sending you a big hug and a peck. x

  19. rickyrebarco says:

    Lucas, you are going to do great in your new position! You are so knowledgeable and conscientious. New challenges are scary- if you were not nervous, it would mean you didn’t care. I’m sending you lots of good energy and confidence. I believe in you and the folks at your job do, too. With the things you haven’t done before like fabric products, etc., just let the people who do that every day teach you how it goes and learn from them. You will be fine. You have such an exquisite nose I know you won’t let them make anything that smells less than fabulous. I send you congratulations and courage!!

  20. rickyrebarco says:

    And all of us can live with one or 2 reviews a week. Your job comes first!! We support you no matter what 🙂

Leave a Reply

