Poetic embrace, Dusita La Douceur de Siam

There are many reasons and motifs why people decide to venture into a creative field of perfumery. Some are inspired by contemporary art or by ancient history. Some find inspiration among amazing pieces of photography while others find their muse among movies. Inspiration can hide in time, in places, in pictures and in words. Pissara Umavijani has found her inspiration in her deep love towards her family, especially towards her father Montri and in his poetry. I was truly moved when 6 months ago Pissara emailed me to tell that she’s been following my blog for a long time and thanks to it & many other blogs and websites she’s been reading, she finally found a courage to chase her dream and establish own perfume brand. Parfums Dusita had its debut earlier this year with 3 fragrances and during Pitti Fragranze this September attendees could preview two new perfumes which will launch early next year. Object of this review is one of those upcoming releases.

La Douceur de Siam opens with a well-camouflaged rose de mai accord. At first undefined in a big bouquet of flowers, it peeks out only once in a while but this rose is not ready to give up and after a few minutes it becomes more prominent. Blended together with sultry, almost tropical frangipani it reveals its astonishing nature. It smells incredibly creamy and intoxicating with many rosy pink elements flickering here and there, like a top-class dessert made with lots of sweet, heavy cream and pink sugar sprinkles on top. Then champaca joins the composition and transforms the perfume.

What at first was a sweet, custardy and almost gourmand rose now becomes more beasty, wild and animalic. This rose evolves into carnal and frivolous being. Richness of this rose de mai is exceptionally impressive. It smells intense and deep & it’s not only pink or red – it’s more of a kaleidoscopic flower; each time you smell it, it leaves a slightly different impression. At some point carnation joins the flower divas of La Douceur de Siam but it’s a bit different from other carnations I know. They’re usually floral and spicy while in new Dusita perfume it smells green, with a vegetal, leafy tone – as if it didn’t bloom yet. Later a lot of ylang ylang appears glamorously, effusing its tropical, yellowish creaminess. I haven’t smelled such complex floral bouquet for long time.

dusita-douceurFloral bouquet is in the center of attention for a long time but after 2 hours it becomes softer and more blurry. At this point of development rose ascends to the top, at the same time changing the color of its petals from bright to deep-dark shades of red. It undergoes an oriental revolution when it forms a fragrant duet with cinnamon. The latter adds a tingly, sparkling spiciness that highlights depth and multi-dimensional character of La Douceur de Siam. For a brief moment I also got a feeling that I perceived as more woody, like a bark of cinnamon tree. Then a little bit of clove joins the composition and provides this lovely sweet’n’spicy sensation that in a small part reminded me of baking gingerbread. It’s pleasantly warm, sensual and inviting. Enveloping too.

This perfume also contains an ingredient I haven’t heard of before. It’s Thai chalood bark and is described as sensual, woody, vanillic spice accord from old Siam. I can’t tell you that I smell the note in new Dusita fragrance as I don’t know how it smells in its raw state but I can definitely smell elements that describe it. Without a doubt I smell something woody with a smoky vanillic undertone. During the next few hours La Douceur de Siam effuses its charming complex of rose, yellow flowers and spices. Later there comes the moment when vanilla becomes stronger but it’s accentuated in more balsamic way reminiscent of benzoin, rather than in a sweet way. Sandalwood from Mysore brings more substantivity and smoothness to the drydown of the fragrance. Alluring soul of the scent is maintained with amber note that is bright and luminous like a first ray or morning sun. Ambergris is a source of depth with a hint of mineral saltiness and little animalism that is truly appealing. On my skin they manifest themselves in a slightly leathery and powdery way.

La Douceur de Siam is a special perfume. Rich in various perfume ingredients it represents complexity and depth characteristic to old-fashioned perfumery but at the same time the fragrance has a modern character to it. Perfumer and owner of the brand, Pissara Umavijani shows us through this fragrance how talented she is. Gaining a lot of applause among perfume enthusiasts she will soon join the same top class of young generation perfumers as Cecile Zarokian and Luca Maffei. New Parfums Dusita artwork lasts beyond 14 hours mark with an intense sillage at first and more intimate one after a few hours. It’s so easy to love and even more delightful to wear.

