Summer clarity, Brosseau Thé Poudré

Have you noticed that among perfume lovers there is quite a big group of people who are also tea lovers? For me tea has always been superior to coffee, ever since I was few-years-old I had no problem in drinking herbal teas to help me fight some illness or a stomach ache. Nowadays I’m a real tea addict, having around 50 different types and flavors. Tea can be calming, soothing, energy-boosting or refreshing. The latter one will be especially useful for upcoming summer. I’ve found a perfume that ideally suits the idea of a summer tea. Get your cups (and wrists) ready.

Thé Poudré blooms on the skin with a delightful fragrance of mimosa. At first it has a transparent, kind of watery aroma that after a few minutes begins to have more defined lines. The feeling I get as if this perfume was absorbing the power of the sunlight & assimilating it into own mimosa accord. Just after a few minutes mimosa is a bright blossom that radiates its gorgeous, tranquil scent – it’s truly realistic. The note is also defined by a hint of tart bergamot that gives it a juicy edge.

brosseau-the-poudre

On the other hand there is also heliotrope right behind mimosa. Thanks to it we get to experience a gently sweet, powdery aroma. When you pair sunny mimosa with powdery heliotrope the result is the smell that could easily imitate floral pollen. Imagine yellow pom-poms that scatter a scented powder each time you shake them. There is a bit of summer fun hidden in Brosseau Thé Poudré, you know. Energy of this perfume is truly inspiring & intriguing because on one side it’s toned down, peaceful and on the other side it boosts ones energy. It’s a very interesting facet of mimosa.

Some time later the perfume starts to have a light green hue around it. At some point a new element of the composition starts to become clearer until it becomes obvious. It’s the smell of tea. Surprisingly press release of Thé Poudré lists earl grey. Well, it does have the bergamot flavor to it but in my opinion it doesn’t have enough presence for a black tea. That’s why I’m going to say that on my skin it smells rather like a good quality green tea with a citrusy undertone. It also has a gently herbal aspect and tannins are noticeable too! Deeper into the fragrance development there is a little bit of floral spiciness from carnation. To me this part is just a small addition to the fragrance.

At some point finally comes the right time for iris to reveal its presence. Its silky petals are soft and they wave elegantly as the wind blows. In Thé Poudré iris is not very powdery. In fact its relatively transparent. There’s something aquatic and breezy about it – like a scent of summer florals carried by the wind. When it settles on skin, iris evolves into more creamy being, very comforting and charming. In the background there is hint of orris rooty earthiness as well. Drydown has a pretty sandalwood which is presented in a lightweight manner. Delicate cedar is its company – to my nose its a tad more substantive than sandalwood & it adds a small pinch of saltiness to the blend.

the-poudre-brosseau

Tonka bean introduces a bit of aromatic qualities to Thé Poudré – it’s warm and creamy, bringing to mind the smell of sun-kissed skin and some body lotion. In late drydown a cloud of white musk is being released. It smells clean and pure, like a pile of fluffy cotton pillows that you could jump on top of. It gives a cuddly softness that makes my mind go all dreamy. And in this case I dream about a hammock by the sea, good book and chillout music in the radio. A summer getaway.

Perfumer Thomas Fontaine did a great job creating Thé Poudré for Jean-Charles Brosseau. The perfume is truly summery. Complex and delicate in the richness of ingredients. To me it’s a little bit like a combination of Prada Infusion de Mimosa, Frederic Malle L’Eau d’Hiver and Heeley Iris de Nuit. It’s a great alternative to citrus scents for summer. Logevity of Thé Poudré is good and its sillage is small. It’s EdP concentrated and is available in 30, 50 and 100 ml bottles. Do give it a try!

Tagged , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Summer clarity, Brosseau Thé Poudré

  1. Jillie says:

    Hello fellow tea-lover! I’d much rather smell tea in a fragrance (and on me) than coffee. Also, I like the green/yellow scent of mimosa, so this seems really appealing to me and would add a lovely touch of breezy sunshine to a dull day. That bottle design brought back memories – I’m sure Brosseau has been using it for years …. I think I used to have a Rose perfume which looked like this.

    • lucasai says:

      Ah, there is my tea addict. I agree, smell of tea in a perfume is much better than coffee.
      Mimosa can be so sunny and warm in perfume, great for summer or for a gloomy day to cheer up.

      Yes, Brosseau is using the same bottle ever since I can remember. They only used a different, more rectangular for male line.

  2. Holly says:

    Lemming alert! Oh boy, this sounds like something that I would really, really love. I hope it makes it here!

  3. hajusuuri says:

    What are you doing to me, Lucas? Another lemming us born! BTW, have you tried Guerlain Neeoli Outrenoir? It is a fantastic tea and orange blossom scent!

    • lucasai says:

      You know I’m utterly happy that our tastes are so similar 🙂
      And no, I didn’t have a Chance to try Neroli Outrenoir. Sadly no Guerlain boutiques/counters in Poland

  4. Undina says:

    I don’t think I’ve even heard of this brand – and now I feel extremely curious about this perfume. How many mimosa perfumes does anyone need? Well… I seem not to be able to stop my search for the perfect mimosa – even though I’ve found at least several I love and enjoy wearing (just today, for example, I wore Indigo Mimosa).

    I love tea and enjoy drinking different kinds. And, as a rule, I prefer tea scent to the coffee one in my perfumes. But as a smell, I love coffee as well. And I can hardly survive a day without at least one cup of coffee.

    • lucasai says:

      Funny, as this brand is really existing for many years. But they don’t do broad advertising etc. I’ll be happy to share this one with you, sounds like something right up your alley

Leave a Reply

