Like a poem, Jardins d’Ecrivains Wilde

I stumbled upon the perfume brand named Jardins d’Ecrivains by a total accident. A friend, a fellow perfume blogger who writes in Polish offered me samples of two fragrances from this line as a part of our big swap (it was really big, around 20 samples from each side). The object of this review, a scent called Wilde takes inspiration from Oscar’s Wilde aphorisms. Does literature understand perfume?

Jardin d’Ecrivains Wilde opens with an olfactive vision of bergamot. This small citrus with green peel has a very refreshing smell in this perfume. It’s not too juicy, slightly tart and I like the fact that it’s not pungent as it can often be. It carries rather soft and elegant quality which after a few minutes from the start slowly melts into other notes. The development is slow and harmonious, almost like the lines of written words that come one after another to create a poem.

The perfume goes from bergamot to raisins then. But it doesn’t really smell like them. To me what I smell is more reminiscent of grapes, not of raisins. I imagine rows of vines with bunches of green and purple fruits handing down to earth from them. This stage of Wilde is like an olfactive impression of a vineyard somewhere in Mediterranean region or in sunny California. The smell of this perfume takes you on a trip between the vines on a hot and sunny afternoon. You can smell the grapes, the foliage and the damp air. There are not many perfumes that brings such picturesque illusions.

The fig comes up next. Those of you who follow the blog for a while longer know that I have a tendency to having issues with smelling fig. But not this time! This note in Jardin d’Ecrivains Wilde is rendered in a very subtle way. It has an almost transparent, milky smell with hints of fig leaf greenness hidden underneath. The addition of tea note is really in plus for this fragrance. It is well blended with fig adding it an invigorating and lively touch. I would compare this aroma to a tropical drink. It’s happy for sure. Carnation brings a bit of floral and watery quality to the composition of Wilde. The whole scent is pretty so far.

After a couple of hours when other notes dissipate the base notes of Wilde come to the front. There’s a vetiver done in a rooty-woody way which is actually the only way in which I wholeheartedly tolerate vetiver in perfumes. I’ve been liking this stage a lot and I’ve been wondering why. When I looked up into the notes I found the answer – oak moss. The chypre element in Jardin d’Ecrivains Wildecomposes with other ingredients in a stunning way. It’s easy to notice and it adds character.

Jardin d’Ecrivains introduces Wilde as a masculine perfume and it’s really easy to understand why. The whole concept of this perfume and its ingredients are combined in a way that would do wonders on men’s skin. The smell is definitely much more masculine than feminine but I bet some of the girls will find it charming as well. The notes are as follows:

  • top notes – bergamot, grape
  • middle notes – fig, carnation, tea
  • base notes – oakmoss, vetiver

This fragrance is eau de parfum concentrated and it comes in bottles containing 100 ml of a perfumed juice. It also comes with Oscar Wilde quote “So that man thought that the important thing was to have, and did not know that the important thing is to be.”  The scent was released in 2013. I couldn’t find any information on who is the creator. I e-mailed Jardin d’Ecrivains for this information, I will update with the perfumers name when I get a reply.

[update] The perfumer is Anaïs Biguine, creator of the brand.

Wilde has quite good longevity, 7 hours or more on my skin and it has a rather intimate sillage.

Tagged , ,

18 thoughts on “Like a poem, Jardins d’Ecrivains Wilde

  1. Jordan River says:

    Quite a discovery Lucas. Who is this Anaïs?

  2. Kafkaesque says:

    This sounds lovely, Lucas! And you wrote beautifully, from the rows of grapes to how the bergamot was like lines in a poem. Really nice job, my dear! And you’ve made the perfume sound incredibly tempting, especially with the addition of milky fig down the middle part. It doesn’t hurt that Oscar Wilde is one of my favorite authors…. LOL!

    I looked up the brand on Fragrantica which only has one listing while the website seems to have 4 perfumes, including this one. I’m trying to figure out where in the U.S. this might be sold or where I could get samples. You have sent me on the hunt, Lucas, and like the Hairy German, I will sniff out the answers. 😉

    • Jordan River says:

      Lucas is more up-to-date than the fragrance encyclopedia!

    • lucasai says:

      Yes it does. This perfume is really well made, the pricing is really good for the 100 ml EDP. The whole composition really goes like the lines of a poem. And that fig is lovely and it’s me who says it, someone who has issues with the note.

      Fragrantica is out of date with Jardins d’Ecrivains, they don’t have Wilde listed (they even didn’t have Kilian Musk Oud when I checked last time).

      I know ALzD (First in Fragrance) has the line but they’re in Germany and Beauty Habit (that’s UK?)

      Hope you’ll be able to sniff the source in the US!

  3. hajusuuri says:

    My dear scent twin Lucas. This could quite possibly the quickest lemming ever. It sounds just simply wonderful. I like figs to begin with and given your good reaction to this, it must be used very well in this perfume! If Beautyhabit has it, a 100 mL bottle may soon come my way, unsniffed!

    • lucasai says:

      Yay for awakening more lemmings! This is the great perfume. Elegant and with style, subtle but it really lasts.
      I was surprised by the fig which I really liked and I can’t say that about many figs…
      Yes, Beautyhabit has the line and Wilde is there too!
      Let me know if you decide to buy a bottle unsniffed. I’m curious for what are you gonna do and to hear your impressions if you get it.

      • hajusuuri says:

        OK, I think I was too impulsive…and my comment was BC (Before Coffee). The 100 mL bottle is $110,,,not bad, but I don’t need 100 mLs. Hee, I’ll just wait for Kafka to research other venues for a sample 🙂

        • lucasai says:

          I love the “Before Coffee” 😀 $110 for 100 mls is a good price I think but I agree it’s too much if a collection of your perfumes is big. I hope Kafka will find where to get a sample.
          I wish you tried it.

  4. I love carnation and fig and this sounds interesting and unique with the oakmoss and vetiver. I can’t quite wrap my brain around what all the notes might smell like together, however, perhaps “like women, perfume is made to be loved, not understood.”

  5. I love new discoveries. Wilde sounds promising!

  6. […] OTHERS ARE SAYING ABOUT WILDE:  The Silver Fox, Chemist in a Bottle, […]

Leave a Reply

