Work in progress

Dear friends, there will be a bank holiday in Poland this Wednesday and I decided to take this opportunity to have a little break from writing this week. I will be writing a new review for next week on Saturday when I get to meet the fragrance sample I forgot to take with me back to Poznań… In the meantime I’d like you to answer a question I wanted to ask some time ago. In your opinion – is there anything that Chemist in the Bottle is missing? Any specific kind of writing, a perfume house I should write about but never did so far? Anything? I’m looking for some ideas to freshen up the blog and maybe find some new audience as you all can clearly see there is only a small bunch of us left here. I hope you will have a nice rest of the week.

Tagged , , ,

18 thoughts on “Work in progress

  1. Well I love what you do Lucas. Personally I love gift guide near Christmas but that’s just me! I hope you are well. Kepp going

    best wishes
    Samantha

  2. Harper says:

    I read most of your entries; I’m just not much for writing. Perhaps questions, on some days, to engage. What is the first perfume each of us wore? The first we bought for ourselves? The one we bought most recently?

  3. jillie says:

    As one of your loyal readers I want to tell you that I wouldn’t change a thing about the wonderful way you describe perfumes – I am in awe of your chemist’s ability to pick out every note and then paint a picture that is so vivid in my mind that I think I can smell that fragrance!

    I love that you bring unknown houses and their creations to my notice – there are so many that I have never heard of. But perhaps this could pose a problem for some readers as by their very nature these niche companies’ products are so difficult (if not impossible) to access. It might be that people think it’s not a good idea to read about a perfume they will never get a chance to sniff? If that is indeed the case, maybe a few reviews here and there of the old classics that everyone knows, or at least can get their hands on, could generate excitement because readers will feel more comfortable in commenting as they are familiar with those perfumes and will have opinions they would like to express.

    It is always interesting to go “off piste” and talk about food – everyone likes to read about tasty morsels, and most perfumistas love chocolate, tea and coffee and would like to share their latest tips and discoveries.

    Finally, I am a fan of themed posts where we can all join in with fun comments on different subject, however silly.

    None of this is a criticism, dear Lucas, just my random thoughts. I love your blog and always look forward to reading your latest instalment.

    Have a good break. I will be so interested in seeing your next review!

    x

  4. shellyw says:

    I really enjoy the science based ones and the tea/food/recipe ones of the past. Photos are great for those of us who will never make it to Pitti etc… Enjoy your break. I will use mine to write report cards, not as fun as perfume reviews.

  5. Holly says:

    Hello again, dear Lucas. I apologize for being absent for a while. I have some health stuff to deal with and, to be honest, I am feeling melancholy as well. So I have refrained from commenting as I’m simply mopey and don’t want to contribute that.

    I remain a huge fan of the blog and would greatly miss it if you decide you don’t want to continue at some point, but I would certainly understand. You have a unique voice – young, fresh and vibrant yet worldly at the same time. You have introduced me to several things I never would have known about but for you.

    I have felt for quite some time that altogether, the perfume blogs are not thriving in the same way they once were. I’m not sure if they’re actually getting fewer hits, or I’m just seeing fewer comments. A few have dropped out altogether, most notably Birgit of the charming Olfactoria’s Travels. I have also seen fewer bloggers posting comments on other blogs, and I miss that aspect of things, as when that happens it feels less like a community to me.

    Beyond your wonderful reviews, I also like to read about how and what you’re doing in life if you feel moved to share that here in any way. I definitely know that you’ve been busy, but I miss hearing about your bike rides, your diet, bits and pieces about your family and Poland. As the aforementioned Birgit wrote, “it has all been about the connection.”

    Big hug 🙂

    • jillie says:

      Holly – and Lucas – I hope you don’t mind if I chime in here? You’ve expressed exactly what I have noticed in that there seems to be a state of tiredness affecting the perfume blogosphere right now, with some favourites in decline or defunct, and fewer commenters. Perhaps life is too full these days for people to read or comment regularly, and I know that I am guilty of this. Like you Holly, I have had a few problems lately which impact on my enjoyment of life.

      Holly’s right, Lucas, it has always been enjoyable reading about your adventures and what you are up to, and it would be sad if you eventually drift away …. but understandable when you have a lot of other things going on.

