American juicy, Atelier Cologne Clémentine California

Traveling is a perfect way of broadening your horizons. And I love to travel as for me it’s a great way to learn about new cultures or foreign cuisine. It’s even better if you like sightseeing just like I do. Over the last 2 summers I spent my vacations by wandering around the cities that were completely new to me. Summer in the city is a very specific way of spending your holidays. When you walk around all day long you’re bound to get tired plus if you’re going to warm places you’ll get uneven tan because of your t-shirt. There are places that are yet too far away and too pricy for me to visit, so I appreciate any perfume that could give me the idea of visiting a distant country.

clementine-california-petit

With new Atelier Cologne Clémentine California I can go on imaginary trip to the United States. For me it’s a travel all across the Pacific Ocean but on this scented journey I don’t even need a visa (yes, Poland still requires visas). First serving of the latest cologne absolue brings a big platter of citrus. It’s dominated by a whole bunch of clementines that form a lovely pyramid. They diffuse a luscious aroma that made my mouth water in a blink of an eye. Clementine has a delicate sweetness of a pulp that is entwined with tart scent of the rind. It’s very fresh and realistic.

Additionally the juicy part of Clémentine California is boosted with mandarin to ensure even bigger explosion of citrus freshness. I find this combination to be very fruity. It doesn’t smell just like clementine with mandarin. I perceive is as a big fruity mixture. And it’s so natural that it gives an impression of a freshly made fruit salad or a smoothie. My closest comparison would be a multivitamin juice. Hint of juniper berry introduces a metallic element to the blend, so that the perfume is slightly reminiscent of gin & tonic. (which served as theme for Cedrat Enivrant)

clementine-california-visuel

Heart of the composition is much warmer than its top notes but I have to admit that clementines smelled surprisingly warm in a sunny way. Moving on a green, aromatic hue starts to surround Clémentine California. Basil adds a nice summer garden vibe to the scent. Star anise and pepper add a low level of spiciness that beautifully blends with the aroma of citrus accords. The latter is actually a tad metallic too which is a nice corresponding mark to juniper that appeared a bit earlier.

clementine-california-bottle

New Atelier Cologne is a lasting composition. For the next couple of hours I could smell citrus notes, green notes and warm spicy notes. It felt as if they were enjoying a little merry-go-round as specific accords kept fading away and then re-appearing. After that time a solid, yet quiet base arrives. In it, a woody, slightly earthy vetiver is blended with dry, sort of ascetic sandalwood. A bit of cypress with its “oily” verdancy brough an interesting twist to Clémentine California drydown. I love the optimism that flows out of this juicy composition.

If you like the maison of Atelier Cologne you’ll remember that each of their creation has a short story as a company & that it’s usually a story of an encounter between a man and a woman. This time it’s not any different. In case of Clémentine California the story goes like this:

“It was the warmest summer on record and the mood was equally intense at the film studios. He had been searching for her for months, growing tired of the perfect actress-type. About to give up, the moment came when it all changed. There she was at the opposite end of the counter; the woman he had been dreaming of. Her natural beauty and distinct voice would for sure steal the scene. He now had to convince her to change the course of her life… ”

Atelier Cologne Clémentine California with its 15% oil concentration qualifies as pure perfume. And you can feel it in the lasting power. Despite the fact that its whispering quietly, it lingers on skin for a really long time. Don’t we know that citrus notes are so fleeting, so a delicate scent that lasts is actually a positive thing in this case. This cologne absolue is available in 30, 100 and 200 ml formats. Technically it was released in 2016 but it appeared in wider distribution in early 2017. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to find any info about who’s a perfumer. Will update when possible.

Tagged , ,

16 thoughts on “American juicy, Atelier Cologne Clémentine California

  1. Jillie says:

    Great to hear of a citrus with longevity!

    I would also love to visit the States one day – I like your idea of travelling virtually via scent. It makes me think of other destinations we can travel to in our minds by wearing the appropriate scent ….. to India via Samsara, Russia via Tsarina etc.

    The combination of clementine and basil reminds me of Jo Malone’s Lime, Basil & Mandarin – does this smell at all similar?

    • lucasai says:

      To India also via Neela Vermeire Creations scents. Or to Italy thanks to Memo Italian Leather.

      Lime, Basil & Mandarin would be colder and more “screechy” citrus compared to CC, which is softer

      • Jillie says:

        A good game to come up with names of countries we associate with different perfumes! Like Penhaligon’s English Fern – well, obviously this conjures up England, not just because of its title, but the smell is quintessentially English – it’s cool like the British reserve, and reminds me of shady woods with big green ferns and nearby fields with hay drying in the sun.

        LBM definitely veers synthetic to me, and I can’t imagine that of an Atelier.

  2. shelly says:

    So many citrus scents I smell seem to not last long. This one sounds like a possibility. My sister loves citrus.

  3. Holly says:

    Sounds like a must-try for the summer!

  4. Undina says:

    You’ve described Clementine California so well!
    I loved this perfume so much that… (you can keep a secret, right?) I bought a small bottle as a shared perfume gift for my vSO and me for the anniversary next month. So now I look forward to wearing it. And I’m glad that my favorite brand keeps making perfumes I like. And I adore those small bottles.

    On a separate topic, you shouldn’t be getting any tan – even or otherwise! Sunscreen, sunscreen and, once again, sunscreen. And especially if you’d ever travel to California 🙂

    • lucasai says:

      Glad you liked my review and of course, your secret is safe. I’m also very happy that Atelier Cologne is still doing perfumes we like. I was so worried when they were bought by L’Oreal. Turns out it’s still ok.

  5. I am going to have to give this one a try again.The first time I tried it , it did not resonate for me the way so many of the other Atelier Colognes have. Maybe I need to try it again in hot weather.

  6. hajusuuri says:

    California Clementine sounds wonderful! Would you believe I have not smelled this yet?!? Sounds like a focused trip to Sephora is in order. That said. If someone already has Orange Sanguine and PdE Azemour, would one still need this?

    • lucasai says:

      I think Clementine California is a bit different than these two, I also have Azemour in my collection and to me it is a different perfume.
      Hope you’ll like this Atelier Cologne too 🙂

Leave a Reply

