Picture perfect

Many people think that having a blog is an easy thing to do. “You just have to write something and reply to the comments” they say. In my opinion it’s much more than that. No matter if a blog is about fashion, perfume or about one’s passion for travelling it’s not “just writing”. Personally I wouldn’t publish a blog post that I wouldn’t be satisfied with. I’m a perfectionist. Maybe not as extreme as others are but after I spend 2-3, sometimes even 4 or more hours on creating a perfume review I revisit the post numerous times making little adjustments that in my opinion make it look better.

You might have noticed that I do my best so that each chapter of a perfume review I write has the same number of lines, with a little tolerance of +1/-1. Or that last line of each paragraph is filled with enough text to make it almost full, with that last dot being as close to the right edge of a writing space as possible. Of course to me the most important thing is a message carried by a review, my impressions and feelings that were evoked by a perfume. However that doesn’t change the fact that I want my articles to be visually pleasing to anyone interested, especially to my faithful readers.

Essential part of any blog or website is a graphic entourage. In a world where most of us are visual people, it is better to not only talk about something but also to show how it looks like. If you read Chemist in the Bottle there’s a high chance that you read other perfume blogs and websites as well. Have you noticed how many of them use their own photos? They have a good skill, always creating a specific mood on their photographs. I usually use pictures provided by press release or I create a collage with what I can find on Google. I don’t have agreements with any brands to provide me with bottles (even if they were factice) of their newest releases so that I could make a photo shoot.

But I don’t feel worse because of that. Over the years taking photos has become my hobby as well. Perfume photos, nature & landscape are my favorite types. I photograph what I have available – bottles in my collection, decants or even samples. I create a scenery for them with things that I have at home. I never bought any trinket for the sake of a good photo. In fact I am proud of what I share on my Instagram. Even if they are not professional, taken only with a smartphone I think of them as pretty. Sometimes I even think that some of them could be considered official visuals for a brand. I’m always delighted if someone from a brand says I took a great photo. I feel like a winner then.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

20 thoughts on “Picture perfect

  1. M3000 says:

    I can relate. I have a lot of ideas for reviews – written or video – but quite often I don’t publish because completing them to a satisfying quality fall prey to that 80/20 rule.

  2. Jillie says:

    I would never underestimate the amount of effort you put into writing and corresponding with commenters. Making a review interesting and informative is actually not easy, as the words should flow and be understood – and you’re not even writing in your first language. Then there are the personal elements, the flights of imagination, the story telling, the fact-checking …. photos and pictures make appealing extras but require thought too. It doesn’t surprise me that each post takes a long time to put together.

    I like the fact that all my favourite bloggers have their own distinct style and the personality of each writer shines through, thus making a review of the same perfume by different people a very interesting exercise!

    Each post is a mini masterpiece, a tiny work of art, and we readers should feel grateful that there are bloggers like you bringing them to us.

    • lucasai says:

      Good morning on Saturday, Jillie.

      I think that most people who read different blogs are aware that it takes time and energy to make a good post. Sometimes it’s even so extensive that blogging could become a profitable job if someone is having ads and other payable features on their website.

      Glad to hear that everyone can add something from themselves in this blogger world of perfume. Not to mention that everyone has a different opinion on same fragrance.

      I like the idea that you think that even a blog post can be a work of art.

  3. I really enjoy your voice and the visuals that are part of your fragrance reviews. As a “recovering” perfectionist I completely understand the work and energy that must go into writing each post. Thank you for all that you do and adding a bit of pleasure to my day 🙂

  4. rprichpot says:

    I appreciate all of the hard work you put into creating Chemist In a Bottle. It is always a joy to read and to look at. Your perfectionism, vision, and spirit are evident in every line and photo. Thank you for sharing your passion with us.❤️

  5. Shiva-Woman says:

    People like you are artistic and creative. I appreciate what you do! I also save these posts to go back as a refetence or to order a decant to try for myself as I’m intrigued. Thank you.

  6. Holly says:

    Your passion is always evident in your posts, and I am so grateful that you share it here.

    While I always appreciate the photos you include, it had never occurred to me that you have also structured the text to be visually appealing and symmetrical – that’s incredible! I agree with Jillie – to me your presentation is art in the same way that architecture or music can be. Your attention to detail is so precise that it creates a seamless flow that allows your readers to be absorbed in the total experience and not tripping over superfluous details that feel out of place. Thank you for taking the time to be both passionate and creative with your words while also creating visual content that enhances what you’re expressing and what your readers experience.

    • lucasai says:

      Hi Holly and thank you.
      Nobody really pays attention to even number of lines of each paragraph. Those are just small details. Plus for people who come here it’s text itself that is most important, not how it looks like.

      I’m happy to have a great audience for my writing

  7. hajusuuri says:

    Hello sweetie, your passion shines through every singke one of your posts. I greatly admire yours and the other bloggers with full-time jobs who can keep a reader coming back fior more without any gimmicks – what you see is what yoy get without any air of pretense.

    If I were to blindly read reviews (i.e. reviews for which author attribution was not provided, I can peobably recognize the style, tone and voice of most of the bloggers whose reviews I usually read, yours included.

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you sweetie, so nice of you to say. I admit it’s hard to maintain a full-time job and blog together. That’s why I’ve never been able to post daily. Because I was busy with studies first and then I started working.

      That could be quite interesting – guess who wrote this game

  8. Lucas, I stand in awe of your blog writing skills! I am more “left brained”, not the creative type, so I envy those of you who can express themselves so beautifully. I am additionally astonished at,your command of the English language, as I know it is not your mother tongue.
    I always look forward to your writings in my email inbox!

  9. Undina says:

    What? 2-3, sometimes 4… hours? Wow… I’m impressed. This is how long it usually takes me to make a post announcing a winner in rare draws that sometimes I hold on my blog 😉

    If you think I’m joking – I’m not: I’m impressed by your ability to do it that quickly (and as nicely as you do) since I know firsthand how much work goes into each post.

    I hope you’ll keep striving for perfection when you have your own perfume brand 🙂

    • lucasai says:

      The writing itself takes 2-4 hours but earlier I wear the perfume for a few times, take notes in my mind how it changes over time. If I were to add that time to review-making then it would be few days total.

      I’ll definitely want to deliver best possible product

Leave a Reply