Giveaway

If you felt curious about La Douceur de Siam you will have to be a bit patient because the perfume won’t be available for purchase until early 2017. But courtesy of Pissara we have a special treat for you today. We can give away 3 discovery sets, each consists of five 7ml travel sprays (5 x 7ml). You’ll get a chance to discover full world of Dusita. All you have to do is follow Chemist in the Bottle, like this post and leave a comment telling what part of the review was most appealing to you. Entries are accepted until 3rd of November. Winners will be announced few days later.

Tagged , , , ,

67 thoughts on “Poetic embrace, Dusita La Douceur de Siam

  1. Jillie says:

    Oh wow! This certainly appeals to me and the whole review is outstanding, Lucas.

    Being “vintage” myself (!) I grew up with outstanding perfumes that are now no longer in production because of change in tastes/spiralling costs of materials/IFRA restrictions, but which are revered by perfumistas who yearn for the richness of those creations, and who seek old bottles on online auction sites and pay exorbitant prices to recapture the divine fragrances. A creation that is inspired by those perfumes of old, that is rich and complex and contains so many of the precious ingredients that I love sounds like perfection to me.

    Carnation/spicy notes were quite often a feature of those old beauties; it is now almost impossible to find any contemporary fragrances that have even a hint of this vibe, and this is just one of the many facets of La Douceur de Siam that are calling to me …. the rose de mai, ylang ylang, smoky vanilla, Mysore sandalwood …. all gorgeous, and with the added bonus of a special Thai wood …. so alluring!

    I can’t help thinking that anyone wearing La Douceur would feel glamorous and unique.

    Pissara has a wonderful concept, and I wish her every (deserved) success in bringing old-fashioned quality to the perfume world.

  2. Ana says:

    I have smelled La Douceur de Siam and I love it, but the way you described it transports me to this magic garden, right in the heart of Siam, where the air is charged with the smell of exotic flowers.

  3. hajusuuri says:

    I have the same reaction as Jillie – oh wow! La Douceur de Siam sounds so lemming-worthy with all the twists and turns from floral to goirmand to woody and even slightly animalic although perhaps just the mineral aspects of ambergris. You’ e taken us on an olfactory ride and that is what I like best about your review and the perfume itself. Thanks for the genrous draw – maybe I’ll get lucky!

    • lucasai says:

      I’m very happy for all the lemming I can give to you because they’re a proof to me that my writing makes sense.
      I would be very curious to know what you think about La Douceur de Siam

  4. LeshKat says:

    This sounds delicious! My favorite part of the review was the description of the creamy, sweet rose/frangipani opening. I only like a few rose fragrances, mainly because most of them smell like fancy hotel soap to my nose, lol!

  5. Amy says:

    I haven’t posted here before but read religiously and we’ve chatted some on NST. The Dusita line is something special and this one sounds amazing. Thanks for the great review!

  6. rprichpot says:

    Another lovely review, and well-deserved by The amazing Pissara. I suppose my favorite part was where you rightly placed her in the company of Zarokian and Maffei. We can only look forward with joyful anticipation to what she will choose to create next. A major talent.

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you. Pissara is really talented and I think she’s at the same level as Cecile or Luca. Only difference that both of them are independent perfumers while Pissara does perfumes for her own brand.

  7. Great review, and bravo to Pissara for giving the world another gorgeous scent to love. I have an affinity with Thailand having spent much time in the north of the country, so Reading about and awaiting this release Has me quivering with joy. I’m sure I’ll love it as much or more than the first three wonderful scents! Many thanks! -Robert H.

  8. Nat says:

    Great review! I love the way how you describe the drydown, sounds really interesting. Thanks for the giveaway!

