Let there be rain, Prada Purple Rain

Dear diary, it’s Tuesday afternoon and I’m currently sitting by my desk, with a table lamp switched on. I just brewed a big mug of hot tea because it’s cold… Just when I thought that a warm and pleasant temperatures of late spring are going to continue, the weather turned bad again. Especially today – it’s not only cold but it’s also windy and rainy. Such a dark and gloomy day. But it’s okay, we need a weather to change once in a while & rain is very welcome at the moment. Last summer, autumn and even winter were all really dry, the Earth is craving for more water so that we can enjoy delicious fruit in coming months. Even though such conditions outside make me feel sleepy, I’m not feeling down because I’m wearing a special perfume today. Its name – Prada Purple Rain.

Olfactories Collection was introduced by Prada in late 2015 and it’s a second line exclusive to the boutiques of this fashion and accessories designer. Purple Rain is 1 out of 10 fragrances that this collection consists of. As a true lover of the brand I was enamored I was able to put my hands on this creation (I also got decants of a few more), even thought I risked a blind buy of it. Composition of Purple Rain opens (at least to my nose) with a very gentle wave of aldehydes. They carry a more oily aroma that feels structured and refined, also very elegant. The opening gives the impression of touching a lightly textured fabric. After a few minutes this aldehydic impression fades away and the fragrance becomes more heavy and substantive, yet not overpowering.

Iris is a beautiful lady in a grey dress in this perfume and as the composition develops more new facets of the note are revealed. On my skin the aldehydes from the opening seamlessly evolve into tender orris scent. The remaining oily feel from before becomes more solid over the next couple of minutes before the buttery smell of iris becomes a dominating element of Purple Rain. It’s a very rich smell that feels soft, almost velvety. Like a luxurious veil that wraps around you and clings to your skin, melting together into one with it. After some time the richness of this part becomes less prominent but on the other hand this Prada gains a new quality in a darker and lightly sweet feel that I think is vanilla. Not a gourmand but more oriental, resinous type of vanilla.

purple-rainAs the time goes by iris becomes more dissipated. The buttery texture is slowly gone, meanwhile the iris becomes more and more powdery. This iris powder still has a slightly sweet feel of vanilla and at the moment it feels more like it’s becoming slightly sweeter. The powdery vibe in Purple Rain by Prada is very sophisticated here and there is something about it that makes me think of it as chic and modern. The impression I get immediately makes me think of a very expensive powder that some diva could apply to her body with a big, fluffy puff to gently scent her body. Purple Rain on its own feels like a beauty ritual one could experience in SPA resorts. At some point the powdery facet of iris becomes more floral, closest guess would be violet I think.

Few hours later the evolution of iris tones veers towards more woody aspects of this accord. Woody and slightly earthy facet of iris feels a bit damp initially, as if someone just pulled an orris root straight from the wet ground. This feeling quickly fades away and becomes the very opposite when vetiver joins the composition. Because of the vetiver the drydown of Purple Rain feels really dry. There is also something quite aromatic to it. Even for some time I thought that it smells more like dry hay and coumarin. It also feels slightly green and somewhat grassy. The final touch to the scent is a hint of neroli which adds this gentle fresh & floral undertone. A lovely way to round the entire composition.

Prada Olfactories Purple Rain is a luxury in a bottle and everything seems perfect about it if you ask me. Starting from the most important thing – the flawless juice. Moving on to the design of a bottle which is just gorgeous, the bottle is nice and heavy and it feels special when you hold it in your hand. The cap is a crown of the bottle, it also has a nice weight, it’s a magnetic type and on top it has an embellishment of Prada logo. This composition is of course signed by Daniela Roche-Andrier of Givaudan who kind of became an in-hourse perfume of the brand. Purple Rain feels as if it combined all the best from all different variations of Infusion d’Iris. The fragrance is an eau de parfum and it has a good longevity and moderate sillage. Bottle is 100 ml.

Tagged , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Let there be rain, Prada Purple Rain

  1. Holly says:

    Want.

    Oh boy, does this sound stunningly gorgeous. Thanks for the wonderful review.

  2. Sun Mi says:

    Okay, so I haven’t liked iris scents yet, but today in the yard of the house we bought in December, I saw an iris and smelled one for the first time in real life. The scent was stunningly beautiful and now I really want to love some iris scents. This sounds lovely, I hope I can try it!

    • lucasai says:

      It’s very interesting because iris flower doesn’t really have any distinctive smell. In perfumery all iris notes come from its rhisomes – the root, or it’s violet that mimics iris

  3. hajusuuri says:

    I got a nice sized sample from Saks and I enjoyed wearing it. I am waiting for a deal before making a purchase. I agree that this feels like a compilation of all Prada Irises that came before!

  4. Undina says:

    I’m sure I’ll like it when I try it: Prada is a good brand for me and with both you and hajusuuri liking it… I don’t think I stand a chance not liking it. And if hajusuuri gets a deal, I think I’ll “help” her with her bottle (in a split) – who needs 100 ml of anything, right? 😉

    • lucasai says:

      Good then, I believe you will like it. I’m trying to hunt Infusion de Mimosa next. Once I get a hold of it – I’m happy to send you a sample.
      Sure, you can split the bottle. I shared some of mine with others as well

Leave a Reply

