Tripping

I’m terribly sorry but there will be no fragrance review this weekend because… I’m busy getting all things together for my upcoming summer holidays. Normally I would start organizing my trip around 2 months prior to departure date but this year I had no luck doing that. Some events that happened earlier this summer made my head full and I couldn’t think of anything else for a while, also the summer work load in lab, which is surprisingly high compared to summer in 2015 – all that resulted in fact that I just kept postponing to organize my trip by more and more days. But now it’s getting late & I have less than 2 weeks to make it perfect. It’s still plenty of time and I ticked many things off my list this week.

Organizing my big Italian trip inspired me to make a poll and ask you how do you organize your vacation? Do you prefer a stationary summer in one place, or do you prefer to go and see a couple of places. Do you organize things on your own or do you use travel agencies? Don’t forget to tell where did you spend holidays this year or where are you planning to go, in case you’re like me, with summer break still ahead of you? Wishing everyone a happy and restful weekend.

Tagged , , , , ,

20 thoughts on “Tripping

  1. rprichpot says:

    Unfortunately, I can’t remember the last time I had a vacation. You have a good one!

  2. jillie says:

    It’s a staycation as usual for us!

    Have a very good holiday. I hope you enjoy every minute of it, from the moment you leave, the journey, the arrival and even the returning home. Make memories.

    x

  3. Holly says:

    Staycation for me this summer! I went to New Orleans back in March, and will head up to NYC for a few days soon. I have so many places I want to visit – Japan is at the top but I will want to have a lot of time (and money) for that particular trip.

    I didn’t even know that travel agents were still in business! I make my own plans. Usually I will try and see a few of the sights, but also make sure that I have time to be spontaneous and go with the flow. The last thing I want to do on vacation is cram in too much – that ends up feeling stressful. Like work. 😉

    I hope you have an amazing summer break!

  4. rickyrebarco says:

    Lucas, your trip sounds wonderful. I have just made a couple of trips to nice beaches extending some personal fun after business trips. I don’t plan to go on an extended vacation until next spring, when I am planning on going to Spain again and Provence as well. I want to get to Poland on the next trip. Dying to see Krakow. Everyone who has been there says it’s wonderful so it’s on the list of must see places. ….

    I generally plan well ahead for all my trips, research hotels and restaurants. I’m a TripAdvisor nut. I research things down to minute details. I’m flexible once I get to my destination and sometimes don’t do everything planned, but I can’t bear to go anywhere without hotel reservations in advance, etc. And I always travel off-season. I like March and October, excellent months for international travel since everyone else is in school or back at work. Hope you have a delightful holiday.

    • lucasai says:

      A beach trip sounds nice too. It’s good to be organized on vacation but not over-organized. I’m sure you’d like Poland, there are many beautiful sights here.
      It’s my second vacation in September. I consider it off-season-ish because it’s not so crowded then as in July or August. Plus temperatures will be easier to handle where I go in September

  5. Undina says:

    My vacation is still ahead and I need to start planning but I keep postponing because I’ve been so busy recently.

    I hope you do everything you need to do before your trip and get to enjoy it fully. (take a lot of pictures!)

  6. Hey Lucasz,
    Have a great holiday.
    Jin LOVES to organise our holidays. Personally I am used to walking into a travel agent with dates and destinations and let them do all the work. Not our Jin, he will spend 3 weeks trolling the internet and find the best deals for everything. Then he screen captures all those great deals and takes them to our biggest travel agency in Australia, Flight Centre. They price match so he gets the best deals AND if something goes wrong he has one person to yell at, in a shop where they can fix the problem.
    It has really changed the way I travel and relieves so much money for on the ground fun.
    Portia xxx

  7. Ania says:

    I rarely go for ‘staycation’, I like to move. If I stay at one place several days I make sure there’s plenty of things to explore (in a city or countryside). Unfortunately last years I take holidays very very rarely (side effect of working in Japan).
    Enjoy your holidays! I love Italy.

Leave a Reply

