Fly with the wind, LM Parfums Vol d’Hirondelle

My first foray into fragrances from LM Parfums line starts with the latest addition to this house collection, now consisting of 6 scents. This new composition named Vol d’Hirondelle was inspired by a painting of the same title. “Swallow’s flight” is a tribute to a close friend of Laurent Mazzone.

Press materials state that Vol d’Hirondelle takes flight with citric top notes of lemon, bergamot, tangerine and petitgrain that lead to a floral-spicy heart crowned with rose and jasmine. A warming base of vetiver and musk rounds off Laurent Mazzone’s personal olfactory homage.

Vol d’Hirondelle does not speak idly words, this perfume really lives up to what it promises. The opening brings the bright and photorealistic impression of tangerine and lemon. Both citrus are juicy and sparkling with a really natural smell to them. The scent is like a fruit pulp, like a freshly squeezed glass of orange or lemon juice. It’s slightly citric with a noticeable citrus peel tone.

Within next 15 minutes it evolves from citrus to aromatic. Petitgrain from Paraguay has a very refreshing and crispy smell here. It’s accompanied by a very specific green element which makes this note stand out a lot in the fragrant composition. When I smell Vol d’Hirondelle at this moment it makes me think of Mediterranean Sea. Petitgrain effuses the scent that I associate with happy and carefree maritime. What more, there’s some kind of woody smell around the petitgrain that smells like trees and bushes warmed by the Sun. Think of all those plantations of herbs, olive or orange trees in ideal rows somewhere at the Mediterranean seacoast.

Later, few hours later, LM Parfums Vol d’Hirondelle shows a little bit of a floral aspect. It has some pretty light jasmine and a little bit more pronounded, but still not intensive rose accord. Its style is rather dewy and airy. Along with the rose note there comes a dose of spices that warm up the scent when you have it on your skin. The spice mix is a well blended one without any specified dominating note. It’s kind of gray and dusty, with a little bit of ash undertones. And some delicate sweetness can be spotted around. It plays sweet and spicy with the fragrance. The final effect is amazing!

Vol d’Hirondelle by LM Parfums is a great fragrance. The way it combines the natural positive energy from citrus with the aromatic aspect of petitgrain is magnificent. On the whole this perfume recreates the aura, the air and the atmosphere of Mediterranean region. This fact makes it a perfect choice for spring and summer. Vol d’Hirondelle is an optimistic and playful scent with a character.

This perfume has top notes of lemon, bergamot, mandarin, petitgrain, palisander rosewood and artemisia, middle notes of jasmine, rose, spices and orangewood, vetiver root and musk in the base.

It was created by Laurent Mazzone, founder of LM Parfums. Vol d’Hirondelle is available in 100 ml bottles of eau de parfum. The flacon is a square-shaped bottle made of black glass.

Tagged , ,

22 thoughts on “Fly with the wind, LM Parfums Vol d’Hirondelle

  1. Jordan River says:

    Handsome bottle

  2. brie says:

    Lucas-
    I have never heard of this line but now you have made me want to try it! Is it similar to Atelier’s Orange Sanguine (which I absolutely adore)?

    • lucasai says:

      You’ve never heard of it? I guess it’s because this line is pretty popular in Europe but not in the States.
      No, it’s not similar to Orange Sanguine. OS is an edible, orange juice like perfume. Vol d’Hirondelle is citrus but not edible, it’s bitter.

  3. I’ve never heard of this line before. It’s sounds so light…just right for summer. Thanks!

  4. poodle says:

    I’ve never heard of this line either. This one might be a little too much citrus for me. I’d probably like it on someone else though.

    • lucasai says:

      You too!? Seems like this line is really not popular in the USA.
      Surprisingly it’s not too much citrus on me, but if you say it might be too mcuh for you – you won’t know unless you find out right?

  5. LIlybelle says:

    I love the name! I love fragrances that have the qualities you describe – airborn, aloft, citrussy, floral. They always raise my spirits.

  6. Mary K says:

    This does sound nice. I like citrus, and I’ll bet it’s good with the light jasmine and rose.

  7. hajusuuri says:

    Joining in the “never heard of this line” sentiment. I does sound lovely though; however, to me, jasmine sometimes smells like mothballs. If this line comes to this part of the world, I will certainly try it!

    • lucasai says:

      Oh my, maybe LM Parfums is not distributed in there? Jasmine is very pale here, I guess you’d rock it.
      Hajusuuri – as always, if you need, I can get you a sample 😉

      • hajusuuri says:

        :-). Thanks of your offer, dear Lucas.

        I had been thinking about this “need” versus “want today because my samples and decant collection keep multiplying and I am trying to figure out the best way to keep them contained (numbers-wise and storage). I did as Undina suggested in her most excellent reference post and have a few ammo boxes…however, I am still looking for something that would be less restricting but yet provide a way to group the samples. In my case, once I get my samples organized, they will be grouped by Brand/House. Anyway, I was at a hardware store today and may have found a solution in the form of a portable nails and screws storage box! It is about 14″ x 6″ x 3” and there are removable compartments inside. The smaller compartments look like they can fit 15 of the 1mL vials or 6 of the 2mL atomizers while the larger ones double that. I ended up not buying the storage case as I need to inventory the storage containers I do have and decide if it is worth switching – I have this weird need for consistency in organization.

        • lucasai says:

          I’m running out of place for samples too! They all like 3 drawers in my room which is a lot.
          For organizing I use plastic tubes stands from laboratory. Once all tubes are all used they toss the stand, so I take it for my organizing.
          I’m planning to write a post about organizing samples so I’ll show you how such stand looks like.

        • brie says:

          hajusuuri-
          You are Undina’s twin…so organized and resourceful….right now I only have about 30 samples which I keep in a tiny plastic box within a shoe box that contains full bottles and decants in my refrigerator…other bottles are literally scattered throughout the house!!!

  8. rictor07 says:

    I just recently stumbled onto this line when perusing the net, and thought i should check them out, but havent done so yet. This review leads me to believe they at least have a wonderful citrus in the lineup.
    Lucas, dont be jealous anymore that it is hard for you to access some ‘fumes in poland, As you can see by all the comments, you have access to LM and we in the states dont. Carner Barcelona is another line i havent seen distributed here( and i know you love your D600).

    • lucasai says:

      I’m pretty surprised that LM Parfums is not distributed in the USA. It doesn’t happen often that we have something in Europe that the US folks wouldn’t have. Vol d’Hirondelle is a great citrus.
      I know I know, thanks! Hope you’ll put your hands on some LM Parfums and Carner Barcelona soon.

  9. Undina says:

    I’ll join the others in “never heard before” line. You’re so enthusiastic about it that it makes me want to try the line.

    • lucasai says:

      I’m curious to try a few more of LM Parfums. I started from the newest end of the collection, gotta try some older stuff in the lineup.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.