Late weekend poll – celebration of femininity

It’s 8th of March so happy International Women’s Day! Are you ladies going to celebrate it one way or another? Do chime in with your scent of the day and I honestly hope the weather is kicking into spring where you live. To celebrate the day of all women I’d like to hear what is the most feminine perfume you have ever worn or the one that you think would be best to wear today.

I think my answer would be Opardu from Puredistance, an utterly feminine blend of flowers including lilac, gardenia, heliotrope, tuberose, jasmine and rose. I remember this perfume made me think of spring. Another one that comes to my mind is April Aromatics Nectar of Love. How about you? What perfume are you going to name as a celebration of femininity?

Tagged , , ,

16 thoughts on “Late weekend poll – celebration of femininity

  1. Ines says:

    I never celebrate it, but I might get flowers just for me as it’s a beautiful day and I’m smelling Puredistance White for the first time and somehow my head is full of sunshine and flowers (has to do more with the weather than perfume).

  2. hajusuuri says:

    No celebration but YES, spring is coming. We had to move our clocks forward so there is a perception of longer daylight. Your selection of Puredistance Opardu is perfect (and I have a vat of it to use at my leisure 🙂 ). Other perfumes that remind me of spring are: Parfums DelRae Wit and Tauer Reverie Au Jardin. I am not normally a flowery perfume kind of person but these hit the spot.

    My scent of the day is likely to be Chanel No. 19 EDP because I want to spend more time with it. I am also looking forward to my decant of Misia!

    • lucasai says:

      Great to hear that spring is coming to the US folks as well. So you had a time change? We in Europe have a time change in like 2 weeks I think. Haven’t tried Wit but that Tauer is one of my favorite. Yay for both of your Chanels

  3. shellyw says:

    I do not think the day is celebrated much here, in Northern CA. Mother’s day if big though. I am wearing l’eau d’hiver from F. Malle. It is certainly not winter here and seems to have jumped to summer this week, many days in the high 70 F. I just bought a small travel size and am loving it.

    • lucasai says:

      Hi Shelly. Here in Poland women always receive flowers on that day.
      You smell good, L’Eau d’Hiver is my fave Frederric Malle fragrance.
      Good you don’t have winter anymore there

  4. rickyrebarco says:

    Hi Lucas, I love Opardu, so beautiful. I’m wearing Chanel’s Misia now, it seems to me a quite feminine fragrance and I’ll probably be wearing Teo Cabanel’s new fragrance “Lace Garden” this evening. It is the ultimate femme fragrance, it makes one feel like wearing lace, lace gowns, lace lingerie, it’s a white floral beauty.

    • lucasai says:

      I appreciate Opardu but I don’t live it. My favorite Puredistance is M and I’m now falling for White which I’m currently testing.
      I want to try Misia at Chanel counter when I’m in Milan at the end of March.
      But Lace Garden seems very appropriate for Women’s Day

  5. tomatefarcie says:

    I agree Opardu is beautiful. I’m wearing PdN Le Temps d’un Fète. I also love Wit. I think Amouage Lyric is sultry feminine as is Mohur

  6. Mary K says:

    Hello Lucas. Opardu is a very pretty spring floral. I am in the US Midwest, and it’s going to be quite nice here for the next 5-6 days, so I really am thinking about floral perfumes. (We didn’t get hit with all of the snow other parts of the US had this winter.) Today I am wearing Child, which is a nice white floral (not sure what the notes are). I get compliments from people when I wear it, and once someone even asked me to write down the name of it for her and where I got it. I treated myself to a raspberry/dark chocolate/marscapone cheese dessert today. It was small, so I didn’t feel guilty.

    • lucasai says:

      A lot of people love Opardu, it’s so uncompromising, purely floral composition. Oh, so you avoided the snow, good for you. In Poland winter was very mild this year and there wasn’t much of white fluff outside.
      A dessert treat feels like a must today 😉

  7. reneetamara says:

    What a lovely post – though I haven’t singled out International Women’s Day, I am pretty conscious that March is Women in History month – I have celebrated this through various arts events over the years and one year requested to have the excellent film “Who Does She Think She Is?” screened at our local museum.

    I wore Shalimar for the day… which to me is the epitome of a womanly fragrance, many faceted and with a lot of oomph behind it 😉 chanelling the sensual and elemental aspects of the gender. (I admit it is nice on a man too ,,,)

    Were I to go for a bit more “Lady Like” interpretation, Chanel no. 22 would be my choice.

  8. Michelle says:

    Most feminine perfumes ever worn, probably: Oscar de la Renta or YSL’s Paris. Although today I have neither. I tend to lean toward unisex fragrances now. I have a couple of lovely samples that have captivated me that I feel are quite feminine as well, Debut by Parfums DelRae After My Own Heart by Ineke. Not celebrating so much as taking a little time to reflect on what I might be able to do to help create more equality for women and remember those whom have helped get us as far as we are in the Western world.

    • lucasai says:

      Paris is definitely very feminine with all that rose.
      You know, nowadays more and more perfumes can be treated as unisex. We live in a world where guys can rock huge florals and ladies can wear heady leathers and incese

Leave a Reply

