An ideal birthday perfume

On February 24th I turned 27. It was Friday & I didn’t even celebrate it really. As every Friday I came back home for the weekend and together with my parents we just had a casual evening. We didn’t even have my birthday cake, perhaps because we ate one a week earlier, when my grandma was still at our home for a visit and she just wanted to celebrate before going back.

Presents? I’m not getting big birthday presents from my family for a few years now. They say I’m too old for that. Plus they always have an excuse of not knowing what they could get me. But I got a book and a jazz CD. Ever since I became passionate about fragrance I was always told that I’m never getting perfume from them on any occasion, because I know too much about them & I’m the only one who knows what perfume to choose. I understand the point. But they could always ask.

I wasn’t completely empty-handed after my birthday. Grandma gave me some cash (I bought a fantastic jumper for that money) and I also got some money from mum. But it’s my birthday! I’m getting older (well, we all are) but I wanted my birthday treat. So couple of years ago I decided that every birthday I will treat myself to a new bottle of fragrance. Because I deserve it!

arbole

Year by year it was always a tough decision. There were years when I made a mistake and after realizing I’m not wearing the perfume at all, I sold it to a new, loving home. Good that most of my choices were on point. This year’s choice was particularly hard – as I was quite fond of too many new releases to have an easy task deciding. But how does one decide such thing? Would you simply choose the most expensive one? The one that is hardest to get? Most exclusive one?

At some point I realized that things like that doesn’t matter. I just gradually started narrowing down my list until I finally got the one. The one that I love the most. The one that I know I’m going to wear and that will mean something to me. What did I fall for? Arbolé Arbolé by Hiram Green. An extraordinary all-natural fragrance that on my skin smells nothing like the notes would suggest. I might never be able to analyse it properly and understand why it smells of such lush rose on me.

The flacon has arrived 2 days ago and after unpacking it I realized that the bottle looks smaller yet much, much cuter than on official visuals from the brand. I also got a bunch of samples that I wanted to try, and it seems that among them I have found another instant love that I might be buying (this time for a split) very soon. And so the story goes, a circle of a perfumista life has no beginning and no end. It never stops as there is always another fragrant love waiting to be discovered.

Lesson to learn – don’t doubt yourself when you love something. Get it before it’s too late.

Tagged , , , ,

14 thoughts on “An ideal birthday perfume

  1. cookie queen says:

    Happy belated birthday. Gorgeous perfume. I absolutely love the drydown, can’t get enough of it. It was you who alerted me to the rose in it, which is so potent I still don’t know how I missed it! Cannot wait to wear it in the summer. Which other one do you love? It’s Dilettante that I want now ….. See you soon. Xxx

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you Val. Yes, see you in a little bit more than a week.
      To me rose was obvious but never officially listed in notes. Even Hiram didn’t confirm when I asked him in mail.

      I got a sample of VC&A Moonlight Patchouli and I’m in love

  2. Ana says:

    Yey, you got it! A beautiful self gifted present. I’m happy for you, enjoy it a lot! I’m taking advantage of any situation related to perfumes 😁. My birthday is coming soon, so… fingers crossed.

  3. Holly says:

    I had the feeling you were gonna go with Arbole Arbole! I think it’s an excellent choice, and the bottle is lovely, too.

    Your parents are dead wrong! No one is too old to have their birthday celebrated! But some people are just plain weird about certain holidays and celebrations, and so the best thing is to spend those days with those who are like-minded. Ha! You are due a birthday party with cake and candles and flowers and hats and gifts and whatever else tickles your fancy! In the meantime, you will smell fantastic, and Milan will be a wonderful venue to celebrate.

    • lucasai says:

      We celebrated a week earlier with cake and wine, because the next week my grandma was going back home after she spent 2 weeks at our place. That’s why there was no second cake 😛

      Looking forward to Milan now

  4. Jillie says:

    That’s wonderful! You will smell amazing.

    Yes, never put off till tomorrow what you can do today, that’s my motto. It’s important to enjoy what life has to offer and to grab each opportunity as it arrives. And that means don’t delay getting the perfume you fall in love with as it may not be around forever. Even if as soon as you finally have it in your grasp you start to yearn for another one – you could call that the “curse” of the perfumista!

    I don’t think anyone is too old to get a birthday present ……..

  5. hajusuuri says:

    Hooray for Arbole Arbole. Truth be told, I would rather get my own perfume anyway but like you said, they could always ask! Do tell which jazz CD you got!

    • lucasai says:

      Yay!
      Well, I think it’s still a better option compared to if your friends bought you a perfume you wouldn’t like.

      CD is Smooth Jazz Cafe vol. 15, it’s a compilation of different artists

  6. Undina says:

    I’m glad you were able to find a perfect gift for yourself. It looks beautiful. I hope it was the right choice, and you’ll keep enjoying it.
    I’m thinking about a travel bottle of this perfume.

    • lucasai says:

      I’m happy about it too. Originally i was planning to split Arbole Arbole but I decided against it, but I will we open to swapping some mL of it for a different perfume.

Leave a Reply

