Berlin stroll, April Aromatics Unter den Linden

Last couple of years show that people get more conscious about origins of their favorite products. They started to care about what is their bread made of, if eggs they eat come from hens that can run around or if other things they eat contain any chemical substances. The trend for healthy and natural products also touches a branch of personal care market these days. Many of us are looking for natural skin care, for simple yet effective formulas. Even perfume making can be done organic way now & we have some great natural perfumers out there. Tanja Bochnig is one of them.

I got to know about April Aromatics probably few years ago and the first fragrance I tried was Unter den Linden. I have no good excuse as to why I didn’t write about it earlier, so I’m going to remedy that today. The composition starts with sour, almost acidic bergamot. There’s something screenchy about it for the initial moment, afterwards it becomes milder, zesty, with a gentle hint of albedo (white soft part under citrus peel). From that point the perfume smoothly transforms into linden blossom aroma. Charged with the power of the Sun, Unter den Linden presents its floral bouquet. The smell of citric flowers is so vibrant and rich, with a lot of warmth to it.

unter-den-linden

Some time later the sweet floral aroma of linden is entwined with another interesting facet. Once honey note joins the composition it feels as if all these flowers were immersed in a gold liquid. Honey adds a tender sweetness to Unter den Linded but it’s not just the sweetness. I find something quite balsamic, resinous about the honey accord and I just cannot escape the impression of an animalic hint coming from it. Once it fades away, the perfume becomes more powdery – there’s a little bit of mimosa in it, that is combined with frangipani that gives a little more creamy effect. Gardenia and magnolia add a final floral touch. Also a little bit of citrus is still mingling in the background but lets not forget that it’s linden that is still in the center of attention.

To me April Aromatics Unter den Linden is a perfume of a dreamy summer. It’s something you’d want to wear on a mild day, when you can lay in a hammock and enjoy some book-reading. It’s a dose of sun just for you, as well as a daily portion of positive energy. I perceive this fragrance as laid back, it’s also quite easy to wear if you ask me. It’s sillage has moderate power and longevity of this natural fragrance oscillates around 6 hours on my skin. Unter den Linden is made in eau de parfum concentration. It’s available in 30 ml bottles as well as in 15 ml travel spray.

Tagged , ,

12 thoughts on “Berlin stroll, April Aromatics Unter den Linden

  1. I tried Unter den Linden not too long ago and was expecting to love it . Sadly it did not work for me. That “animalic hint” was far stronger than a “hint” on my skin!

  2. Jillie says:

    As a child I loved walking along an avenue of lime (the English name for linden, nothing to do with citrus!) trees near my home when they were in flower. The air was heady with their perfume and I proceeded very slowly towards the library, which was at the end of the road. Lovely memory.

    I wonder if the animalic vibe might be a bit too much for me, as Chocolatemarzipan8 found … or if the honey would get on my nerves? But if this brought back that avenue to my mind, it might be worth it!

    • lucasai says:

      That sounds like a lovely memory. The only time I smelled linden blossom was when I was with my parents in Berlin one May.

      You never know until you try 😉

  3. shelly says:

    I just went walking on Stanford University campus this weekend and we found a small grove of Linden trees. They smelled amazing. You could smell them from a distance. Lovely.

  4. Undina says:

    I love both linden and this perfume. I mentioned it briefly in one of my Single Note Exploration posts a couple of years ago but was planning to write more about it.
    On my skin it works great. Though I must say that I do not care much for all those things, from which you’ve started your post. Taste and quality interests me – but not much more.

    • lucasai says:

      I remember you saying in one of your posts (or comments) that you wanted to buy Unter den Linden. I think it was after you’ve learned that 15 ml is now available too.

      Good the perfume works for you and I don’t mind if all the stuff around it doesn’t matter to you. If I like the perfume, I’ll wear it. The rest is less important

Leave a Reply

