Vox spiritualis, Sauf Contre Bombarde 32

They say that music soothes the savage breast & there’s something very true about it. Especially that with so many various music kinds it’s so easy to find one that will have a positive effect on your mind. I love jazz & smooth jazz, I could listen to saxophone, piano and trumpet for hours and feel relaxed. Music is also a graceful inspiration for fragrance – there are quite many bottles out there that were created with this muse. A perfume that I want to tell you about is more special. Its creator is fascinated by Gothic and loves church music. Branched from UNUM, Sauf was created.

From the very begininng Contre Bombarde 32 effuses a shape-shifting cedar note. At first cold and unfriendly it becomes warmer in no time. As soon as I smelled it for the first time I couldn’t escape the association that this perfume smells like wooden churches in Zakopane (Polish capital city of Tatra Mountains) – as soon as you enter one of them you can’t miss a specific scent of damp wooden boards soaked in the scent of incense over the years of existence of this place.

That said, cedarwood accord is quite soft in this fragrance. It even doesn’t smell like a chunk of wood but more like a still living forest. I somehow get the undertone that suggests pine cones and green needles to me. Then there is elemi resin that comes from underneath a smoky wood in a smooth, seamless manner. It smells balsamic but in a delicate way again. Perhaps it’s like that because of caramel that joins next and wraps parts of the composition altogether.

sauf-contre-bombarde

Caramel note in Contre Bombarde 32 is relatively not sweet and due to incense maintaining its high presence in the blend it almost feels as if it was more salty than sugary. Juniper berries add an aromatic touch with a glimpse of metallic vibe that is pretty enjoyable. After some time this Sauf offering develops a powdery vibe that lasts until late drydown phase. I would say that the source of this sensation lays somewhere in the structure of sandalwood which is soft and creamy.

In the end we have vanilla joining the composition and once it appears the entire perfume becomes simply divine because it smells to me like some fluffy cuddlepuff. The smell of incense, burning wood, caramel and vanilla – despite being so different separately – they smell absolutely amazing when combined. Contre Bombarde 32 is an amazing option for those who are not sure if they like incense in their fragrance or not. It’s a warm, sensual encens blend to wear on chilly days.

Sauf Contre Bombarde 32, despite being inspired by church organ music, is not that much churchy than other incense fragrances that I’m familiar way. It’s definitely different, more alternative, more off-road but oh so good! Incense fragrance that is cuddly and warm and that doesn’t make me feel like I was sitting in the cathedral is something worth noting and giving a test. It comes in extrait concentration so a little goes a long way. Its 50 ml bottle was designed to remind of pulls in a real church organ. Perfumer for this fragrance (also brand owner) is Filippo Sorcinelli.

Tagged , , ,

14 thoughts on “Vox spiritualis, Sauf Contre Bombarde 32

  1. Jillie says:

    Music can have as powerful an effect on the soul as perfume. It can make you reel with excitement, or soothe you or lift your spirit. I love Bach for the austerely elegant way it makes me realise that life truly is a circle (not to quote Elton John!), and I have long loved listening to sacred music – mediaeval and later – as it transports my soul to soaring heights and I forget about earthly troubles. So I am interested to read about the creator of Contre Bombarde and his musical inspiration.

    It would be good to match perfume to favourite pieces of music and I’d love to read your list!

    I’ve tried Avignon when listening to the monks of Prinknash Abbey singing, but Avignon is a bit too scratchy and churchy for me. CB might well be a good choice – the religious aspect of holiness is referred to with the incense, but it has the added comfort of vanilla and caramel to tell you that “all will be well”.

    Thank you for writing about this, Lucas.

  2. Holly says:

    Oh boy, this sounds really yummy! Did you also try the two other Sauf perfumes?

    • lucasai says:

      I did Holly, I did! Just haven’t smelled them again since Pitti, I remembered I liked Contre Bombarde 32. Gotta remind myself what I thought of other two

  3. hajusuuri says:

    This sounds so good, Lucas! My favorite music genre is classical music. I had been obsessed lately with a series called Mozart in the Jungle and I binged-watched the first 2 seasons as soon as I got back from vacation and through last weekend when I really should be doing other things. I slowed down because I don’t want to not have any more episodes to watch (hooray for Season 3) and because I am reading the latest Louise Penny book “A Great Reckoning”. I like jazz as well and my favorite artist is Vince Guaraldi.

  4. rickyrebarco says:

    Sounds wonderful, Lucas. I love a good incense fragrance.

  5. Undina says:

    It’s a very thoughtful and loving review: I can tell that you liked perfume and tried to show its best sides to your readers. Really well done!

    I’m a strange music fan: I have some genres of music or specific songs/compositions/etc. that I enjoy listening but I might go weeks without listening to a single song. I listen to something on long car trips. I love dancing. From time to time I visit concerts. But I do not need music as a part of the ambience.

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you, glad you enjoyed reading. My tastes are pretty simple. I like listening to pop music, so I often listen to the radio as they play last novelties etc.
      Moreover I love jazz and smooth jazz – people say those are quite mature choices for someone my age.

Leave a Reply

