Monday Quick Sniffs, part 23 + giveaway winners

Eau de Cashmere is the latest fragrance/fabric spray designed by the perfumery house of Guerlain. It’s meant to be sprayed on high quality fabrics like wool or cashmere and linger on it, enveloping you with a soft cocoon of scent. It’s also said not to damage the fabrics structure. I tried it both on skin and wool. On my skin it opens with a very soft, slightly sour and acidic bergamot which is almost immediately joined by mandarin. The latter one adds sweetness, balancing the character of bergamot. After around 20 minutes Eau de Cashmere becomes much more powdery. You can smell a lot of delicate and sheer iris, blended with slightly flowery and sweet lavender flowers. Musk makes the fragrance very clean, like the fabric was just washed. Even if there is some cedar or vetiver (as stated on Guerlain website) I can’t smell it. Eau de Cashmere is all about smelling kind of like a baby powder. After 2 hours you can’t smell it on the skin. When sprayed on clothes, the bergamot & mandarin concoction lasts for a few hours and the powdery aspects comes in much more slowly. It lasts for many hours on fabric but unfortunately it doesn’t impress me. I doubt I would smell it around me if I wore a jumper/sweater with some Eau de Cashmere on it. It’s just too bland and simple, but what was I expecting?

Essence Aromatique is the latest release from Bottega Veneta. This perfume opens with a tart and zesty bergamot combined with warmth and mild spiciness of coriander. The balmy quality of the opening evolves into more citrusy scent when coriander weakens and bergamot remains stronger. Then, there’s a lot of vanilla and tonka bean. Together they smell quite sweet, a little bit cloying actually and there’s a high pile of powder in this perfume. Sandalwood smells really synthetic in this perfume while patchouli continues to go on with a powdery vibe. I was hoping I would like Essence Aromatique, the sound of it made a good impression on me but the fragrance is disappointing. Not only it constantly makes we think of some washing powder or synthetic bleach blend but at some point it is also a mere, badly made and thoughtless interpretation of Chanel 31 Rue Cambon. At least I find some similarities, of course Chanel is hundred times better. Essence Aromatic is eau de cologne available in sizes of 50,90 and 200ml.

In the second half of April the Italian fashion house of Prada has profiled a new fragrance intended for the spring and summer use. As far as I know the initial concept for the perfume was different but in the end the latest perfume launch from Prada is Candy Florale,  blended by Daniela Roche-Andrier. The perfume was inspired by a perfect imaginary flower – the white Cosmos – that Prada has “invented” especially for Candy. This flanker starts with a tart and cool aroma of lemon sorbet, kind of making me think of patisserie/gelaterie in the summer. Soon the accord mutes and flowery notes become dominating. Composition of Candy Florale highlights the scent of peonies, which in this composition are restrained, powdery. At some point one can also smell roses – dewy, watered down, a bit sugary. Musky base comes very early with more powder, some talcum, fluffiness of whipped cream and general feeling of airiness. Beautiful benzoin and caramel that were the greatest values of original Candy, are bit ruined in Candy Florale. Shame. Prada Candy Florale reminds me of nothing else but powdery candies from my youth. Candy Florale is definitely worse than Candy, also worse than Candy L’Eau in my opinion. Dear Prada – next time you go for my Candy Men, ok?! I’m sure people would like it. Ad campaign is once again fronted by actress Lea Seydoux. I think more funny videos are yet to come…

Giveaway winners

Here are the winners: from the US the lucky person is tomate farcie who gets Robert Piguet Visa rollerball mini and a mini candle. From the EU/UK region the winner is Elia who gets a mysterious set of 4 carded perfume samples. You’ve got time until Friday, May 16th to send me your shipping details (use a contact form). If someone doesn’t claim their prize a new winner will be chosen.

Tagged , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Monday Quick Sniffs, part 23 + giveaway winners

  1. jilliecat says:

    Hello Lucas, and thank you for these reviews. I liked the idea of spraying clothes with specially made fragrances until I realised that they would clash with my own perfume! Not so good. I spritz my bed linen from time to time, but only with soft smells like rose or lavender water or I will get a headache. It’s nice in theory, but not in practice.

    • lucasai says:

      I’m not really fond of using fabric sprays. The only ones that I accept are scented fabric sprays my nim uses for ironing. Their scent is very pale, almost unsmellable. Lavender, rose water or orange blossom water are said to be good for bed lining. I only tried with lavender twice

  2. Holly says:

    Thanks for these reviews, Lucas. Lucky me, I now know I can ignore these three 🙂

    • lucasai says:

      I would ignore the fabric spray from Guerlain. Do try the other two. Essence Aromatique made it into Hajusuuri’s Sniffapalooza haul!

  3. hajusuuri says:

    Monday Quick Sniffs!!!!!!!!!!!!! You know how to make me happy!!!!!!!!!

    Indeed Bottega Veneta Essence Aromatique made it to my collection. I brought a sample of it on vacation back in April and it worked well in an enclosed space (a bus!) – I can smell me but no one else can or at least no one remarked on it (people rarely do as I tend not to wear big scents). The BV salesperson was very persuasive but I was able to get all the freebies with the purchase of the smallest size even though she tried to push the largest one. I will share some with dear Daisy as she like it too.

    As for the Guerlain Eau de Cashmere, since I don’t spray anything on purpose on clothes, accessories or bed linens since I do tend to need to take a break from perfumes for some part of the day, I will do a smell by and wave good bye to it.

    Prada Candy Florale was just plain disgusting. I agree that Prada should listen and come out with Prada Candy Man!

    • lucasai says:

      I’m glad that those mini reviews still give you a bit of excitement. I saw the Essence Aromatique bottle on the picture for the guest post and was a bit surprised that you liked it so much to buy it – at least it works for you 😉

      You can forget about Eau de Cashmere. And I think it’s only available in Guerlain boutiques.

      I want to do Candy Man for Prada!

  4. Undina says:

    I still plan to try Essence Aromatique (I even have a sample already), Candy Florale wasn’t at all my thing and as to Guerlain… Nah, if I want my things scented I’ll use whatever perfume I’m wearing. But maybe it’ll work for somebody who “doesn’t wear perfumes”? :- )

    • lucasai says:

      Let me know what you thought of EA. It didn’t work for me but worked for Hajusuuri, I wonder how would it behave on your skin.

      Maybe that Guerlain fabric spray is for those who are not really into perfume, right!

      • Undina says:

        I tried it yesterday and – guess what – I liked it! Not sure I’ll buy a bottle but I might one day if it gets to discounter sites at some point. I didn’t love it or thought it was super-original or extremely interesting. But it definitely wasn’t a huge disappointment.

        • lucasai says:

          OH, ok! So you’re with Hajusuuri twin here. No problem, it didn’t work for me but it doesn’t matter it can’t be to your liking, right?

Leave a Reply

