Keeping it cool

Here in Poland the weather for the last couple of weeks had a lot to do with mood swings. One day it could be 26°C and the next one it could drop to just 18°C. I really don’t mind this kind of weather. Hot days exhaust me easily so I really don’t mind a cooler day intermission. As far as I can see from your comments or emails many of you suffer from heatwaves, so I thought I will share with you a simple recipe for a drink that should refresh you instantly.

tea

Saying that you should fight fire with fire didn’t come out of nowhere. This rule also applies to this drink because you’re meant to drink it hot. Ingredients you’ll need include a little cinnamon stick, a slice of lemon and a bunch of fresh mint leaves. All you have to do is to put them all together in your favorite mug (or a pot, if you want to make more) and then pour hot water over them. Let it sit for a few minutes. Voila! Enjoy.

My mom prepared me a drink like that last Saturday and it turns out that its pretty similar to a local specialty they tried during their trip to Israel last month. The only thing that my mom skipped was honey which in original recipe was being added at the very end. But of course you could add it as well. I liked it without as I think the addition of honey flavour would be too much. In my opinion freshness of mint, juiciness of lemon and gently tingling spiciess of cinnamon are really well-balanced here. I hope this little tip will help you to cope with high temperatures. If you have other tips like this, do tell! May temperatures be ever in your favor!

Tagged , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Keeping it cool

  1. Jillie says:

    Very timely, thank you, as we are experiencing a heatwave here – ugh! You’re right, spices do help when you’re feeling hot (although not in fragrance, I find). Maybe they’re acting like homeopathy! An Indian curry or a Mexican chilli often seem appealing in hot weather; perhaps they work like hot tea by promoting sweating, which then cools the body (again ugh, but it does work).

    That mint looks so refreshing, and minty perfumes are lovely in the heat; Guerlain’s Herba Fresca springs to mind.

    I am now going to make your tea. Temperature today is 32. Cheers!

    • lucasai says:

      One thing why spicy food helps to survive the heat is that for example chilli also raises your body temperature, which also helps to feel as if it was cooler out there. I love drinking a brew made of fresh mint leaves, much different than dry leaves, not to mention tea im a bag.

      Me and my mom prefer Mandarin Basilic among Aqua Allegoria line.

      Enjoy the tea!

  2. shelly says:

    Heat wave for us hear near San Francisco. I like the mint idea but am adding it to ice water. I miss having my tea breaks but hot water is definitely out for about the next week.

  3. Holly says:

    Our average temperatures in DC for this time of year range from 29 to 35 and the humidity is high as we’re in between water and mountains so the moisture in the air lingers. I’m okay with drinking hot drinks like mint tea or chai when there’s a bit of a breeze to help evaporate the ensuing sweat, but otherwise I just feel gross. At times like that, I add powdered chai spices, ginger juice and extra cardamom to iced black tea, ginger ale or lime seltzer. For some reason, I associate cardamom with being cool and dry.

    • lucasai says:

      Shrugs, I would have hard time staying at DC for a while at this time of year, way too hot for me.
      I have never had ginger ale or line seltzer, are they more of American thing? Here in Poland we have apple cider as a refreshing drink (with a little bit of alcohol)

      Did you know that cardamom is considered as one of “cold spices”, although as far as I managed to learn it has nothing to do with temperature but with illness. Cardamom was used to cure cold.

      • Holly says:

        Yep, and cardamom also decreases blood pressure which could be helpful when your blood is boiling for one reason or another. 🙂

        The thing about heat waves in the US is that most homes have central air conditioning. Unless you’re commuting without the use of a car, people will go from one air-conditioned space to the next and not have to deal with the heat much. In older urban areas like NYC, there is no central air and people make do with window units in their homes. I personally don’t like air conditioning and try to do with it because once I adapt to using it, the outdoors feels unbearable. I like having the windows open and hearing the birds and the rustling of the trees, and when I go outside it’s not a shock.

  4. hajusuuri says:

    Put me in the camp of air conditioned space and the I won’t care if my drink is hot, cold or even room temperature! The only way I would would be out in the heat is if I am on vacation away from home, in which case the heat is just part of the ambiance. I have to het some fresh mint leaves to try out your recipe.

    • lucasai says:

      I understand, air comditioning must be very handy there.
      Loved the comment that you only accept heat when you’re on vacation.

      Let me know if you liked this tea

  5. Undina says:

    I drink tea even when it’s hot: not because it makes me cool down but just because I like tea.
    For weather – I equally dislike when it’s too cold and too hot. My ideal temperature is about 22-24C :), which in the last week I could get only at night or in the A/C’d office.

Leave a Reply

