Harmony of iris, Maison Francis Kurkdjian Amyris Femme & Homme

This year Francis Kurkdjian launches two new perfume, a duet of Amyris Homme and Amyris Femme under his own Maison Francis Kurkdjian label. Both fragrances are crafted around the precious Florence iris, Iris Pallida, one of the most expensive ingredients in moder perfumery and amyris wood. Master Kurkdjian wanted to create a duet that evolves somewhere between the wealth of the Sun and vibes of the Earth, and he did as he said. Amyris duet had it’s premiere in Poland last week and should be available for purchase soon. Thanks to the local niche perfumery, Quality Missala, I was one of the first in Poland who had the chance to try them. Now I’m happy to be first, or one of the first who brings you a review of Maison Francis Kurkdjian Amyris Femme and Homme.

First thing that comes to my mind after spraying a little bit of Amyris Homme on my wrist is that it smells very harmonious and peacefully. It opens with a light sweetness from tonka bean and woodyness from amyris wood. Iris in Amyris Homme is treated like a king who sits on a golden throne. It’s very majestic, elegant and refined. This iris along with tonka and amyris are the royal family here. They work together so perfect that it took less than a second for me to fall in love. It’s been a long time since I smelled and iris perfume which was this good. It doesn’t project like crazy, but it wasn’t meant to. It should stay close to the skin and please it’s wearer. Other notes, such as rosemary, coffee, chocolate add a delicate hint of spicyness and richness. At some point I got a tingle of coconut. Oud in Amyris Homme’s base creates more density and character. There’s something in Amyris Homme like masculine element, something that makes it definitely more suitable for a gentlemen than for a lady.

Maison Francis Kurkdjian Amyris Femme is a different perfume than her brother. It’s less predictable, less peacefull but still very harmonious on the whole. While Amyris Homme sits on his throne, Amyris Femme feverishly searches for her diamond ring. No doubt that more happens here, in Amyris Femme. This perfume opens with generous, well measured dose of lemon leaves. The opening is prominent, lively and crisp, with just a smallest hint of green notes. When iris enters the throne room it becomes mighty, like a beautiful queen in a red cape and with all her precious treasures. In Amyris Femme iris is perfectly made. It’s delicately floral, nice and powdery. There’s some creamy vibe to it, it reminded me more of ylang-yland than vanilla. Amyris wood and oud provide sensual and denser experience. Amyris Femme by Maison Francis Kurkdjian although loud and powerful in the beginning, evolves into a skinscent to please her mistress.

Both Amyris Homme and Amyris Femme are made with care to the smallest detail. Master Kurkdjian used only selected ingredients of best quality to create these fragrances. When you smell them you feel that ingredients really come from the top shelf and perfume smell extremely expensive, like they were made for kings and for queens. Wearing one of Amyris will take you to aristocratic salons and it will allow you to feel like a shining star! Both perfume effuse a warm aura, somehow a mystery one. Longevity of both is outstanding, allowing to experience many hours of pleasure. I’ve also found that Amyris stands for ame – which is a French word for soul + iris; ame + iris gives Amyris. This name is very accurate as Amyris create harmony of souls.

Amyris Homme and Amyris Femme by Maison Francis Kurkdjian will be available in the size of 75 ml. Bottles of both match the visual aesthetics of entire Maison Francis Kurkdjian line. Cap of Amyris Homme remained silver while the cap of Amyris Femme is coloured golden for a change. I”m not sure about their concentration yet but they’re probably eau de parfums.I will update this information when I can. Adding my word about this duet from Francis Kurkdjian – as an iris lover and absolutely in love with both of them, both made an amazing impression on my nose and Femme version seemed to be more interesting for me. Looks like I’ve got myself new perfume on my to-buy list…

Tagged ,

18 thoughts on “Harmony of iris, Maison Francis Kurkdjian Amyris Femme & Homme

  1. Thanks for the review!

    I’m looking forward to trying these, and the rest of the MFK line too. I have really only spent time with OUD, which I love, so my interest is certainly piqued. These two in particular sound very lovely. I adore iris!

    • lucasai says:

      I’m an iris lover too! I hope they’ll be available in the rest of Europe, UK and US soon so that you can try them. And to be honest it’s the first time I tried MFK, so now I want to try more.

  2. Undina says:

    You make both of these sound very interesting. As an iris lover I look forward to trying these perfumes (though MFK isn’t “my” perfumer so far).

    • lucasai says:

      They’re interesting and lovely smelling indeed! Hope you’ll be able to put your hands on them soon.

      Sorry that MFK didn’t work for you. Can say that about me because it was the first MFK I tried in my life.

  3. Very nice review. Am a bit weary though since Iris notes don’t typically work for me. Absolue Pour le Soir is one of my favorite fragrances though, but the other MFKs are rather meh.

  4. poodle says:

    Haven’t tried anything in this line. I like some iris scents. Often they tend to fade really fast on me so I haven’t really bothered with them. I do love them in the garden though and mine were just beautiful this year.

    • lucasai says:

      For me it was the 1st MFK to try. You’re right, iris perfume are usually light, but this one lingers for a long time, maybe thanks to oud and other resins.
      I’m sure irises in your garden were magnificent.

  5. Amy (PerfumedLady) says:

    Oh, for goodness’ sake, I already want to love the Femme. First thing I saw glancing at the names of these perfumes was my name combined with the word “iris”, lol! Sounds like my kind of iris, too; can’t wait to try it! Great review!

  6. hajusuuri says:

    Thanks for the review! These look like a MUST TRY for me — I LOVE Iris. It will be my first foray into the MFK line. If I get addicted, I know who to blame 🙂

    • lucasai says:

      Thanks for reading and commenting! That’s a definite must try for iris lovers. And hey, we ride in the same trolley, Amyris was also my first try from MFK line.
      OK, I’ll take that eventual responsibility.

  7. smellythoughts says:

    I haven’t been bowled over by any of MFK’s work, but I will give these a shot – anything iris prominant sounds like a must try… “harmonious” “peaceful” and “light” are three words in short succession that is enough to put me off though 😦

  8. […] amyris, coconut, coffee, iris, milk chocolate, tonka bean and agarwood. Reviews: Cafleurebon and Chemist in the Bottle 6.   Significant other (Female): Flor Y Canto by Arquiste A bewitching white floral, Flor Y […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.