  9. Holly says:

    Ever since Parfums Dusita made its debut, I’ve been so touched by the stories I’ve read about Pissara and her father’s poetry having been an inspiration. I can sense the love that imbues her fragrances. My favorite part of your review is your writing that she reached out to you to offer her thanks, and that she was encouraged by your words to pursue her dream. To extend herself this way was a beautiful gesture, and I absolutely know what it meant to you.

    La Douceur de Siam sounds gorgeous, and this line feels very special to me as it’s a tribute to an artist given with deep love, and created by another artist who obviously knows what’s important in life – love, gratitude, generosity of spirit …. and perfume. 🙂

    • lucasai says:

      You do sound like a fan of the brand already. Perfumes inspired by family love and poems, this sounds very dreamy and yet so “in life”.
      My heart melted when she did that, it was very flattering and also encouraging to never quit following my own dream.
      I’m sure the perfume would be to your liking

  10. Parfums Dusita is one of the most exciting brand launches we have seen in a long time and Pissara is a welcomed addition to the world of perfume. I can’t wait to experience La Douceur de Siam. I am especially intrigued by the Thai chalood bark…so exotic! Thanks so much to you both for the draw!

    • lucasai says:

      I know Steven! She appeared so suddenly earlier this year and then boom, everyone is talking about her and her perfumes. Such a big success is such a short time.
      I’m intrigued by Thai chalood bark myself. Hope to get a chance to smell it for real one day.

  11. Adrian R says:

    Pissara Umavijani is so generous inwith Parfums Dusita. La Douceur de Siam sounds so lovely. Old-fashioned perfumery with a modern twist. So many precious ingredients creating such wonderful fragrances. I am so happy they are available to purchase in the United States.

    • lucasai says:

      It’s my favorite perfume I smelled during the fair in Florence, on my skin it smells as if it was taylor-made bespoke for me. Even Pissara admitted that when she smelled La Douceur de Siam on me when we talked.
      Great Dusita is distributed in the US.

  12. Fazal Cheema says:

    Le Douceur de Siam is a rich composition, thanks to ingredients such as Thai Chalook Bark and Sandalwood from Mysore. This seems like a gourmandy rosy composition with chameleon like personality that also reveals green and animalic facets.Very excited about this draw.

  13. Sarah says:

    What a delightful review, Lucas! I lived with my family in Thailand and your writing transported me back to my garden there. I cannot wait to try the perfume as it must be a perfect fit for me; your description of the smoky vanilla, Mysore sandlewood and ylang ylang makes me feel as though I were back in my beloved Thailand!

    I do not recall ever reading about the chalood bark when we lived in Thailand. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. I will have to do some research!
    Your postings are not only educational, they are very poetically written. You write with such elegance!
    Please include me in the drawing if possible.

    Khop khun kha! (Thank you, in Thai)

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you Sarah and thanks for stopping by.
      I bet that if you lived in Thailand it now feels very different and kind of nostalgic to read about a perfume like La Douceur de Siam. Must bring back lots of fond memories.

      Thanks a lot for your compliment 🙂 Maybe you’ll become a regular visitor and commenter from now on? 😉

      • Sarah Sheldon says:

        I will comment more often. I so enjoy all the information you present to us on this blog. So many people who reply write as poetically as you, Lucas. I am afraid I am not very eloquent in my writing. I suppose I am mostly right brained; math/science!

  14. Azar says:

    What a lovely review. DNEM as I already have this set. I just wanted to say how much I enjoyed your descriptions of La Douceur de Siam. It is hard to pick a favorite Dusita fragrance but perhaps La Douceur de Siam is mine.

  15. Great review. It seems like Pissara is part of this new breed of perfumers working with classicism in a really modern way, which I really enjoy. Would love to try La Douceur de Siam.

  16. mika says:

    I am very curious about the Parfums Dusita collection. Thai chalood bark sounds really interesting. Thanks for generosity!

