22 thoughts on “Weekend poll – logged in or logged out?

  1. ScentBound says:

    I like the new one. It’s definitely more modern but it doesn’t stand out as much.

  2. Ania says:

    I definitely prefer old logo, it suits this brand’s aesthetics better I think.
    Chanel, Guerlain, Hermes, Caron – they rock their logos pretty well.

  3. hajusuuri says:

    I prefer the old logo as well. I like the By Kilian cursive logo but is bugs me when I do searches – do I start with “B” or do I go straight to “K”.

  4. ScentBound says:

    I don’t mind them dropping the first name. Using just the last name definitely makes for a more marketable brand. I do agree though that the new typeface is no different than anything else out there.

  5. Holly says:

    While I appreciate the aesthetics of an attractive bottle, I’m ambivalent about how important appearance is to me. I guess for the average consumer, appearance may be a big factor in what draws someone to test a fragrance. I would definitely concur that a nice bottle and logo may enhance the overall experience, but I’m pretty much all about the juice. I personally enjoy the Chanel Exclusifs bottle experience – those bottles are simple but elegant, and the implication to me is that the perfume speaks for itself without any need for embellishment. There’s also something incredibly satisfying in the solid, firm click of the magnetic cap they use. I find that something that simple indicates attention to detail and it entices me to pay attention and respect the fragrance inside in the same way.
    I’m frankly not a Mugler fan, and honestly I think that their flamboyant bottles attract attention rather than the logo. If I were to pick one of their logos over the other, I would vote for the new one.

  6. rickyrebarco says:

    I like cursive logos best and liked the original Mugler logo. But I like the plain script Hugo Boss logo.

  7. jillie says:

    I am a “stick-in-the-mud” and don’t like change!

    As you say, the trend is for dropping the first name and just having the one in bold, capital letters and this possibly makes the brand stand out – well at least from its old self. But I miss the more characterful names. I understand and appreciate Holly’s comment, especially about the Chanel Exclusifs line; I suspect that Chanel was probably the company which first brought out the plain, monochrome, one word design and this must have made the brand really exceptional at a time when bottles and labels were elaborate, colourful and exotic. The trouble is now that so many have pared down to the white (or off-cream) boxes with the simple black lettering that it is hard to differentiate between them.

    But for us perfumistas the most important thing is the juice and I for one don’t really mind too much about the packaging so long as the fragrance is good!

    • lucasai says:

      Yeah, I don’t like changes much, especially when brand changes a name, or re-designs their logo. Chanel Exclusifs bottles are very elegant and minimalistic yet sophisticated and they give a feeling like most money were put into a good juice, not a bottle.

      Of course I care about the juice but I probably wouldn’t justify a purchase of a beautiful perfume in a bottle that I would find ugly. A decant would be a perfect solution to this trouble

  8. LeshKat says:

    I agree with Ania! Given the style of the ad campaigns, script seems to work better. The logos for Prada, Chanel, Fendi, Hermes, Calvin Klein, etc. evoke a more understated iconic image. To me, Mugler is iconic, but more intense. Iconic, but with an insane amount of fanfare. Think Marie Antoinette making an entrance at a ball on any given Wednesday, dressed like it’s her birthday:)

  9. Undina says:

    I do not like changes in general so I do not know which logo I would have preferred had they both been a new proposed logo for a brand. But since they are not, I’m a little bit upset about the change – even though I know that I, as everybody else, will get used to it soon (I almost got used to the new GOOGLE one! 😉 ).

  10. Sorry I’m late to the party,
    I think it shows disrespect for the founder. Yves should never have been removed from Yves Saint Laurent and Thierry likewise from Thierry Mugler. I will not buy a product that has had the innovating headpersons name removed.
    As to font, I am indifferent.
    I have a question though. Was DIOR always simply DIOR? I know it was Christian Dior who founded it but I think it was always the house of DIOR??
    Portia xx

  11. A. Minis says:

    In my opinion the old logo was graphically more interesting; the new one being too flat. But who cares, as long as they make my beloved A*men!

Leave a Reply

