A few words on writing

I’ve been away for the last few days, being quite busy on a business trip to Germany. Those few days spent without my computer and without working wi-fi on my phone, they got me thinking about what writing is to me. I always liked expressing my thoughts through words (but obviously not as much as doing it by talking with excessive gesticulation), writing an essay about a book we’ve been discussing at Polish classes was never a problem. Before I started writing about perfume I had a personal blog for a couple of years too. Nowadays it’s a bit of everything – perfume, travelling, cuisine & private things.  Creating a piece of words has always made me happy, even more when I knew that someone has read it and left a trace of it, in form of a comment.

Today most of my perfume reviews consist of 6-9 paragraphs, rarely more, of which at least four refer to the structure of the perfume itself. Opening like is always a bit of introduction and giving some background while the last part is my summary, comments on longevity, sillage and available flacon sizes. I think over 90% of posts have 3 graphics included. Someone once asked me how long does it take to complete a review. That depends, on a good day it can be done within 2 hours, on other it can take a few days, especially for more complicated creations that need to be analyzed gradually. As you’ve probably noticed the number of posts has dropped in the last months and it is due to the fact that some days I feel too tired (or too lazy) to smell through a perfume I’d like to review. Writing is definitely not my way for a living, perfume creation is my ultimate goal. But I wouldn’t say no if someone offered me to write a piece for a magazine/newspaper. Yet I don’t like being called a journalist. I don’t feel like one. If I’m not suitable to be a perfumer, I’ll be a creative force for a brand. Then my own label will be a must. How about Parfums de Luc? [laughs]

Tagged , ,

22 thoughts on “A few words on writing

  1. I would SO be a Parfums de Luc customer! Don’t lose sight of your dream Lucas!

    warm wishes
    Samantha

  2. Holly says:

    Always good to see a post from you. I will support you wherever your dreams take you.

  3. hajusuuri says:

    My dearest Luc(as), I’m another fan here as you know! By the way, Sylvie and Christophe were at Bergdorfs this afternoon and I got to talk to Christophe – nice guy. I also got to sniff the new oud fragrance. I bought 2 shower gels – Rose Anonyme and Cedrat Enivrant. I’m running low on Orange Sanguine shower gel and wanted to diversify; the shower gel feels very luxurious as I may have mentioned before.

    • lucasai says:

      How cool that you got to meet them. I didn’t have a chance yet but I hope they’ll have some time to see me when I’m in Paris in September. Tell me- how do you like Oud Saphir? Rose Anonyme shower gel, yuuum!

  4. hajusuuri says:

    Eeek, I forgot to comment about the writing! Having read quite a few reviews, I’ve noticed that each blogger’s style varies but each settles into a familiar pattern. Writing takes time and writing well takes even more time but when inspiration strikes, the words just flow!

  5. Undina says:

    Whatever the first perfume from Parfums de Luc is released at whatever price I promise to buy it if you promise to sign it for me 🙂

    Writing (unless we’re talking about the technical things) for me has always been hard: I keep thinking and over-thinking everything. Every post takes about a week of working on and off. I like working on the posts but I need a LOT of time to do that. And with the current work situation I have much less time and strength left for my hobby. So I’m kind of glad that you’re writing less often than you used to: I can barely get to reading all of the friends’ blogs (and I stopped reading many “official” blogs because I don’t have time for it).

    • lucasai says:

      It will be a pleasure for me to sign it for you.
      I know that you care a lot about your writing and I love your posts, they’re always so neat and polished, interesting of course too. For me it’s also amount of work that is preventing me From writing more often

    • hajusuuri says:

      Wait a minute, wait a minute. This is a first! Undina is going to, gasp, blind buy??? Lucas, do you realize you just made history? Hee 🙂

  6. jillie says:

    I am always in awe of your writing skills, dear Lucas, especially when I consider that English isn’t even your first language! Not only do you compose beautiful descriptions, but you also inspire interest. Your ability to sniff all the elements in a fragrance is amazing and conjures up that perfume so well that I can almost smell it myself ….. I am not surprised that the process is lengthy – and you are NOT lazy!

    Put me down on the list for your own creation.

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you sweetie!
      Sometimes I think that easier for me to express what I think about a fragrance in English rather than in Polish.
      It makes me very happy that my descriptions make you feel like you were testing the perfume yourself 🙂
      And yes, sometimes I AM lazy 😉

      Of course, whenever it is produced.

  7. Anka says:

    Hi Lucas,
    how was your business trip to Germany? Which places did you visit?
    Ha, it’s interesting to learn that you talk with excessive gesticulation, to me your writing style doesn’t reflect that aspect of your personality. I enjoy when you analyize complicated creations, those reviews read very elaborate and sophisticated and I always learn from them. And I like that you know your taste so well. If there’s eg. a new Atelier Cologne out there, I immediately stop by your blog to read your verdict.
    Well, I can not only picture the style of Parfums de Luc (simple elegance) but have also an idea how your creations will smell like (could you please start with an iris-centered one 🙂 ?)
    Have a nice weekend!

    • lucasai says:

      The trip was OK, we’ve had some internal meeting in a small town nearby Duesseldorf.
      Yeah, I like to gesticulate while talking, especially when I talk something really exciting to me.
      Thank you for your kind words about the reviews.
      I think knowing my tastes has one disadvantage, I’m too demanding towards fragrances and I’m too picky sometimes.
      Speaking of Atelier Cologne, I MUST try their Oud.

      I would be curious to know if people like name Parfums de Luc. I’ve been also thinking about including some more chemical word in the brands name, like “distillery”

      • hajusuuri says:

        My opinion is keep it as Parfums de Luc. As is, it conjures sophistication. Adding Distillery may make it sound like a company that sells alcohol for drinking. You should probably trademark, copyright and reserve the web address now.

        • lucasai says:

          Thanks for your opinion. Yeah, I might need to do just that before someone steals it

          • Anka says:

            I like the name but since I prefer „Lucas“ or „Łukasz“ over its abbreviation, I think I would go for Parfums Lucas (or Parfums de Lucas). Parfums Lucas looks good and sounds even better in my opinion.

  8. see & smell says:

    Parfums de Luc, oh yeah! 🙂 Good luck with your dreams. Even if you don’t feel like a journalist or a person who’d be happy writing professionally, I think it’s great that you share your perfume thoughts, opinions and experiences. Your knowledges of the perfume “kitchen” is very valuable, it’s always interesting to read a review by someone who knows not only the scent, but is also has some idea of the workings behind it. I know next to nothing about chemistry.

    I’ve always been a writer, ever since I could put letters together. I used to write little stories for my parents and such. Then, poetry, and I gotta say I was quite successful. But something broke when a chance emerged to have my own poetry book published. I felt overwhelmed. Actually, the very same thing happened with painting. I kind of felt overwhelmed after I had some of my works exhibited. I had a writer’s block and a painter’s block for a few long years. I guess I was too scared of my dreams coming true, how silly! And starting my blog, was sort of a therapy for feeling burnt out. I have to say, so far so good. I find pleasure again in writing and drawing. 🙂

  9. Laurels says:

    Parfums de Luc is a great name. I think the lengthier names tend to be harder to remember.

Leave a Reply

