Searching for roses

tumblr_static_tumblr_static_6txuh015yy04ccks4c800sssw_640

Few days ago I’ve heard on the radio that upcoming February of 2017 is claimed to be a month of roses. I don’t know if it’s a yearly thing or why did they choose February (and who made the choice?) because I’ve never heard before about months having a patronage of flowers.

Anyway, this made me think and an idea sprouted in my head. Over the entire February I could only wear rose fragrances! Thrilled by this concept I rushed to my inventory only to realize that as much as I love rose perfume I don’t own that many of them, no matter if I search among full bottles, decants or samples. Plus wearing only rose perfume I would limit myself too much & I like to write for you about different kinds of fragrances! So how about we make it a group effort?

Atelier Cologne Rose Anonyme, Histoires de Parfums Rosam, Andy Tauer PHI, Atelier des Ors Rose Omeyyade, , Van Cleef & Arpels Rose Velours, Olivier Durbano Pink Quartz,

Listed above are 6 fragrances that I own either in full bottles or decants and will be happy to wear them in February. If you have a favorite rose fragrance that’s different than my choices, would it be ok to wear it on one day? If we can cover all 28 days of the month we can plan who is going to wear their chosen rose and when. Sounds fun? Let me know if you’d like to join this project.

Tagged , , , ,

26 thoughts on “Searching for roses

  1. Bill & Bettina Douglas says:

    Some excellent choices there!

    I can suggest from my sample collection Serge Lutens La Fille de Berlin and Amouage Lyric.

    Bettina

  2. Good morning Lucas,
    I adore Hermes Rose Amazone. You can add that to your list of wearable for February Rose month!

  3. Fantastic idea, Lucas, I will be wearing a new favorite Diptyque’s 2016 Essences Rose Insensee’, it’s stunning! Also, Cabanel’s Early Roses, Acqua di Parma Rosa Nobile, Van Cleef Rose Velour, another beauty, Keiko Mecheri’s Mogador, Viktoria Minya Hedonist Rose and Guerlain’s Rose Barbare, all stunningly beautiful.

    I’ll try to keep up with everything now, end of 2016 was crazy, house guests, meeting son’s soon to be fiancee’ and her family. Too much stress for me, but we love his ‘novia’ and her family is wonderful, liked them a lot. Whew!

  4. Yukio Aime says:

    Hi,
    I love Oud Pa Loa from Diptyque and Rose Nacree du Desert from Guerlain.

  5. Bina says:

    Hi,
    I noticed that your list has mostly niche rose fragrances. But would you consider trying,
    Louis Vuitton Rose Des Vents? I simply love it!!! And also another one I discovered through your blog, April Aromatics Rosenlust. There, two more for February.

  6. Heya Lucasz,
    I have two in particular I like to wear. Mohair by NVC and Ballets Rouges by Olympic Orchids. Slot me in where you please.
    Portia xx

  7. hajusuuri says:

    You can count me in but don’t slot me in on weekends. I will wearnMohir Extrait, Jo Malone Red Roses, Perfumers Workshop Tea Rose ((maybe), Lush Rose Jam. I have some of what you have too.

  8. chocolatemarzipan8 says:

    I will add what others probably won’t mention…Pacifica’s Egyptian Bergamot Rose and Pacifica’s Persian Rose…also, Eden Botanicals Egyptian Rose Essential Oil and Eden Botanicals Moroccan Rose Essential Oil…..and YSL Paris and MFK A La Rose …..

  9. Holly says:

    Without diving into The Sample Sea, I can participate with Tauer’s Rose Flash, his Rose Delight body oil, Incense Rose, Une Rose Chypree, and Une Rose Vermeille; plus Rose Cut is also at hand.

  10. Undina says:

    Sorry, I was busy-busy-busy (I was still working until 5 minutes ago – and it’s past midnight!) so I just came to this post. I’ll be back tomorrow with the list (I’m on my work laptop now so I do not have access to my database). I think I can do 28 days (what a great idea! Thank you!) – and I will probably do it. But let me know, how many roses you “need” from me – after you sum up everybody else’s “contributions.” Love the idea!

    BTW, I think they decided to name February “a month of roses” because of the Valentine’s Day: roses are the most common flowers for this holiday.

    • lucasai says:

      I understand my dear! Get some rest now.
      Glad you like the idea but I’m kind of envious you can pull off 28 days of wearing only rose fragrances. I don’t have so many of them.

      I’ll be waiting for your list and tonight I will prepare calendar and we’ll see how many Times I will need your help 😉

      • Undina says:

        Ok, I’m back with the list 🙂

        First, no matter what, on my Birthday (Feb. 12) I’ll be wearing Ormonde Jayne Ta’if 🙂
        Next, on Valentine’s Day I’ll wear Les Parfums de Rosine Rose d’Amour.

        Other than that, my first choices to wear will be from the list:

        Amouage Lyric
        Dior Ambre Nuit
        Frederic Malle Portrait of a Lady
        Jo Malone Velvet Rose & Oud
        Juliette Has A Gun Miss Charming
        Lancome Mille et Une Roses
        Le Labo Rose 31
        Tauer Perfumes Une Rose Vermeille

        The next set:
        Atelier Cologne Rose Anonyme
        Guerlain Rose Barbare
        Guerlain Rose Nacrée du Désert
        Hermès Rose Ikebana
        Les Parfums de Rosine Rose Praline
        Neela Vermeire Creations Mohur Esprit de Parfum
        Serge Lutens La Fille de Berlin
        Sonoma Scent Studio Velvet Rose
        Tauer Perfumes PHI – une rose de Kandahar
        Tom Ford Café Rose

        I have 8 more that I’ll use to fill in my 28 days after you “slot me into” your schedule 🙂

  11. Hi, It looks like you’re filling up fast, but if you need more I’m happy to contribute I would like to talk about Annick Goutal Ce Soir Ou Jamais, DSH Perfumes Le Reine Des Fleurs and/or La Vie en Rose. Anyway, it sounds like an interesting idea. Good luck!

  12. Oh, and I forgot to add Parfums De Rosine Ballet No. 3 to the above.

  13. Colognissimo says:

    I would love to participate with what – to my nose at least – is one of the most unique and evocative roses on the market: Paestum Rose by Eau d’Italie. (Btw.: Since wearing this scent I always get the image of a rose bush in autumn with the petals already wilting or even already dried even if still on the stem, I’d actually find this a fitting scent to close off the series on the 28th – or even to use as a kind of echo of the rose cylce on march, 1st.)

    Other than with Paestum Rose, I could oblige with L’Artisan Parfumeur’s Voleur de Roses, Penhaligon’s Elixir and Hammam Bouquet and Les Parfums de Rosine’s Twill Rose as well as, possibly, Annick Goutal’s Rose Splendide, Aramis’s Calligraphy Rose, Hilde Soliani’s Vecchi Rossetti, L’Artisan’s Drôle de Rose and Rose Privée, Laboratorio Olfattivo’s Rosamunda, Francis Kurkdjian’s Lumière Noire pour Homme, Mona di Orio’s Rose Étoile d’Hollande and The Different Company’s Rose Poivrée.

Leave a Reply

