Prêt-à-porter, Prada L’Eau Ambree

A new day has come and along with it a brand new year started. It feels so nice to be able to continue this perfume adventure together with you in 2015. Once again I’m wishing everyone a healthy and prosperous year ahead. For the last two years it was kind of tradition for me that the first review of a new year is a perfume from Prada. Why? Because I have a sentiment for this fashion and fragrance house as it all started for me with a bottle of Prada perfume.

Today I continue this little tradition of mine by presenting to you a review of Prada L’Eau Ambree. First 20 seconds of this perfume give me an impression of frozen vodka with a slightly metallic edge to it. But this feeling is like a blink of an eye and after these few seconds it completely disappears. And here’s where tha magic begins. L’Eau Ambree instantly becomes a really warm and pleasant composition. At a glance it smells to me like the softest, most fuzzy and comfortable piece of suede a man could create. It feels so enveloping and sensual, making you want to wrap around with it.

However the truth is that there’s no suede at all in Prada L’Eau Ambree. As soon as the fragrance accommodates on your skin, and this might take up to 15 minutes, you realize that this wonderful aroma comes from nothing else but amber. It brings the beautiful light to this composition. It’s like the shiny and polished surface of a fossilized resin that smells a little bit of fur (suede), a little bit of sea salt with a very gentle smokiness in the background. Its richness builds up with time.

After a while the fragrance gains density and dimension when opoponax joins the composition of L’Eau Ambree by Prada. I have to admit that opoponax is one of my favorite fragrant resins due to its rich, sensual yet not overwhelming aroma. In this accord you will find something resinous and balsamic but also something sweet and with the undeniable sexual character. Opoponax to me is a kind of aroma material that has the ability to perfectly adjust to the wearer’s skin…

After 1 hour has passed since I applied it on my wrist, Prada L’Eau Ambree brings a very interesting twist to my nose. After that time it reveals a very tiny bit of citric notes with a zesty and juicy lemon coming to the front. This stage might not last long but it’s so surprising that it will make you smile and do a quiet “hmm” as you’ll be wearing this fragrance. Then the patchouli comes in. As L’Eau Ambree is an oriental fragrance you could expect something that will be really heavy on patchouli. If you thought so, you are badly mistaken. This Prada offers one of the best patchouli accords I know. It’s a little bit crunchy, leafy with no doubt and a tad dusty as well.

When patchouli appears on top of the notes pyramid for L’Eau Ambree is exactly when this fragrance becomes most interesting. Patchouli adds a bold character and self-confidence vibe to this scent, making it more standing out, vibrant and spectacularly elegant. And unlike many compositions containing patchouli, Prada feels very sophisticated, refined and stylish. This perfume never screams because for such a scent screaming would be passé. Instead it enchants you with a seductive whisper – “wear me, love me, I’ll embrace who you are.” It’s like a promise… As the time flies and the composition changes just a little bit, I can smell more vanilla.

It’s sweet indeed but in a good way. It’s also perfectly balanced with other notes so that overall feeling is kind of dark and mysterious when you smell it at this stage. In this form, when you smell vanilla, patchouli and ambery tones, Prada L’Eau Ambree lasts like that for a couple more hours. Its impeccable style as well as intimate sillage make it a kind of perfume that would be suitable to the office, for a big date but also casually, when you wear jeans and t-shirt. This is the beauty of timeless elegance that I find in many fragrances created by Prada.

L’Eau Ambree was composed for Prada by perfume Daniela Roche-Adrier. It’s gotten a bit old now as it was introduced in 2009 but my take is – timeless elegance like this doesn’t age. The perfume is marketed towards woman but in my opinion it smells very good (and very sexy) on a man. I think the bottle of L’Eau Ambree deserves special attention – it has a rectangular shape and its surface gradually becomes darker from top to the bottom of the flacon. Golden details, such as logo, cap and plate with the notes written on it. It’s available in 30, 50 and 80ml bottles with a regular sprayer as well as in 80ml deluxe bulb sprayer flacon. Body products are also available in this line.

