The wind of serenity, Histoires de Parfums Vidi

Generous people of Histoires de Parfums sent me three lovely samples of their newest Edition Rare fragrances. I decided to review them separately – next reviews will appear shortly after this one.

I know Julius Caesar wrote his most famous sentence as veni, vidi, vici but I decided to write about new Histoires de Parfums in different order keeping my favourite one to make a lovely ending.

So, Vidi. Vidi, the wind, carries us over seas and oceans, allowing us to rise above mountains and to take our gaze and spirit beyond the horizon. It has a smooth and mellow opening created around a precious note of musk. This essence is shortly followed by ambregris combined with delicate saffron to create a feeling of a warm spicy blend. After a few minutes Vidi develops an ozonic quality. Gerald Ghislain created it using a scent of fresh cucumber to obtain a watery facet and mixing it with cyclamen which is a flower possessing a watery, oceanic and light smell.

There’s also slightly ambery feeling to the scent although amber isn’t listed in the notes of Vidi. As the time passes the perfume becomes a little bit more woody but it still has the ozonic aura. After some wood comes the rose which is rather transparent and it lacks a little bit of a character here. I kind of understand why it was done this way – it was to keep the feeling of seas and oceans in the center of attention. Rose is sweetened by vanilla and cardamom gives it a hint of spiciness. Immortelle which one can find in Vidi introduces dry, spiced and odd feeling. To me it’s the most unmatched note for Histoires de Parfums Vidi. I wonder what others might think about it.

Given notes for Vidi are cardamom and ozone effects as the top notes, plastic rose, cyclamen, water effects and saffron in the heart notes while base notes are immortal absolu, musk, ambregris, vanilla and white wood. This perfume belongs to the exclusive collection called Edition Rare and it’s available as 60ml eau de parfum. It’s an interesting fragrance in terms of using fine and different ingredients (for me it was the first time I met cucumber or cyclamen in perfume) so if you have an opportunity to see it somewhere do give it a try to check how it performs on your skin. On mine it had moderate sillage and good, 6-hours longevity so it’s not bad.

Bottles of Histoires de Parfums Edition Rare Veni, Vici, Vici are half-cut brand signature bottles covered with golden lacquer which makes them quite noticeable on the perfume shelf.

note: sample provided by Histoires de Parfums; latter picture – my own.

Tagged ,

22 thoughts on “The wind of serenity, Histoires de Parfums Vidi

  1. Kevin says:

    Glad you are reviewing these! When I got my LuckyScent newsletter, these definitely piqued my interest. I really enjoy the line a lot from what I’ve sampled, and I like the idea of historically-influenced perfumes. My favorite so far has probably been 1828 (Jules Vernes), but I’ve found them all to be quite interesting. Hope I get the chance to try these ones!

    • lucasai says:

      Hi Kevin! I’m glad you dropped by to read and comment. I’ve developed a lovely relationship with Histoires de Parfums crew and I’m proud of it. One more review of these new Edition Rare will appear later this week and the last one will be posted next week.
      I generally fancy perfume that have dates (years) in their names. My fave is 1725 but 1828 is also fine.
      Hope you’ll be able to sample them. What do you think about Vidi based on my review?

      • Kevin says:

        1725 is Casanova, no? I really enjoy that one too and actually wore some of my sample the other day. 1740 (Marquis de Sade) is fun too, but probably my least favorite of the ones I’ve tried. That’s not to say it’s bad at all, I just love the other ones more.

        I’m not usually a huge fan of ozonic scents, but I’d make an exception for this line because I’ve found the stuff I’ve tried to be very interesting, even if they aren’t something I’d want to wear all the time. The spice combined with the ozonic quality makes it sound quite unique and differentiates it from other ozonic scents, and the spicy notes definitely are encouraging to me. I’m definitely looking forward to the other reviews of Veni and Vici, and hopefully I’ll get some samples in the near future so I can do some smelling!

        • lucasai says:

          Yes Kevin, 1725 is Casanova 🙂 1740 is also my least favourite out of the masculine characters. It’s the most masculine indeed with intensive leather but I’d rather smell like a seducer Casanova 😉
          I’m not fan of ozonic either but Vidi doesn’t smell like cheap “ozonic sporty cologne” spices change a lot here.

          I’m happy you can’t wait to read the remaining two. And then some as exciting posts will appear. I will be covering Perris Monte Carlo lineup.

  2. Kafkaesque says:

    It sounds fascinating! Lovely review, Lucas. Is the rose note in the perfume officially listed as “plastic rose”??! :O That made me blink a little but I love stuff with ambergris, never mind saffron as well, so I definitely, definitely want to try this!

    • lucasai says:

      Glad I could fascinate you 🙂 Thank you for your kind words. Yes, at HdP website it is listed as “plastic rose”. I know, it sounds funny. This is a quality stuff, worth sampling.

  3. hajusuuri says:

    This sounds interesting! I had placed all 3 in my Surrender to Chance Wish List OR perhaps I may stop by Henri Bendel sometime in the next few weeks.

    Would you classify this as a spring / summer fragrance?

    • lucasai says:

      Thanks dear! I’m hoping to hear your reactions once you try them 🙂
      I would say it is suitable for early spring when it’s still quite cold, would recomment it less for summer, I’m not sure if it would do good in the heat.

  4. Undina says:

    I really like these names (I’m not a fan of numbers though) so I’ll try these three when I get a chance. Vidi in your interpretation sounds interesting.

  5. I love anything with saffron. The new Carner Barcelona has it and it is awesome!

  6. […] as well as the “plastic cucumber”), Lucas’ very ambivalent, dubious review for Chemist in The Bottle, or Ines’ assessment on All I Am — A Redhead. Normally, I would quote a few comparative […]

  7. […] as well as the “plastic cucumber”), Lucas’ very ambivalent, dubious review for Chemist in The Bottle, or Ines’ assessment on All I Am — A Redhead. Normally, I would quote a few comparative […]

  8. […] reading: Chemist In A Bottle and Ca Fleure Bon LuckyScent has $175/60ml + Samples First In Fragrance has €125/60ml + […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.