      Holly, I hope things improve – my thoughts are with you.

      • Holly says:

        So glad you chimed in, jillie.
        Thank you for your kind words, and I hope things will improve for you as well. Sending a big hug your way. 🙂

    • hajusuuri says:

      Holly! Inhave been wondering where you’ve been! Glad to see you posting!

  6. Cornelia Blimber says:

    Hi Lucas, first of all: have a great break!
    I had a heath problem too (concussion) so I did not comment. I really love your reviews, you know what you are speaking about, that’s obvious!
    I also love your youthful enthousiasm. And the Monday sniffing.
    I am with Jilly…I would like more attention for new mainstream perfumes, or more easy available(and not too expensive) niche. For ex, the Guerlains, Tom Ford, Lutens (yes, I know, I know..), Also the idea (mentioned above) of questions we can answer sounds good. It would be a lost if you would stop blogging.

  7. Cornelia Blimber says:

    Hm, my English is bad this time, blame it on the concussion!

  8. hajusuuri says:

    Hello dearest Lucas! I love the variety of topics you include here, whether or not perfume related. You are definitely doing something right for sure in your perfume reviews because I lemming 50% of what you review. As to new topics, perhaps you can do a series of 5 favorite perfumes by note, color, bottle, fragrance family, perfumer, etc.; you don’t need to own it to be a favorite and you don’t even have to have written a review of them. Also, how about an occasional SOTD poll and asking readers to do a tweet length description?

  9. Ania says:

    Hi Lucas,
    I really enjoy your blog practically since its beginning although I rarely comment. I’ve noticed this blog lost some steam but for for sure not the quality. I think Chemist in the Bottle is the only English language blog that covers ultra niche, very rare and hard to obtain brands. It is great but has some disadvantages that Jillie mentioned.
    I agree with commenters above – perhaps it would be invigorating to give some place also to ‘mainstream niche’ and classics: L’artisan, Lutens, Caron, Guerlain, Chanel etc. Just because average readers know them. I was happy to see your review of Oud Palao, it almost never happens that I know a fragrance you write about 😛 If you’re not into these brands perhaps you could host some guest posts? Or you could find regular contributors? I guess you’re very busy with your job so it might also be helpful.
    Oh, food posts and polls are always fun 🙂

  10. Undina says:

    Lucas,

    As you have probably got already from the comments of your current readers, we are not bored/missing anything specific, so for us – just keep coming back and writing something from time to time.

    If you’re looking at expanding the audience, you’ll have to work hard for it – and I’m not sure you have enough time and energy for that. But if for some reason it’s what you want to do, then even once a week posting won’t be enough: you need to post more often – doesn’t matter how thoughtful or detailed, “more often” will do part of the trick. Then, you need to review perfumes that are “hot off the press” and those that were really popular a couple of years ago but are not covered in blogs any longer – you’ll get hits from the search engines when somebody decides to look for some of those perfumes. Also, you’ll need to do much more self-promotion on FB, Twitter – and wherever else someone might see you…

    Do you really need all that headache? 🙂

  11. Hi Lucas, As Undina and Sam will know maintaining a blog can be hard work at times. I like your posts so your content is not a problem for me. Maybe you could do some posts on classics and what Undina says about posting often is true if you want to build an audience. Some perfume bloggers post every day (I don’t know how they do it) and I assume this gets more readers as they build up a portfolio of articles quickly. Anyway I know you still love perfume, so you will find inspiration x x

  12. Barbara B says:

    Hello Lucas! I don’t comment much but having been reading you I believe from the beginning. I enjoy reading about your life and food posts as much as the fragrance reviews!

  13. Hey mate,
    Not lack of love but lack of time keeps me from you. I will not see you for a while and then come back and read a few. Still love you madly.
    Portia xx

  14. Ingeborg says:

    I come here once in a while to check if there’s a new post. I like your style of writing and find it is good to read some European blogs, since the US blogs have a different take on several ingredients, like musk. However, it can be frustrating not to be able to try locally the scents you write about. Italian and US niche isn’t easy to get hold of here since we have such high import taxes and fees for custom clearance.

    More about Polish traditions and food would be interesting, especially leading up to Christmas.

Leave a Reply