  17. Maisie says:

    This sounds amazing! Thanks for the wonderful review.

  18. Arlene Beukes says:

    Such an interesting, informative and detailed review! The mention of Thai chalood bark really got my attention. I love learning about new perfume ingredients. I would absolutely LOVE to own this perfume and I base this decision purely on your fantastic review! Keep up the great work!

  19. Ella says:

    The more I read and hear about the different scents, the more eager I am to try Pissara Umavijani’s work! Thank you for a lovely review!

  20. HanneA says:

    Hmm… Chalood Bark. This got my attention. Almost like when a sleeping dog’s ear suddenly perks up because of a distant sound. This sounds like such a luxurious perfume! I never tire of reading reviews but there are some that “grab” you and you already begin to count out your pennies because it has been determined within that you WILL try this fragrance. I absolutely love vintage type fragrances as they see so rare to find. It is exciting to know that somewhere out there someone is working diligently and lovingly to bring forth a new chapter in the industry which reflects the beauty and depth of those long ago fragrances. Even better when the heart of the perfumer shines thru. I hope I can win a set! 😀 thanks for giving me a chance! ❤

    • lucasai says:

      Hi Hanne. Welcome onboard of the ship on which everyone is curious about Thai Chalood Bark.
      It definitely is a luxurious, glamorous perfume of a vintage like vibe. Very well done

  21. Jane EP says:

    The only thing stopping me diving in and buying a full bottle of one of these amazing sounding fragrances is the dilemma of which one to plump for. Your descriptions above only add to my quandary! I would love to try some samples. Thank you for the opportunity :).

  22. Mary says:

    I’m longing to try Pissara’s latest offerings, having fallen in love with the first ones – especially Oudh Infini- That’s why the most interesting part of the review for me describes the way in which Douceur changes from sweet dessert to wild beast! And, as a wood lover, I’m really intrigued by that Thai bark.

  23. Stephen says:

    “This perfume also contains an ingredient I haven’t heard of before. It’s Thai chalood bark and is described as sensual, woody, vanillic spice accord from old Siam.”

    This is the part that really intrigued me! Thanks for the competition!

  24. Sara Meyers says:

    This sounds beautiful! I love rose, and I see rose de Mai & ambergris here it’s made to sound so dreamy! I love a good description of rose notes, there are so many different nuances. Well done review, thank you!

  25. Leia Justelien says:

    This sounds lovely. I love to hear stories about people following their dreams. Is so inspiring 🙂

  26. Carolyn Gudgel says:

    You had me with the description of La Douceur de Siam. It sounds absolutely gorgeous! The wonderful detail and love involved in this line is swoon worthy. THANK you for the opportunity.

  27. Ellen says:

    I think it’s a job well done for a review when even in my pj’s I would run out the door to get me some of that! (If it were already available). You had me at custardy gourmand rose and the. You just kept going… can’t wait to try this!

  28. nicheloft says:

    As much as I’m not a rose person, you got me intrigued how the rose note was becoming from shy into this animalic sexy beast! I want a bottle of it! 🙂 Wonderful review and an amazing perfumer that Pissara is. I really can’t wait to try her creations.

  29. I love that these were created from the Love of her family. That she was inspired by her Fathers poetry. It sounds as if she found a way to bring her fathers written words to life via her perfumes. The combination of two different forms of art, one being inspired by the other. It will be exciting to see what the future will bring from her future inspirations.

  30. […] Source: Poetic embrace, Dusita La Douceur de Siam […]

  31. mait says:

    Lolely description! The rose+cinnamon combo sounds really interesting. Thanks for the giveaway!

  32. mercha says:

    I love rose and gourmand scents so this one sounds like a must try. Great review! Thanks

  33. […] is finally the time to announce winners of Parfums Dusita giveaway. Each participant was assigned with a number determined by the order of comments under the review […]

Leave a Reply

