A year of successful weight loss

The date of February 9th marks exactly one year since I decided to make a change. On that very day in 2014 I was kind of struck by lightning and realized that my body cannot remain in the current state anymore. It’s a terrible shame to admit how terrified I was when two stretch marks appeared on my stomach. It was the fear that it may go even further that helped me to make an immediate decision – I had to do something about it! Things were going to get drastic in no time.

In just one afternoon I got rid of all the sweet things that were hidden in various kitchen cupboards and I banned the sweet sugar from my life, as it was the greatest nemesis of losing weight, the battle that I was about to begin. But getting rid of all sugar excess wouldn’t bring any effect if I didn’t do any excercise. I needed to start doing some training and here’s where some problems started. To do any physical activity right I have to focus. Going to the gym was a “no” for me as I prefered to do it alone, without any witnesses. I had two options – swimming pool, as water is the environment that allows me to focus instantly and I feel safe there (I’m Pisces for a reason) or to train at home.

Going to the swimming pool was hard to do regularly (mind you that this time last year I was still a student, commuting to Poznań and writing my master thesis) so doing some home workout seemed like the best option. I browsed through YouTube and other websites in search of some training routines for beginners. While doing so, I felt like I was going down. I became kind of obsessed with videos showing some “amazing” or “insane” body transformations picturing how some skinny teen turned into a muscular hunk over a couple of months. I felt envy watching these videos and at the same time I hear a voice inside my head – “hell no, I don’t want to look like that, I want to look normal, like a healthy young men, not like someone who wants to enter a bodybuilding competition.”

And then one day a little miracle happened. I found a video diary of a girl who was also fighting excess kilograms. In one entry she said “you’re not competing with others, you compete with yourself”. That was the sentence that I needed. I stopped watching those films that were taking my confidence and will-power away. Following that girl’s diary I found some good training programs. That was a set of a couple of videos, 10-15 minutes long. I started doing them regularly, anytime I could. Depending on the time I had, I could do all the videos one after another, or I could spend some less time working out. The idea was – it’s better to train for 10 minutes than not to train at all.

The beginning was tough, I couldn’t do some of the activities shown, or I could do them in small number of repetitions. But after a couple of weeks I noticed that I could endure more. That fact was very motivating to me. I also had a great support from my parents. My mum was preparing special, healthy dinners every single day. Nothing fried or made with the use of oil. I started eating only a whole grain bread, boiled or oven-roasted meat and fish. And since I love pasta, I switched for the healthier one, made of whole wheat grains. Month after month I was getting more fit and my body really got used to the exercises. Good results finally started to come in.

Today, a year after everything started I can proudly say that in the course of last 12 months I have lost over 25 kilograms of weight. My waist line used to measure around 108 centimeters, now it’s around 90. I went from wearing trousers in the size of 36 (or even 38 sometimes) to the size of 32 and all t-shirts, shirts or sweaters shrunk from L and XL to M. With lots of sweat, pain and doubt I won a fight against myself and my weaknesses. I have a different body, I also think a bit different about myself. I managed to make a change in my life! It’s the moment of triumph for me but the war is not over, it never will be over. I can never go back to where I was, I will have to keep up the good eating and exercising habits for the rest of my life. I think I can do it.

Tagged , , , , ,

30 thoughts on “A year of successful weight loss

  1. jillie says:

    Well done! It takes tremendous willpower to do what you have done, not to mention hunger, pain and stress. You’re now a new Lucas, ready to take on the world. Lots of good luck.

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you my dear! I think you’re right, without determination all this would be impossible. Yep, you can say I’m a new me. And I really want to take on the world… with perfume of course

  2. Ines says:

    Congratulations! 🙂

  3. Snoozing Beauty says:

    Congratulations! I am currently on my Masters program and trying to lose weight as well, this definately helped! 🙂

  4. Incredible Lucas. You should be very proud of yourself!

  5. hajusuuri says:

    Woo hoo and bravo on a job well done! Thanks for sharing your trip with us and, as you said, the journey continues. Much continied success on your journey!

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you sweeatheart. I think there are many people like me out there, maybe they willfind this story and get the courage and belief they can do it. Plus you want to share good things with your friends and all readers are likefriends to me

  6. rickyrebarco says:

    Congratulations, Lucas. That is wonderful! I’m so glad you were able to make these changes that make you feel so much better. I have also been on a lifestyle change this year, at the urging of my acupuncturist. I have been on a no sugar eating regimen for 9 months, since last July, and it is hard!!! I have had a few days when I relented and had a little bit of sugar but I have stayed on the new eating plan about 98% of the time. I lost 20 pounds (not sure how many kilos that is) but I feel much better. I’ve been doing physical therapy also to strengthen my weak leg that I’ve had surgery on about 5 times and it has helped me so much. I still need to lose about 20 more pounds, but I think if I stick with this lifestyle change permanently I will be able to do it. And I know you will, too!

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you! Wow, you have done an amazing thing. 20 pounds would be around 35 kilograms. You know, sometimes I let myself eat something sweet, the key is not to loosen your regiment too much 😉

      Lets do our besr

  7. Ron Slomowicz - Notable Scents says:

    Congratulations.

  8. Holly says:

    Thank-you for sharing this, Lucas. Congratulations! It takes a lot of strength of character to make changes in your life, and you have proven you’re up to the challenge. I’m so proud of you, and following you on your journey is truly inspiring.

    • lucasai says:

      Glad I could share. I’m really proud of myself about what I achieved. Thank you, glad you find the inspiration following my writing and a bit of my life.

  9. Undina says:

    Great results, Lucas! Are you at your goal weight and need to maintain or do you plan to loose more?
    (nice pedicure, BTW ;-P )

    • lucasai says:

      Thanks my dear! I would like to loose 5 more kilograms but not sure if my body would allow it, For the last couple of months I didn’t lose any weight, I’m stuck in place.

      • rickyrebarco says:

        Hi Lucas, wow I know what that is like. It can be downright depressing to be sticking with a new lifestyle and eating plan and not seeing changes but it tends to happen after you have lost a significant amount of weight. As I understand it, it’s your body adjusting to the new weight and making it your new “set point” so that your body keep the lower weight now. Enjoy your new self and the great healthy food! We are eating all organic now with tons of green vegetables. Kale is now my friend and it’s pretty good, I must say, especially with lots of garlic, vinegar and sundried tomatoes, yummy!!

        • lucasai says:

          I have had a great change of weight during this year. Maybe my body decided it had the right way now, that’s why it’s not letting me to lose a couple of kilos more. Maybe after some time I will be able to lose some weight again once the body gets used to the current state.
          I eat a lot of boiled or baked meat or fish, all without frying in oil or butter. I also eat seasonal vegetables. Once you learn some more recipies, healthy eating is much more tasty.

  10. Mary K says:

    Good job! Losing weight and keeping to a schedule of exercise can be difficult, especially when one is busy with other things in their life, but you remained focused and got good results.

  11. tammy says:

    Congratulations! I know how hard it is to keep up, and you have done so for an entire year. Impressive!

    You are wise to make this change while you’re still so young

  12. floragal says:

    What a great achievement! Congratulations to you, Lucas.
    Thank you for sharing such an encouraging personal story.

  13. Ann says:

    Congratulations! I have been in your place before and still always have to watch. Fortunately, one feels so much better being fit. You CAN keep it off!

Leave a Reply

