Signature Fragrances Lurre & Deja Vu

Signature Fragrances is the new perfume brand located in Great Britain. The aim of this new line is not to create a traditional perfumes per-se but to go back to even older roots of perfumery – they make fragrance oils. If you wanted to know any more details I’m sorry but I can’t give you more as there are none. The website of the brand is not ready yet, all you can see there is “luxury fragrance oils coming soon” and a beautiful picture of some perfume bottle that looks like Dior J’Adore.

According to what you can see on Signature Fragrances London Instagram profile, at least 6 different perfume oils are being produced. Thanks to the kindness of the brand I received two fragrance oils samples and I’m going to tell you about them right now. Please note that the brand doesn’t give any notes for their compositions, so what I smell might be more or less accurate and true to what essences were actually used in composing them. Each sample has a short overview.

INCREDIBLY POPULAR

golden, fruity, subtle, modern, unforgettable

Among these two perfume oils that I’m reviewing, Lurre is definitely a lighter one. As soon as I use a little smear agains my wrist I start to smell the prominent and juicy aroma of apple. It’s very true, very realistic to the fragrance that ripe apples have. There is something suggestive in this scent that immediately makes me think of green apples, Golden Delicious or Granny Smith variety. This scents makes a slow progress which allows you to discover the notes gradually.

After 30 or so minutes I begin to smell some spring fruits and strawberry is what comes to my mind as the first association. It has a juicy, tangy flavor with a gentle balance between sweet and sour. Later on I think I smell some raisins that add a very relaxed, Mediterranean vibe to this composition from Signature Fragrances. I think there is also a little bit of apricot or pear in this oil blend, although I’m not sure. As I said, these are just my own impressions. Your feelings might differ.

For a long time Lurre doesn’t change much and it oscillates between the fruity tones of apples, strawberries and dried grapes. When I asked my Mum what does Lurre smell of to her first reaction was “it smells like just opened bottle of white wine”. There is something accurate about that, however in the drydown I think that I smell some cognac (maybe there is wine in the opening and cognac later?) What I am sure of is that I smell some caramel in the background.

 OVERBEARING DESIRE

delicious, wild, fruity, spicy, warm

Signature Fragrances Deja Vu opens with a magnificent and lush aroma of tons of osmanthus flowers soaked in the highest quality rum. There are a lot of floral tones going on in this perfume oil blend and it also has that wonderful booze and richness of alcohol and sweet sugar cane. After a longer while it slowly starts to shift. The booze becomes less prominent and fruity accords become more powerful. Among them there is some pear and peach. The latter dominates the composition.

The aroma of peach is very fruity and reminiscent of apricot at first but as it evolves you can notice that more lactonic, milky and creamy notes start to appear as surroundings for this accord. Some time later Deja Vu develops a warm and juicy vibe. To me it smells kind of like a hot apple pie with a lovely cinnamon coat on top. Although it’s not cinnamon but probably cardamom that adds the gentle spiciness to this perfume oil. The smell is so mouth-watering.

Deja Vu is the kind of fragrance that is characterized by an incredible richness, tenderness and warmth. When you apply a few drops to your pulse points, the fragrance fills the entire place. Just recently my Mum came back home some time after I applied a drop of Deja Vu to my wrists and the very moment she entered the house she said “mmm, something smells nice”. The drydown has some of the initial booze and I also detect a lot of coconut there with its milky white flesh facet.

***

Founders of Signature Fragrances London say: “our fragrances are hip, diverse, and tenaciously pungent. Our aim is to bring back purpose to perfume.” On each sample there is also a slogan “The most pungent fragrances in the world”. And these are not just words. Both Lurre and Deja Vu are very rich, sophisticated and highly concentrated. I think we might expect that these oil contain over 25% of essences. Their sillage is impressive and longevity is above 12 hours. One day I wore Deja Vu for 14 hours and it was still strong and it would probably still last if I didn’t take a shower.

I never had much experience with perfume oil blends but these two are incredibly good. You should check them out. I hope you will get the chance to sample them because they’re worth exploring.

Tagged , , ,

12 thoughts on “Signature Fragrances Lurre & Deja Vu

  1. jillie says:

    Perfume that has longevity …. that is really appealing to me! And the company is in my country so that is another advantage. I have tried perfume oils in the past and have found them quite synthetic – but then they have also been incredibly cheap smellalikes so you couldn’t really expect that much. I shall look forward to investigating Signature Fragrances further.

  2. Interesting. The word “oil” always scares me a bit because I feel like it’s going to leave my skin greasy, but these sound interesting and promising. Thanks for the introduction!

  3. hajusuuri says:

    Hello sweetie, both of these sound wonderful. If I get to try them, I will likely apply to hair, just like how I wear Aftelier Cuir de Gardenia.

  4. Undina says:

    [grumpy mode on]

    “Our aim is to bring back purpose to perfume…” Hm… The original purpose of perfume was to cover for poor hygiene practices so I’m not that sure how much we need that nowadays ; -)

    In my opinion, the brand chose not a very imaginative name and I can’t imagine it working to their advantage – it’s too generic and will be hard to find through a SE. Also I will be curious to find out eventually what makes their fragrance oils luxurious: it’s kind of not enough to want to have a luxury brand… And I find it funny that “Their founding idea (of creating an indie or niche perfume brand) came about by their growing dissatisfaction with commercial perfumes.” (from About on the Brand’s FB page, comment in italics and bold font are mine)

    [grumpy mode off]

    I do not like oil-based perfumes but I know that there are some very nice ones (e.g. Nabucco Amytis) so I will try these if I come across them at some point but I don’t hold my breath.

    • lucasai says:

      True that my darling. The choice of a name seems like it wasn’t given much thought and you’re probably right that it won’t help them in becoming a known brand.

      Amytis is fab, I should review it one day 😉

      No problem. We cannot fall in love with all the brands

  5. […] for my move to the USA. But reading Lukasz’ reviews of two of their fragrances over at Chemist in the Bottle reminded me of my backlog, and since I had some time to spare, I decided to post my thoughts. Even […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.