Perfume paradise – Esxence 2017 preview

esxence-banner

History of perfumery is well documented in a present day I think. There are many proofs that blends of fragrant oils were being used in Ancient times not only by pharaohs but also by priests to perform rituals of balming and mummification. In Medieval times, even though washing your body wasn’t very common, using a perfume was widely used by the rich and people of the court. The closer to the current day we’d move on a timeline, perfume will be more and more present. But what if we take trip back to where everything has started? What if forbidden fruit picked by Eve to tease Adam not only looked delicious but also smelled incredibly good? We’ll never find out about that but it’s a nice thought and a topic for speculations. I brought this idea up because as months quickly pass, we’re inevitably getting closer to the next edition of Esxence. Between March 23rd and 26th Milan will transform into the capital of fragrance again. It will gather representatives of finest niche perfumery from all over the world. It’s a super exciting experience.

Main theme for edition 9 of the fair is In the Garden of Eden. Founders describe the idea with these words: “Joyful place par excellence, it’s the pure dimension of creativity and the expression of fantasy, able to awake our senses: only here they can perceive the most harmonious and refined fragrances.” To me Garden of Eden can be interpreted in many ways. It can either mean going back to basics, which can be expressed by introducing more simple, naturalistic approach towards perfume. It can also mean we can expect heady, exotic compositions with the richness of flowers and fruits.Or maybe some totally abstract perfume to embody the utopia Eden was? There’s only one way to find out – to go there and live the experience on your own. You’ll never forget it.

It will be my 4th (already!?) adventure with Esxence & I shall be your eyes and nose on this exhibition to make sure you’re in the know about what’s trending and what can you expect to see on the market in terms of new launches. I’m really excited to do it again! It will be so much fun! Just like in previous years Chemist in the Bottle is the official Media Partner of Esxence. Yay for me! Any chance I’ll be seeing you there? If so – do drop me a line, I want to meet!

For more information, exhibitors list or registration please visit Esxence.com

Tagged , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Perfume paradise – Esxence 2017 preview

  1. How fun!!! So jealous…I”ll be at a work offsite for 3 days while Esxence is going on. I’d rather be at Esxence. Have a great time!

  2. Holly says:

    Ooh! Looking forward to reading all about it right here!

  3. Jillie says:

    Oh my goodness – your fourth esxence! Where does time go? Looking forward to reading about your adventures as usual.

    I am not very imaginative this morning as the only smell that came into my head when thinking about the Garden of Eden is apple, and that’s not my favourite in perfume!

  4. Hi Lucas. I’ll see you there!

  5. Undina says:

    Those will be last days before a big launch at work so I predict I’ll be slaving away and getting my perfume fix from reading your reports once you’re back 🙂

  6. hajusuuri says:

    How nice! Looks like you’re getting geared up and prepared to make the most of your time there!

Leave a Reply

