Scarlet knight, Carner Barcelona Rose & Dragon

When I was still a nerdy school kid one of my favorite subject discussed in class was a Mythology. I loved reading about mysterious beings, weird beasts and about people & their adventures. You could say it was a first “fantasy” book I’ve read before I got fascinated by Harry Potter series. Things magical, out of this world were always exciting for me. Nowadays I can be excited about new books to but for sure I’m always thrilled to find out about new perfume.

At Pitti I met with Carner Barcelona team and since we like each other they shared some news with me. It was a top-secret thing back then but it’s not anymore. They trusted me and let me smell their new Black Collection of opulent, oriental fragrances. I love it how in perfume land you can build a relationship with different brands, earn their trust, respect and sometimes get a preview of what is yet to come. Can you imagine that one of these new perfumes is inspired by a legend?

Inspired by catalan tale of Saint George who saved a princess threatened by a dragon. According to this folk story, blood of a killed monster gave birth to a rosebush blooming with dark red roses. Enter Rose & Dragon. Opening of this perfume brings a gentle pinch of saffron. At first it’s a bit shy, restrained but when it melts with the warmth of your skin it becomes lush, with warm and spicy facets mingling together. There’s also something sweet about it. It’s an aspect of wild strawberry, surprisingly not very fruity thanks to assisting note of cinnamon leaves.

rose-dragon

Later on Rose & Dragon gloriously reveals a rose accord. This composition is rich in roses, and not just one kind but two! Essence of Bulgarian rose stands behind more sheer, pink tones of rose that also carries some citrusy, green and tea-like undertones. On the other hand Turkish rose absolute gives that special oomph. It adds a layer that is rich, more dense and crimson in color. It’s the oriental rose, kind of oily and persistent. After a while this composition becomes more carnal, effusing the aroma of honey. It’s not offensive or animalic but there’s something alluring about it.

Further in the fragrance development Carner Barcelona Rose & Dragon starts to smell leathery in a very pleasant way. At this point the perfume becomes darker. Leather is rich, fragrant like leather gloves. As time goes on also incense facet is developed. It’s airy smokiness  is quite magical, ethereal & abstract. Slightly animalic effect in the perfume is obtained with castoreum and labdanum. I get a musky smell of fur when I smell my wrist. I the end there is an amber accord. It’s balsamic (maybe some benzoin too?) luminosity contrasts with darker side of earlier notes. In this balmy, ambery phase with hint of vanilla the perfume lingers for couple more hours.

I liked this new Carner Barcelona perfume when I first smelled it in September and I continue liking it today when I revisited my sample to write this review. I like the concept of a perfume, the idea and a combination of notes, especially the strawberry is the unusual element. Rose & Dragon lasts for a vast part of the day, however it is more of a quiet type. Presentation of a black bottle with golden name plate and black wooden cap looks elegant and glossy. A flacon holds 50 ml of a fragrance in eau de parfum concentration. Rose fans might enjoy this one.

 

Tagged , , ,

14 thoughts on “Scarlet knight, Carner Barcelona Rose & Dragon

  1. pjmcbride says:

    I’d been wondering about this since I saw the name. Sounds wonderful!

  2. Holly says:

    Love this post! Mythology, mysterious beasts and magical perfume! I am always captivated when perfumers have a unique story to tell, and you’ve conveyed it beautifully and captured the essence here. I’m looking forward to trying this one.

    I’m so glad the Carner Barcelona team recognized that you were worthy of their trust and respect and shared their secret with you ahead of time. Well-deserved!

    • lucasai says:

      Thanks Holly, I see you’re on the same magical boat!
      Do you have access to Carner Barcelona nearby you?

      I’m happy about it too, love learning about new perfume before everyone else does 😉

      • Holly says:

        Not in a brick-and-mortar store in my area, but I see Twisted Lily has it available to sample. 🙂

        • lucasai says:

          Perfect! Here in Poland I don’t have niche in Poznań, I have to order samples from Warsaw. Luckily I always get a lot at Esxence and Pitti plus some brands send them directly to my doorstep

  3. rickyrebarco says:

    This sounds really gorgeous, Lucas. I am a big fan of Carner Barcelona perfumes. Tardes is a favorite. I will try it for sure.

  4. hajusuuri says:

    This sounds wonderful, Lucas! I hope to try it at Twisted Lily or Osswalds!

  5. Jillie says:

    How intriguing! You’ve described this most appealingly and definitely made me want to smell it. I’m always keen on deep rose perfumes, and this has the Turkish absolute which is gorgeous. Along with all sorts of opulent elements. Yummmmmm.

    Although not really a “fruity” fan, I have been washing my hair with strawberry shampoo and conditioner recently and like to smell that note when I am swishing my hair around, so I think I would be open to it in this.

    As a child I too adored reading about myths and legends and always had my nose in a book. My favourites were stories about the Greek gods. You’re right – they were the Harry Potter stories of our day!

    • lucasai says:

      Hello dear, I see your positive attitude towards this perfume 🙂
      I know how much you love roses.
      You won’t find that strawberry in Rose & Dragon to be very strong.

      Looks like we can make a myths, legends and fantasies fun club

  6. Undina says:

    I like this brand. I like this bottle. And I like the list of notes (though, I already have a couple of rose-raspberry pairings, but why not one more? 😉 )
    Thank you for sharing your take on it – I’ll try to test it eventually, it sounds promising.

Leave a Reply

