4 Gift-giving ideas for Christmas

How the time flies! I have no idea when did all those months pass? It feels as if we were just recently celebrating New Year’s Eve and as if summer has just ended not long ago, yet we’re almost in the middle of December. All signs in the city like streetlights, decorations, colorful shopping centers leave us with no doubt that Christmas is almost here! Last year I did a series of Christmas shopping guide posts. This year I didn’t have much time for writing so many posts on how you can spend your holiday money but here it is! A couple of suggestions I would put under the tree to gift someone.

***

We love perfume! It’s obvious, so why not surprise someone by placing a nice fragrance under a christmas tree, a scented treasure hidden inside of a lovely decorated box. I know many of you are thinking right now – perfume can be expensive, that you are not sure if a gifted person will be happy with your choice. My point of view is that perfume is a very personal present and should be considered only if you know someone really well. But this suggestion leaves more space for discussion. This is where Andy Tauer comes to the rescue with his newly launched Tauerville collection. At the moment there is a quartet of brilliantly made fragrances of high quality.

This perfume is a flash! Chose between Rose, Vanilla, Incense and Amber. I didn’t try the last one as it’s new and from the first 3 I like Rose the most. It’s rich, jammy and also a little bit tart and green. They don’t cost a fortune, look cute and smell even better. All of them come in 30 ml cube-shaped bottle which is a very friendly size, especially if someone already owns a bigger fragrance wardrobe. Rose and Vanilla are also available in 10 ml roll-on.

***

Last two years have been really good for Arquiste, a niche brand from the US. Two succesful launches in their own line, an interesting collaboration with J. Crew and now also with St. Regis Hotels. If you’re like me in terms of not only loving to perfume your skin but to also actually scent your house interior, you really should look into Arquiste portfolio of candles. Those have been introduced this year and they contain really high percentage of fragrance. I had a miniature of one of those candles and after 30 minutes of burning the room was absolutely surrounded with its scent.

If you think that candle might be a good idea for one of your friends (or a good idea to put one on your own Christmas wish list) you will get to pick from among these three goodies. Art Deco Velvet is a smell of a decadent gentlemen’s club – juniper berry, blond tobacco, vanilla, oakwood and amber – inspired by The Architects Club perfume. Dark Galleon is the interpretation of how merchants ship could smell like – saffron, leather, frankincense, sandalwood, cade – it’s a candle reincarnation of Nanban, Arquiste’s 2015 fragrance release. Then you can indulge in Mexican Baroque, a rich and delightful blend that tempts you to eat it – cocoa, vanilla, smoked chilli, cedar, red clay – it’s Anima Dulcis with a wick.

***

I wouldn’t be myself if among my suggestions there wouldn’t be a thing signed with a Prada logo. Here I have found for you a collectors treat that would make for a divine present if you know that someone is collecting perfume miniatures. 5 fragrances, each in a 7 ml or 8 ml bottle that is a mini copy of its original bigger size should make a Pradaholic or a miniature-hollic happy.

Browsing through the depths of Internet I have found The Prada Miniatures Collection that features mini versions of Infusion d’Iris eau de parfum and eau de toilette plus 3 versions of Candy: Candy EdP, Candy L’Eau and Candy Florale. There is alternative version with Infusion d’Iris Absolue mini instead of Candy Florale. And there is also an older one that has older Prada releases: Prada EdP, Tendre, Intense & Amber Pour Homme.

 ***

If you enjoy home fragrances but scenting the entire house with a scented candle, reed diffuser or room spray seems to be a little bit too much, this little treat might be exactly what you’ve been looking for. Esteban offers you a perfumed good luck charm. It’s a 2 or 3-element set of porous ceramics tied with a string. It’s gently perfumed letting you to introduce some perfume into your wardrobe, drawer or smaller room. You can hang it on door knob, on clothes rack and let it diffuse.

In Esteban offer there are 11 of those perfumed charms. Each comes in different shapes and of course in different scents. Pick from light citrusy and fresh or fruity ones or go a little bit more bold by chosing one with more heady floral bouquet or the one that smells woody, resinous and leathery. Good thing is that this little home deco is renewable. If you notice that your ceramics almost lost their aroma you can purchase a refreshing oil with a fragrance that matches your charm.

***

What are your scented Christmas gift ideas? If you have found something interestingly fragrant during your shopping, be it online or in store, something that you’ve never seen before, please don’t hesitate to share it. I’m always curious to see what market has to offer.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

18 thoughts on “4 Gift-giving ideas for Christmas

  1. jillie says:

    Thank you for the ideas! Those Prada bottles look soooo cute …..

    My Parisienne friend always buys me Esteban products and I have several ceramic scenters which I hang in my wardrobe, and I agree that they make a great gift.

    I bought my sister some Japanese incense sticks which smell very good and classy – they are not expensive and very easy to send in the post to Australia.

