Rive Sud Interior Via Della Basilica

Before I jumped on the perfume bandwagon I was discovering scents with candles and incense sticks. As far as incense sticks come in different aromas, candles range isn’t so wide. In the past I had some experience with scented candles, those smelling of cinnamon, vanilla, lavender but I never had a chance to try the actual perfumed candle that has a little bit more complexity to it.

Thanks to Rive Sud Interior I got a chance to try the 1st actual perfumed candle in my life. This new brand, Rive Sud Interior is a baby of Christine Bodino, who’s a home designer. She decided to create a company that would specialize in making fine scented candles. I was gifted with a mini version of a candle named Via Della Basilicawhich translates into “Road to Basilica” from Italian.

All fragrance compositions for this brand are made in collaboration with Delphine Thierry, a nose known for Lubin Akkad & Galaad or newest Majda Bekkali scent – Tendre est la Nuit. At the moment of launch there are 4 candles in the online shop: Acqua di Latte, Cap Ferrat les Pins, Via Della Basilica & Rosewood.

So, how does Via Della Basilica smell like? Of course it’s not an actual perfume that you can spray and the aroma is much more subtle, so I won’t be doing an in-depth analysis. I will share the overall impressions. The aroma of the candle became noticeable after 30 minutes since I lit it.

To me it smelled intensively of pepper, black and aromatic with a suble metallic context to it. As the scent was filling my room I started to notice the smokier aspect of incense notes. I found the scent to be meditative and contemplative. As a last element of this candle I could smell myrrh. Balmy, slightly pine-y and with some salty subtleties.

When I look at my little jar of Via Della Basilica and think about the 3 notes it contains: pepper, myrrh and incense I think that it is very simple. But no, there’s something more about it. It smells ascetic to me, making me think of an old church with thick stone walls or some kind of a pent monastery. I very much like this subtle scent even though the notes aren’t my usual cup of tea.

Candles from Rive Sud Interior are available in different sizes. Via Della Basilica and Rosewood come in big 1100 grams jars (250€) while Acqua di Latte and Cap Ferrat les Pins are 220 grams candles, each costs 70€. I have no idea how the other three candles from this line smell like but Rosewood sounds divine to me. Do you like candles or other room scenting products?

Today is the All Saints’ Day. I’m out of town, visiting with my parents the graves of our relatives who passed away. We’re bringing flowers and lights to their places of eternal sleep. We’re also remembering the times when they were still with us (though I never had a chance to meet them.) In memory of my Grandparents and in contemplation of the day, I will light Via Della Basilica in my window this evening, when I get back home.

[note] mini candle of Via Della Basilica was provided to me by Rive Sud Interior. Pictures – my own.

Tagged , , ,

16 thoughts on “Rive Sud Interior Via Della Basilica

  1. jilliecat says:

    I really love scented candles – I always have so many around me – and particularly at this time of year when it’s not only the gorgeous smell but also the cheerful flames that bring joy and encourage contemplation.
    The best candle I ever had was given to my by very generous friends. It was de Grisogono Bois Florentin, and the perfume was truly amazing. I managed to keep that candle going for three years by only burning on special occasions and then wrapping in film till the next time! The fragrance never dimmed. And then I kept the glass holder for another year, just so I could sniff it!

    Your review makes me want to try the VDB so much, although I think the price is a bit of a deterrent!

    Your tribute to your family members brings tears to my eyes, but it is a beautiful custom.

    • lucasai says:

      I can’t say that I “love” scented candles but I think they’re very fine.
      Oh, can you remember the smell of that candle you got from a friend? I would love to hear from you how did it smell like.
      I also find such things like candles or incense sticks to be used on special occasions only.
      If you want I will be happy to dip a piece of carton in a melted candle, wrap it in a bag and send it to you. I think it would allow you to discover the aroma.

      • jilliecat says:

        Ah, that’s so sweet of you, but I think it would be too dangerous if I liked it!

        The de Grisogono candle smelt of woods and frankincense, and I think I could detect iris too (which would make sense because of its name). I really can’t compare it with anything else, although I have been searching for a replacement ever since. I suppose it had an air of “church”, but also of rich perfume. It was lovely.

  2. shellyw says:

    NIce sounding scent. Good reminder of All Saints too.

  3. jilliecat says:

    Hey, Lucas! Hope you get some funds! The sun has been shining here, but the winds are getting stronger and it looks like some more storms are on the way. Had an emergency trip to the vet, and my poor cat has pancreatitis – the pain killers are working though and he seems much happier now. What a day!

    • lucasai says:

      We had rain and clouds for all day. Hope it gets better tomorrow. If not, well, it’s autumn afterall.
      Sorry to hear about your cat. Hope things get better with your kitty soon

  4. hajusuuri says:

    This candle sounds lovely but alas, I am not a candle user although I do gift them to friends. The All Saints’ Day tradition sounds very special and honors the dearly departed.

    • lucasai says:

      I prefer incense sticks to candles but since I got that one, I’m going to use it.
      All Saints’ Day is a very special tradition to us, Polish people.

  5. […] from the collection shared with bloggers and media. Other’s thoughts on the range include: Chemist in a Bottle and The Non-Blonde. After reading the official perfume notes, Via Della Basilica has a milkiness […]

  6. […] Via Della Basilica The Scented Hound – Via Della Basilica Chemist in the Bottle – Via Della Basilica The Fragrant Man – Cire Trudon Scented Candles What Men Should Smell like – The Rive […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.