A cruise towards the sun, Le Galion Cologne

Heat has never been a friend of mine. Not only it limits my choice of perfume to wear (because some would be a suicide at higher temperatures) but it also makes me feel more exhausted. Believe me, after 8 hours spent in a lab (which is filled with scent every day), with no air-conditioning or at least a proper ventilation, perfume is the last thing I want to think about, not to mention writing a review of any. In the meantime when I hope for a mild summer the weather outside is getting hotter and incredibly humid lately which calls for a perfume adjustment.

I promised myself that I will not be so vulnerable to the weather and idle like last year (it was my worst summer ever, my body and mind were completely worn out) so I plan to reach for fragrances that have no other option but to make me happy, fragrances that uplift the spirit and keep you going. One of such fragrances that I’m lusting over for the last 2-3 weeks is the latest scent from the resurrected house of Le Galion. The dream of the brand is to go beyond historical formulations and to start creating new modern masterpieces. To me Cologne is one of them.

In the summer there is probably nothing better than a smell of classical eau de cologne, full of citrus freshness, invigorating and lively notes that burst on your skin like cold bubbles. Le Galion has developed a fragrance that elevates this classic style to a new level. Cologne opens with a vast sea of orange blossom. It blooms on top of my skin as soon as I apply a little dab from my miniature bottle. The note overflows with happiness and optimism. A slightly cold opening warms up within a couple of minutes and becomes more embracing. This orange blossom has a floral & citric properties that entwine with each other. After around 10-15 minutes the citrusy element starts to take over as it becomes stronger, more pronounced and more defined.

slider-11-duo

Are you ready for some rain? Not just an average, boring rain. A rain in which drops of water are replaced by slices of lemon, bitter orange and lime! Imagine as they fall down to finally dive into a fragrant sea, causing the water to splash all around you. That’s how Le Galion Cologne feels. As soon as these juicy citrus notes appear in the composition making it feel more citric and zesty, the perfume starts to remind me of a lovely cocktail. It’s vigorous and bubbly, like a cold sparkling water with a slice of lemon on a hot day. The perfume feels very fresh in a positive kind of way.

After a while juicy citrus properties turn a bit weaker so that more aromatic values of citrus rinds could be also perceived by the wearer. Highlights of the aromatic stage of Cologne also include clary sage and honeysuckle. They add the vibrant element of freshness that has something slightly herbal to it. Honeysuckle also adds this honeyed, almost fruity sensation. As the perfume dries down it reveals a slightly woody base that gives a bit more substantivity to the being of cologne, which is normally considered an airy composition. the Le Galion one is not that airy at all.

Late development stage of this fragrance has angelica and galbanum. These two are responsible for a distinctive green vibe which is carried on by petit grain until the perfume fades away completely. Petit grain introduces a green and crispy leafy feel that at some moments shows its dusty side as well. All in all Le Galion Cologne is a super optimistic creation which is almost like a made-to-measure summertime scent. Juicy, sparkling, invigorating and happily positive – what else do you need? Perfumer Rodrigo Flores-Roux has done a good job with this one. And it’s an eau de parfum which makes it last up to 6 hours on my skin (I tested Cologne on days with ~28*C). Available in 100 ml bottle or 6,5 ml splash mini. Do you feel like you want to dive in it?

Tagged , , , ,

14 thoughts on “A cruise towards the sun, Le Galion Cologne

  1. Holly says:

    Yes, I want to dive in! This sounds spectacular!

    I’m sorry that the heat does you in, but I like your strategy of using cologne to combat the effects. My goodness, not even any ventilation where you work? That must be incredibly rough in the summer. Would they allow you to at least bring in one of those mini fans, or would it interfere with the work in progress? I can just imagine bits and bobs whizzing around the room…

    • lucasai says:

      Glad you think so Holly. Cologne from Le Galion is wonderful. I’m sorry for that too, perhaps it would’ve been easier to handle if conditions in lab were better. No air conditioning. Nothing. We only have a vacuum cabinet (which is used to prepare fragrance samples) which I leave turned on during hot days because at least partially it sucks in the scented air that fills the lab. Otherwise we have no means to cool down. Last summer during 40*C we had 29*C inside the lab. I had no energy after coming back home!

  2. jillie says:

    Oh yes, yes, yes!! This sounds divine, just my sort of thing. We’ve not had too much hot weather yet, but I am dreading the heat which will eventually come – I am definitely a winter person; then I will spritz all my lovely lemony colognes. It seems Le Galion have done an excellent job (I always trust your opinion, Lucas) – and I like the thought that this would also have some longevity.

    • lucasai says:

      I will send you some. Was planning to send it last weekend but then I thought I will wait for a bit longer to send you a little bit more samples. I’m not a winter person per-se, just heat makes me exhausted. Surprisingly I don’t mind heat in Italy or somewhere, it’s just hard to bear in Poland, in the bit city.
      There is also one more cologne from Le Galion which I will review next.

  3. stina says:

    Sounds wonderful, especially with the hot, dry weather we’ve had here lately. I’m always up for another good cologne!

    I’m hoping Le Galion will start marketing in North America sometime soon. First in Fragrance/Aus Liebe zum Duft carries the brand, but not any of their colognes (sigh).

    I do have some minis/small bottles of the vintage (original) Le Galions, and some of those are really lovely – my favorites are the Jasmin PdT and Cub (which is a rich red rose with green notes).

  4. hajusuuri says:

    Wahoo for a cooling cologne! This sounds really good. Your working conditions sound terrible…no air-conditioning in that heat. You also have Cedrat Enivrant to cool you down, don’t you? I have fallen in love with it all over again because it is good in heat and humidity.

    • lucasai says:

      It smells very appealing and fresh. I know, I Wish we at least had a floor fan to blog some cooling air on us. Yeah, I have Cedrat Enivrant and Pomelo Paradis. Le Jardin de Monsieur Li from Hermes will do good too

  5. Cornelia Blimber says:

    I was shocked reading about your working conditions. Is there nothing you can do? It is a shame.
    I am a winter person, like Jillie. In the clear Dutch winter light I love fresh colognes better than in the summer; when everything is blooming, I love flowers on my skin too.
    But this year we have a moist, almost tropical heat. I think that Le Galion Cologne would be very agreeable now! In the meantime, I love my Eau de Rochas. And the sharp, peppery Vitriol d’Oeillet is helpful as well.

    • lucasai says:

      Maybe I will be able to convince my boss that at least a portable fan is needed.

      Really interesting to hear that there are more people who love citrus and cologne in the winter.

  6. MMMM Cologne sounds like exactly the tonic for your summer woes.
    Portia xx

  7. Undina says:

    I’m not sure what I dislike more – when it’s cold or hot, but when it’s hot at least I can wear nice warm perfumes to make me feel a little less miserable. When it’s hot I can think only about spraying some Bronze Goddess from the refrigerator.

    I sympathize with you on the work conditions (for several years I suffered every summer because the office where I worked had only a very old window A/C that was too weak to deal with California summer days.

    I will try Cologne when I see it at a store: it sounds very appropriate for the summer (with or without A/C).

    • lucasai says:

      Honestly I have to admit I never tried EL Bronze Goddess but I like the idea of using a perfume out of the refrigerator. A cool mist must give a nice feel when you spray it on your chest or wrists.
      Well, there is not much that can be done as a building where our lab is it’s not our company property so we cannot install here things as we please. If the summer is not as hot as last year, I will be fine.
      If it’s the same, I will probably ask if we can have a fan

Leave a Reply