    Yes, last Christmas was surely on a few weeks ago ……

    • lucasai says:

      My pleasure 🙂
      I know, they look so adorable

      I agree that scented ceramic is a nice gift idea, what kind of fragrances did your friend pick for you?
      Japanese incense sounds lovely – does it have any specific aroma or is it just smoky and spiritual?

      • jillie says:

        I have had the Cedre and Sous les Feuilles in Esteban. Also, many years ago, they made a wonderful pillow spray with valerian that helped you sleep – sadly no longer, but in looking for it on their site just now, I discover they have a sale!

        The little box of Japanese incense sticks I bought for my sister were Mimosa by Morning Star. I find that they do seem a little more spiritual than Indian joss sticks, which smell too “Indiany” if you understand what I mean. These do indeed smell like mimosa, and they have other perfumes in the range.

  2. Cornelia Blimber says:

    Andy Tauer is very good with roses and incense. I would not expect to find vanilla in his collection, so I am curious.
    Yes, Christmas again! my favourite season. Your list is festive, nice contribution to the Christmas atmosphere.
    I bought me a bottle of Nuit de Longchamp this year.

    • lucasai says:

      His PHI is my favorite perfume. And then I love Reverie au Jardin with lavender and orris root.
      Glad you liked my little list of christmas gift ideas 🙂
      Nice that you treated yourself already

  3. Holly says:

    Nice ideas! The Prada set is adorable, isn’t it? I have the Rose Flash and Vanilla Flash and I agree, I like the rose the best. I think they layer quite nicely, too. I went over to the Esteban site and those ceramic thingies look really nice and are on sale yay! They have some nice stuff, all new to me. I personally love candles and the Arquiste ones sound nice and are attractive as well.
    I bought myself a candle by MCMC in the fragrance Hunter, which I really like but feel is more suited to the candle than the perfume. Bourbon vanilla, tobacco absolute, balsam fir.
    I bought a really nice aromatherapy diffuser for a friend of mine and will include a set of aromatherapy oils and mixtures I’ve made for her.

    • lucasai says:

      Thanks Holly! Oh yes, yes it is 😀
      Rose Flash was the first and probably the best. However I didn’t have a chance to try new Amber Flash yet. Rose Flash could layer nicely with Incense Flash if someone likes rose + incense combination.
      Those scented charms are not expensive and they come in many shapes and scents.
      I tried MCMC Hunter but didn’t like it much.
      Hope your friends enjoys her gift

  4. hajusuuri says:

    Hello my dearest, Lucas! These are such great gift ideas! None of my nearest and dearest friends are “into” perfume and as for myself, I had already been so indulgent. Of the Tauervilles, I have all but the Incense Flash. I just got my Amber Flash but have but have not had a chance to try it. Both the Rose Flash and the Vanilla Flash are wonderful and I love that they are available in 30 mLs. For candles, while I do not burn them at all, I was so enamored by Houndy’s description of the Roja Dove Christmas Candle that I up and bought one. It will remain unlit but I will open it soon to fragrance my room. That Prada set is really cute and the Esteban charms are even cuter — I wish it did not come fragranced already so I can choose my own!

    As to a cheap thrill, every time I go to Sephora (yes, I shop there!!! and I am proud of it), I check out the mini stuff they have displayed as you snake through to the cashiers. The one that fascinates me but unfortunately is in rollerball format, which I don’t use, is the mini version of THE BLEND by Fred Segal, bespoke perfumer to the Hollywood stars and starlets. The kit has 4 fragrances in an oil format – amber, musk, tropical white flowers and citrus. Here’s the link but please remove it if you would rather it not be in a comment.
    http://www.sephora.com/custom-fragrance-blending-mini-kit-P397201?skuId=1699230

    Be well, my friend!

  5. Undina says:

    Love your ideas, especially perfumed good luck charms!

    I currently work on my own post (though I almost gave up because of the lack of time). But if I can get things together, I’ll post it this weekend – just barely enough time for the last minute shopping 🙂

  6. rickyrebarco says:

    Those Arquiste candles look divine. I bought a couple of Diptyque candles for my home for the holidays. Their Cypres candle smells like a live fir tree, total Christmas vibe! I’ve also seen some nice sample sets that would be great for holiday gifting. There is a nice L’Artisan sampler coffret with nice sized bottles in a pretty box, a Diptyque sample set and an Etat d’Libre sample set which I got for myself while buying family gifts. My favorite of the seasonal gifts, though, is Roja Dove’s candles at Neiman’s and Bergdorf Goodman in the U.S. The lavender and lilac candles, among others, are about $100. I’m using a gift certificate to buy one for myself! Take care and have a very Merry Christmas!

    • lucasai says:

      I loved that matte black finish of that candle vessel. I have never tried Diptyque candles but have heard lots of good things about them. Opoponax or Benzoin would be my favorites to try.
      More and more brands are now offering decent sampling services that include sets of all fragrances. Parfumerie Generale also has one.
      Oh my Roja is so pricey…

Leave a Reply

