Love it or hate it

There are as many tastes as there are people out there. Of course this also applies to perfume. Each of us could make a list (short or long) of fragrances they love & they can’t imagine their life without. But if someone asked you, would you be able to name a fragrance that you hate and that you never want to smell again? Did you answer yes? Brilliant, because I want to talk about them.

serge-lutens-iris-silver-mist-regular

Personally, there are a couple of perfume notes that I barely tolerate & any perfume that would contain it in higher amount would instantly cause a grin on my face and such fragrance would have to be rubbed off my skin. I react like this to myrrh, gardenia, indolic tuberose or cumin to name just a few. Generally speaking I’m a very curious person for discovering new scents but I’m always extra cautious for these few notes that I dislike. But what if your beloved perfume ingredient decided to trick you? For the last few years you had many chances to learn about my extensive love for anything with iris. I don’t know why did I pick iris nor how did it become my favorite essence but I’m always on the lookout for a new iris. With more or less luck.

Then came one day when I received a sample of Iris Silver Mist by Serge Lutens from a friend. It was famed as an ultimate iris and I really wanted to try it. To put it mildly – we didn’t become friends. An ultimate iris turned into an ultimate scrubber. As soon as I tried it I realized that on my skin it smells like a bunch of over boiled carrots thrown into a musty, underground tomb that stinks of wet soil, moist bricks and rotting roots. I just couldn’t stand it. Funny enough, my fellow iris worshippers (who read the blog) are big fans of this SL fragrance. Taste is such a personal matter.

Now you know what my nemesis fragrance is. Did you ever have a similar experience? Is there a fragrance that you hate & others love or a one that you love but others hate? Please share!

Tagged , , , , ,

17 thoughts on “Love it or hate it

  1. hajusuuri says:

    I absolutely abhor Carillon Pour Un Ange Tauer Perfumes. I know a lot of people love/like it and some wore this as their wedding perfume. My encounter with it was a sealed cardboard enclosure included in a samples order. The moment I opened the plastic, this rotting smell wafted out. I was so turned off that even whenever I encounter a tester bottle, I REFUSE to even smell it.

    More expected as a hate — ELDO Secretions Magnifique – I almost threw up and I will leave it at that. Thank God it did not hit skin because I probably would be so traumatized that I may climb up and out of the rabbit hole in 5 seconds flat!

    • lucasai says:

      I am not a fan of Carillon Pour un Ange either, it smelled weird to me.

      Secretions Magnifique is traumatizing for more perfume lovers for sure. I have to admit I didn’t even try it after learning it smells like bodily odours

  2. I am shocked that you found an iris that you didn’t like. I have problems with most SLs anyway. It’s not a house that is dear to my heart.

  3. Holly says:

    Psst … over here. I’m not a fan of ISM either, and I have the same response to it as you. I have a sample or two lurking about which I might try again some day. Maybe Halloween? 😀 It wasn’t a total scrubber for me, but not the ultimate iris I was expecting by any stretch of the imagination.

    My favorite note is orange blossom, and Serge’s Fleurs d’Oranger was a scrubber on me. Cheap powdered orange drink, taco seasoning and bug spray.

    • lucasai says:

      Do you think we have to hide behind a corner and whisper so that others don’t see us?
      Halloween seems like the only good time to wear such a fragrance.
      Ah I know what you mean about SL Fleur d’Oranger. I have a friend who sprays it with abandon every other day. He smells like indolic beef steak

  4. Holly says:

    LOL at “indolic beef steak”!

    You know, I’m usually quite outspoken but in general I’m seeing that recently people rarely voice a negative opinion about a perfume. I have no idea why things are trending in that direction but I’m trying to be open to it although I’m sure I’ll rebel at some point. Loudly. 😀

  5. Jillie says:

    I always thought I disliked iris until you introduced me to Atelier Silver Iris, and I have been quite an iris nut since then! Previously a lot of iris-centric perfumes I had tried smelled like unwashed hair or dog to me …. it just depends on the sort of iris and how it is used and in what combination.

    My husband always tells me off for saying I hate something, and that I should actually say “that’s not to my taste” (tee hee!), and I suppose that is polite and less negative. However, there are perfumes that I DO hate. I will always remember my first sniff of Dior’s Poison just after it was launched ….. oh my goodness, I felt so sick. I can only think it was the tuberose combined with plum; like you, I am not usually a tuberose fan, but weirdly find it in some fragrances I like.

    I will reject violently anything with a strong marine/ozone/calone note and anything that is overwhelmingly sweet, although again subtle use by the parfumier might mean I could overlook (oversmell??) this.

    Holly’s right, there is a trend now for everyone to tread carefully with criticism, but a truly honest, considered opinion is much valued, and we can’t all like the same thing.

  6. Jillie says:

    I always thought I disliked iris until you introduced me to Atelier Silver Iris, and I have been quite an iris nut since then! Previously a lot of iris-centric perfumes I had tried smelled like unwashed hair or dog to me …. it just depends on the sort of iris and how it is used and in what combination.

    My husband always tells me off for saying I hate something, and that I should actually say “that’s not to my taste” (tee hee!), and I suppose that is polite and less negative. However, there are perfumes that I DO hate. I will always remember my first sniff of Dior’s Poison just after it was launched ….. oh my goodness, I felt so sick. I can only think it was the tuberose combined with plum; like you, I am not usually a tuberose fan, but weirdly find it in some fragrances I like.

    I will reject violently anything with a strong marine/ozone/calone note and anything that is overwhelmingly sweet, although again subtle use by the parfumier might mean I could overlook (oversmell??) this.

    Holly’s right, there is a trend now for everyone to tread carefully with criticism, but a truly honest, considered opinion is much valued, and we can’t all like the same thing.

    • lucasai says:

      I turned you into an iris lover. Of course there are some iris fragrances that might smell worse than others, just a matter of taste, proportions etc

  7. poodle says:

    I am no fan of Iris Silver Mist. I don’t like it. It doesn’t like me. I smell the same thing you do. It turned me off iris in a big way. The name is so pretty though.

  8. Undina says:

    I don’t think I dislike ISM but the 10 ml decant that I bought 5 years ago is still half fool, which is, probably, for the best since I’ve heard that the current ISL doesn’t smell as it used to any longer. But I’ve never loved it the way many others claimed to.

    I didn’t have Tauer’s muguet but I don’t think it smells even remotely of the lily of the valley.

    I dislike cumin, tuberose, melon and peach notes – so I’m being extremely cautious about those in perfumes.

    As to the perfumes I hate… In the last 7 years that I’ve been recording my daily perfumes wearing and testing, I recorded 22 instances of hating what I smelled. I won’t name several beloved by others small brands’ perfumes, but out of those that I’m not afraid to damage by my strong feelings, were Chypre Mousse (never again, even if I’m paid!), SL Miel de Bois, Arquiste Anima Dulcis and AG Le Mimosa.

    • lucasai says:

      Oh, I see, you’re not wearing it too often. Hopefully your decant from 5 years ago hasn’t turned bad yet.

      With your perfume records it’s much easier to realize how many you hated. 22 over 7 years doesn’t sound like much 😉

      • Undina says:

        It wasn’t even 22 perfumes – those were occasions (yeah, I tried some of those that I hated more than once 😉 ). But, in general, yes, it’s not bad statistics, though it doesn’t include those perfumes that I smelled from the bottle or paper and decided not to risk it.

Leave a Reply