[note] pictures come from nathanbranch.com

Tagged , , ,

20 thoughts on “Prêt-à-porter, Prada L’Eau Ambree

  1. hajusuuri says:

    Happy New Year, dearest Lucas. I love this review! For some reason, when I tried this on paper at Lord & Taylor, it did not grab me (and I had a very good coupon to use!). I should revisit.

    • lucasai says:

      Happy New Year my dear. And aww, that is so sweet. I think you didn’t like in on the paper because L’Eau Ambree is so quiet that on blotter it smells mostly of alcohol… It gains a whole dimension when in contact with skin

  2. Holly says:

    Happy New Year! I like your tradition. I have difficulty with amber, as I often find it too sweet. I haven’t even sampled this one, but now I will. Another great review, dear Lucas! I’m looking forward to all this is to come …

  3. jillie says:

    I also wish you a Happy New Year, How does this compare with the Amber eau de parfum? I am thinking this might be a little less sweet, which would be a good thing for me as I am not so sure about the edp’s richness.

  4. rickyrebarco says:

    Happy New Year, Lucas. For some reason I have never tried this Prada and I need to. Many folks like it. Have you tried the Prada No. 7 Violet fragrance? I’m told that one is really wonderful and I’m looking forward to trying it at a Prada boutique later on this year. I’m enjoying Viktoria Minya’s new Hedonist Iris very much right now. I think a full bottle is in my future.

    • lucasai says:

      Happy New Year! I think you should try this one, hope it won’t disappoint you. I haven’t tried any of Prada boutique collection. We don’t have Prada boutiques in Poland and getting any samples of these from abroad is a real pain. Please report how you like that violet.

      And glad you like Hedonist Iris 🙂

  5. Laurels says:

    Happy New Year! I was excited to get a sample of L’Eau Ambree (I love opoponax, too) but could barely smell it on me. I can’t smell Infusion d’Iris at all, and Candy disappears in a hurry, so maybe I’m anosmic to some common ingredient. It’s discouraged me from trying other Pradas.

    • lucasai says:

      Happy New Year! That’s too bad L’Eau Ambree is so light on you. And I’m surprised you can’t smell Infusion d’Iris – may I ask which one? EdT or EdP. And have you tried Absolue?

      • Laurels says:

        I haven’t tried the Absolue. And I tried IdI at least a year-and-a-half ago, when I first started reading perfume blogs, before I really understood that there was much difference between an edp and an edt, so I have no idea which one I tried. I do know I’m anosmic to some musks, though, although I don’t know if that’s necessarily the issue with the Pradas.

  6. Undina says:

    Ok… I made the same mistake as hajusuuri: I’ve never gone from testing on paper to a skin test. But I’ll rectify that: it seems it’s still available at B&M stores. So thank you for the nudge.

    Oh, and I have to say that I’m, in general, very keen on different traditions and I like your tradition a lot 🙂 I hope Prada keeps on providing your inspirations for many years to come.

    • lucasai says:

      Hello dear! Sometimes we all end at a test on paper strip. Glad you’re willing to try it on skin when you have an occasion.

      Thank you sweetie, I like my tradition to and I sincerely hope Prada will continue making great perfumes, so that there won’t be a year in the future in which I won’t have any Prada scent to review 😉

  7. johanob2014 says:

    Happy New Year!Yes,I absolutely agree with this review.Cozy and warm perfume,perfect for colder weather!

  8. floragal says:

    I am very late to this party… buy I just had to comment.
    This is one of my all time favorite perfumes and thanks goes to you Lucas 🙂
    It was you in fact who suggested this scent to me on NST when I commented that I found amber challenging. I have not looked back since and I’ve actually acquired some other amber perfumes because of this wonderful fume.
    One can really tell your love for this perfume by reading this review. And I’m glad you pointed out the bottle; it’s such a great bottle.
    Happy New Year to you and I look forward to reading many more of your excellent and quite enjoyable reviews.
    And thank you for the great recommendation!

Leave a Reply

