Soundtrack of a perfume

No matter how you look at it I think we can say that in everyday life we are surrounded by art in some form. Be it architecture, painting or something more compact, like literature, film or music. Great thing about all these different aspects of art is that they don’t have any stiff boundaries. They are fluid and can easily entwine with each other. For example a book can inspire a painter, a musician can be inspired by a painting and so on. If perfume is an art, it can also serve as inspiration. For example I have a friend who creates beautiful paintings based on her perfume encounters, she calls them duftarts (german duft means perfume).

istock_000036450854_happy20music

It’s a really original thing to depict own interpretation of a fragrance on canvas, using brush and paint. Just like perfume & painting seem like a great match, perfume & music doesn’t seem so obvious and easy to connect. Yet sometimes when I write a perfume review there is a moment when specific music starts to play in my head. It feels as if some note or accord was able to press play and turn on a specific tune. I’m not a musician, so perfume don’t trigger completely new melodies in my head. Music that sometimes starts playing in my head is a song I already know.

In some of my articles I mentioned experiencing a music association with a perfume. For example Puredistance Sheiduna had a hidden sound of Sting – Shape of my Heart or Van Cleef & Arpels Moonlight Patchouli had a vibe of La La Land to me. It’s hard to describe but I think it’s a specific mood created by an olfactory impression that allows to associate it with specific melody. Did you ever experience similar situation, when smelling a perfume gave you the idea of a song? Or maybe you like to listening to some music while wearing a perfume? Please share in the comments below.

Tagged , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Soundtrack of a perfume

  1. renatagorreri says:

    Yes, it happens to me too!

  2. Jillie says:

    I quite often get “ear worms” when reading perfume blogs! Only the other day a gorgeous piece of writing by Kafkaesque started some Debussy in my head and it would not leave me all day! And now you have got the theme from La La Land going round and round my brain ……

    However, perfume itself doesn’t inspire musical thoughts in me; it’s more of a mood enhancer. Sometimes a certain scent will cause an explosion of memory and I will almost feel I am experiencing a scene from my past as if it were happening now; this means I can revisit it whenever I like by using that scent, and the sensation is never diminished. I will wear a fragrance that I feel is suitable for an occasion because the thought of that particular smell conjures up the whole ambience, setting etc (for example Cristalle makes me think of garden parties in the summer sun, so I would wear it for that sort of event). But sadly there is silence for me when I sniff a perfume.

    • lucasai says:

      Oh I see. Nice that some perfume pieces can trigger such an “ear worm” as you named it.

      I understand your point that there is a link between a perfume and a scenery/occasion/emotions that you associate with it while the perfume itself is an “empty” vessel. But hey, you filled that vessel with your own intepretation of when and where to wear it.

  3. Yes absolutely! I’ve created a whole line inspired by the idea!

  4. Undina says:

    Music doesn’t play too important role in my day-to-day life, I might go for weeks without listening to any music, so the only times I get any perfume-music associations happens when either perfume’s name or some other perfume-related circumstances are connected in my mind to a song or music – but I cannot immediately come with an example now.

Leave a Reply

