Little self-indulgence, Viktoria Minya Hedonist

Around one month ago I got an email submitted via contact form of Chemist in the Bottle. It was Viktoria Minya, a perfumer of Hungarian roots, who has just started a new perfume journey with her own brand. She offered to send me a sample of her newly created fragrance called Hedonist – a tribute to the art of devotion to the pleasure of the senses. We exchanged quite a few emails and found some things in common. I just couldn’t say no to this charming lady and her offer.

Three weeks later, when I almost thought that my sample of Viktoria Minya Hedonist got lost somewhere on its way between France and Poland (I was really concerned, packages from Europe never took longer than a week to get to me) I found a small envelope in my mailbox with a French stamp on it – it was the Hedonist. The waiting took much longer than usual but it was worth it!

Hedonist begins with a beautiful and lush smell of milions of tiny osmanthus flowers. They possess the plushy, slightly woody, slightly sweet tea-like aroma. Very soon the perfume evolves and a real feast for hedonists begins. Within few minutes the osmanthus gets soaked with highest quality rum. Forget about the alcoholic vibe, you won’t find it here. What you can find is the best blend of sugar cane (used to create rum). It effuses such dense, rich and beautiful aroma, that’s the real idea of capturing hedonism in a bottle of perfume! This phase of Hedonist is sparkling and shimmering, spreading the enchanting spell of seduction.

A little bit later, after 30 minutes from applying Hedonist develops the light woody smell of vetiver that slowly and smoothly transforms into very realistic peach accord. The scent of peach is happy and juicy. The smell of fruit pulp blends with the peel and lactonic tones. With time this chord becomes a little bit sweeter as vanilla joins the composition and it gets slightly stronger later, but it never dominates. Few hours later I noticed this delicate and balanced note of tobacco. Vanilla was still there and there was a tobacco. Many of us know these two notes really like each other.

In late drydown of Viktoria Minya Hedonist one can smell some woody notes of cedar. I also had a glimpse of rum note re-appearing for a while. And despite the fact that honey is not an official note for this perfume I (and others who reviewed it so far) seem to detect that sweet and golden quality. Late hours of Hedonist are elegant and aromatic. Orange blossom, jasmine and bergamot intertwine with each other in a nice way. Longevity of Hedonist is perfect but its sillage is rather small. It’s really not the case. Hedonism is about self-indulgence, this perfume is supposed to please you and not others so this level of sillage might be a purposeful action. I think that’s what Viktoria wanted to do.

Hedonist by Viktoria Minya is a very sweet perfume but it doesn’t even get close to the sweetness overdose. I personally treat Hedonist as a well balanced perfume which is quite complex and unusual. Especially the osmanthus soaked with rum is a masterpiece for me in this creation. One more thing I love about this perfume is that it’s really mature, grown up. And it has a definite va-va-voom effect! Not only the smell is exclusive but so is the packaging.

Oval-shaped bottle looks like a precious gemstone. Inside it 500 Bohemian crystals float. Outer packaging is a black wooden box with a texture imitating snake skin. The size is 45 mls and samples are offered at a very affordable price from Viktoria Minya website. It’s an excellent perfume.

Tagged , ,

24 thoughts on “Little self-indulgence, Viktoria Minya Hedonist

  1. brie says:

    thank Lucas!!! Now you have got me wanting this one :D!!!

  2. I’d just placed an order for a sample of this a few days back. Now I can’t wait for it to arrive! πŸ™‚

  3. lilybelle says:

    Sounds and looks great! Osmanthus and rum…trying to imagine that combination… I can imagine it smells wonderful. Ms. Minya is a good “face” for her own fragrance (if that is she?). Lovely!

  4. Oh, it sounds delicious and the bottle is gorgeous. Maybe for my birthday.

  5. shellyw says:

    Osmanthus and your review has me interested. Just ordered a sample from her site. Thanks for the review.

  6. sweetgrass79 says:

    I think I might need to get a sample. It sounds yummy.

  7. hajusuuri says:

    Lucas, dear, you’ve created a following of lemmings, judging by the comments. I lemminged mine via Kafka…I did not even waste an extra keystroke and ordered a sample IMMEDIATELY after reading her review. Based on your review, I may do something un-hajusuuri-like and let it be my SOTD on a weekday at the office without first wearing it on a weekend / non-workday just in case I have to wash it off.

    And that Viktoria Minya – gorgeous!

    • lucasai says:

      I noticed, I’m happy for that so many people like this review and decide to get a sample. This way we’re also helping Viktoria which is even more great as she’s just starting on her own, she needs us πŸ™‚
      Oh wow, if you do that I will be honoured. The sillage of Hedonist seems to be perfect for the office and the scent is definitely not offensive.
      That’s right, she’s super sexy.

  8. lovepie says:

    Lucas, next time you have to review cheaper perfumes!!! πŸ™‚
    now I have to save for a bottle! It looks amazingly beautiful, and I see all around the internet how popular the scent is!!!

    • lucasai says:

      Hedonist is a fantastic perfume so Viktoria Minya has a great debut of her own brand.
      It’s expensive but worth the money but sure – next time I will chose something cheaper πŸ™‚

  9. rictor07 says:

    If this perfume is as stunning as Viktoria is, it is sure to gets lots of attention from perfumistas worldwide.

  10. Undina says:

    Lucas, good job! Between Kafka, Suzanne, Steven and you I hope there will be at least a couple of dozens of samples ordered πŸ™‚

    I’m still undecided on the perfume. Iwish the sample would come in a spray form: I noticed recently that I prefer dab samples only if I hate a perfume, then Ican applyjust a tiny drop. With perfumes that I (might) like I want a real application. I might transfer the remainings of my sample into a small spray to test.

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you! I’m sure we encouraged people to come and try the Hedonist.
      I know what you say, dabbers are great when you feel the perfume might be not for you but when you know or feel it might work – spraying is much better.
      So do transfer your sample into a spray vial and I hope you’ll enjoy it in this form.

  11. Walter Proetzel says:

    Hi all,
    We also placed an order for a sample today to be send it to Lima Peru. ItΒ΄s far away from Europe but today itΒ΄s not more a problem. I hope…
    My daughter is going to try it first because she has a good nose for distinguishing different smells. And then we will tell you her impressions. Greetings for all.

Leave a Reply

