Field notes from holidays, Prada Infusion de Fleur d’Oranger

Summer is a tricky part of the year for me. I can love it or hate it depending on how bearable the temperatures are. I like mild summer, with temperatures around 22ºC because I feel comfortable then & can wear airy t-shirts, shorts or linen pants. Of course I also have a little arsenal of fragrances that help to keep me cool. I love my citrus fragrances. I also love Prada, as a self-proclaimed Pradaholic it will always have a special place in my heart. Plus in fact I find most of their creation to go along with my taste, it’s a double win. If Prada goes citrus, count me in.

infusion-oranger-2009

Prada Infusion de Fleur d’Oranger opens with a bright orange blossom aroma. It’s a sparkling sensation that I like to compare to bubbles in a glass of sparkling water. Every waft of it feels like a little bubble that then bursts, releasing a tiny cloud of fragrance. Few minutes later the floral opening becomes more aromatic, more juicy thanks to a note of mandarin orange. It introduces a fruity vibe that is very pretty and delicate like a summery dress. Mandarin also adds a tiny bit of zestiness blended with citrus pulp sweetness. It gives me relaxing, chillout vibe. The feeling is fresh and invigorating like a quick summer rain.

Composition develops further in white flowers direction. There’s a handful of jasmine in Infusion de Fleur d’Oranger but it feels light and airy. Tuberose is there too but just like jasmine, it’s lightweight and transparent. However there’s a twist to these as many people detect some animalic dirtiness in this fragrance. I feel it too & to me it’s faint but stands out in the context of a whole perfume. Perhaps it’s some indole from jasmine? Once it fades away, drydown reveals a sweet & soapy scent of neroli. It’s clean and fresh like a white bed linen in a summer resort hotel. That Ephemeral Infusion launched in 2009 as a limited edition (it’s still easy to find online).

infusion-oranger-2015

Two years ago (2015) perfume division of Prada decided to revive Infusion de Fleur d’Oranger by launching Les Infusions de Prada collection, which is now further expanded. The perfume opens with almost identical orange blossom note as its predecessor but on my skin it has more citric qualities. The effect of mandarin is more intensive so that the perfume feels more vibrant and zesty. It’s still a bubbly, sparkling sensation full of happiness but now this glass of water has a few extra orange slices inside. Fruitiness of mandarin orange blends well with orange blossom to provide a cotton soft veil of scent.

Further into fragrance development jasmine appears just like in earlier version of Infusion de Fleur d’Oranger. It’s the same kind of ethereal, airy jasmine with a delicate warmth that gives it a charming sunny vibe. In this version in practise I didn’t smell the animalic aspect of indole that was mentioned above. Instead when tuberose joins the composition I detect a creamy vibe from this Prada that smells gently of coconut and suntan lotion. When neroli finally appears I smell familiar soapy vibe that I so like in Prada fragrances. In 2015 however it feels as if it was slightly more powdery and musky, but this could be as well just my imagination.

Both 2009 and 2015 Infusions have the same ingredients listed – Tunisian neroli, Moroccan orange blossom, Tunisian orange blossom, Indian tuberose, Indian sambac jasmine. To me the differences between these two Infusions de Fleur d’Oranger as so minor that you could say that it’s actually the same perfume instead of a completely new one. Both were developed by perfumer Daniela Andrier from Givaudan. Also both of them are incredibly light and deserve a title of a fleeting beauty as they’re completely gone in 1-2 hours. Well, it’s a summer fragrance alright so you might want to re-apply during the day, it’s alright. Probably only things that makes a difference between them is the packaging. The newer version has simplified and more clean-looking packaging & the glass of its bottle has a gentle orange hue. Do you think you could become friends with this perfume?

Tagged , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Field notes from holidays, Prada Infusion de Fleur d’Oranger

  1. tfk31 says:

    Thank you for comparing the 2 versions. I have a bottle of the 2015, and on me, it is a filthy orange blossom that lasts for hours.

    • lucasai says:

      Oh, so you get the dirtiness in 2015 version as well? I smell it mostly in 2009 edition.

      And lucky you it lasts hours on my skin. Maybe I should spray it with more abandon? 😉

  2. Holly says:

    I’ve only tried a dabber of the 2009 version, and I found that one dirty but also a bit synthetic smelling on my skin. I think you’ve mentioned Prada’s Nue au Soleil as your sotd elsewhere – how do you like that one?

  3. I was fortunate enough to inherit a dabber of the 2009 version and I rather liked it..but with my scent eating skin it was gone in a flash!

  4. Undina says:

    I tried it when it came out first, and this flanker of my beloved perfume didn’t work for me so I didn’t pay attention to the re-issue. But I will try it again if I see it at a store – just out of curiosity.

    • lucasai says:

      As you can see the difference is not drastic.

      I’m surprised you refer to it as a flanker.

      To me Infusion de Fleur d’Oranger has nothing to do with Infusion d’Iris, so I think of it as of different fragrance

      • Undina says:

        It’s interesting: I always thought of all these “infusions” as of flankers to the main one. If you think about it – why not? Many other flankers doesn’t smell even remotely like their “originals”; bottles and names are similar, and all the other “infusions” were temporary additions to the line-up.

        • lucasai says:

          That’s true but new infusions are not about iris. To me only flankers are edt version, absolue, l’Eau d’Iris and Iris Cedre. Oeillet or Mimosa are new stories although made with Infusion d’Iris delicacy in mind

  5. Jillie says:

    It’s interesting to see your thoughts on this – I guess at least Prada is being honest about a reformulation and calling it a re-issue and giving it new clothes! Orange blossom is another love/hate for me – it’s that “dirty” element that I don’t care for as it smells too much like wee to my nose.

    Getting very hot here again, so I will be wearing some soapy clean frags – think today it will be PdN’s Eau d’Ete – lime, jasmine and a sprinkle of cinnamon which makes it more than the usual cologne. I used to love the soap – now that really was a soapy soap smell!

    • lucasai says:

      The 2015 edition is in a completely new collection that also features reissued Infusion de Vetiver and Infusion d’Iris Cedre which is sort of a flanker to first Infusion d’Iris.

      Cinnamon in Cologne sounds unusual. I have a sample from you. Will revisit

Leave a Reply

