At Dawn, Andy Tauer Cologne du Maghreb

When I think of eau de cologne my mind doesn’t take me to Cologne in Germany, where it was invented and produced for the first time. Visions in my mind take me further to the South, they drive me to Positano and the Amalfi Coast or Côte d’Azur in France. Few years ago Andy Tauer decided to create a traditional eau de cologne with a twist. His inspiration was not one of the European beach of Mediterranean Sea, his thinking went further – to North-West Africa.

Cologne du Maghreb was originally created as a limited Holiday edition in 2011 and once it was sold out, it disappeared. By popular interest and demand, especially in the summer months, Andy decided to re-issue the scent for summer 2014. As he said in the interview I had with Andy, this year’s summertime edition is exactly the same as the one from few years ago.

Andy Tauer Perfumes Cologne du Maghreb opens, no, it bursts with a juicy concoction of various citrus fruits. First wave is the perfumed explosion of tart bergamot and lemon. They are a little bit acidic and bitter but absolutely “in plus.” These two aromas entwine with each other, giving you the immediate impression of freshness. After 10, maybe 15 minutes the initial invigorating sharpness is muted with mandarin, clementine and grapefruit. These are known as sweeter citruses and their presence is noticed immediately after they come out.

When these latter three join the opening stage of this composition, all of these yellow, green, pink and orange citrus tones create a perfect harmony of senses. Begininng of Cologne du Maghreb is very lively, energetic and very, very happy. And to be absolutely honest with you, after a little while, think 30 minutes from spraying this fragrance on skin, the aroma effusing from the top of my hand highly reminds me of nimm2 candies. I used to eat handfuls of those when I was a young boy.

Continuing the scented exploration of Cologne du Maghreb I encountered one of my favourite white flowers used in perfumery – orange blossom, Andy used a water distilled essence, which is also known as neroli. I take a deep whiff and I smell thousands of small white flowers with yellowish center. Their aroma is refreshing, clean, a little bit soapy. But there’s also an unexpected honey and wax layer to this particular note, making this cologne something much more interesting. The twist that Andy mentioned in the interview appears on my skin after an hour of wearing the composition.

The herbal part of Cologne du Maghreb seems simple, as it consists of only three different essential oils. But lets not judge the book by the cover (to say it in other words, don’t judge the perfume by the box) – it’s more complex than you think. There’s a nice portion of petit grain which adds a green and leafy texture to the overall impression given by Andy’s cologne. There’s also a bit of dusty feeling to it, similar to the one I had while smelling Eau Absolue by Mona di Orio.

Later on I could smell how lavender and clary sage join the composition. Both introduce this lovely green and herbal quality which is a little bit dry and extremely aromatic. Lavender brings a basket of light floral tones to Cologne du Maghreb compositions, making this fragrance a real cologne made of citrus, herbs and flowers. The part in which neroli and herbs play the leading role lasts for quite a long time, for 1 hour or so. During this period of time it becomes weaker and more transparent, still very pleasing and filled with joy.

The drydown comes after a little bit more than two hours since the minute the fragrance was applied. Here it gets a little bit more substantial, as what we have here is the essence of cedar from Atlas, which stands for a solid base that provides a decent lasting power. Labdanum adds a resinous note but it’s played very lightly in Cologne du Maghreb, don’t expect that it will bloom into full-fledged oriental now… Pale and sheer rose with tea undertones closes the fragrance pyramid of this scent. In this form, as a delicate and fresh skinscent, it can last for one more hour, maybe a bit more.

My impression of Cologne du Maghreb is that it smells like the first breath of air at dawn, when it’s not day yet but it’s not a night anymore. The air is cool and the surroundings wake up with first rays of the Sun. As Andy highlighted in our talk, eau de cologne is meant to refresh you and enchant you in a moment – that is exactly what this fragrance from Andy Tauer does! Cologne du Maghreb is an all-natural and all-botanical fragrance. It will be available in 50 ml square bottle made of transparent glass. Look for it at the beginning of June. This fragrance makes for a great summer companion!

[note] sample of Cologne du Maghreb was provided by Andy Tauer. Thank you Andy!

Tagged , , ,

29 thoughts on “At Dawn, Andy Tauer Cologne du Maghreb

  1. Ines says:

    Sounds good to me!
    I love the idea of dawn. 🙂

  2. jilliecat says:

    Seems like perfection!

    Did you really EAT candles????

    • lucasai says:

      I’m sure you’d enjoy this fragrance. And I meant CANDIES.

      • jilliecat says:

        Oh my goodness …. it’s my stupid eyes …. I keep reading things wrong! You can’t imagine the pictures I had in my head of you eating candles! I am now crying with laughter, and a miserable day has been made more cheerful!!!!

        • lucasai says:

          So funny! It turned out pretty cheerful, the ugly and rainy day is now nicer thanks to you. I just can’t picture your vision of me eating candles. 🙂

  3. Holly says:

    Just reading about this brightened my day! (Not to mention the comments regarding you eating candles which my mind embellished and I could imagine a small boy licking frosting off birthday cake candles and surreptitiously continuing to nibble up the wax…) Anyway, I’m looking forward to trying this as your description makes it sound delicious. Thanks for another superb review.

    • lucasai says:

      Glad your day just hit brighter thanks to Jillie And I. A nice vision there. I think I sometimes licked the frosting or cream from the birthday cake candles.
      There will be a draw for some Cologne du Mahreb soon.

  4. Anka says:

    Sounds lovely, I really enjoy the combination of citruses, cedar and rosemary in colognes with my favorite problably being Eau de Cologne Imperial by Guerlain. But I haven’t tried Cologne du Maghreb yet (nice name!).

  5. Mary K says:

    I do like the sound of this. I am sure it will be something really nice for summer weather.

  6. hajusuuri says:

    Woot…I’ve unearthed my decant of this…I remember getting it from “SQ” as part of my very first swap :-). I will need to revisit. More importantly, ahem, I went to Indigo Perfumes and placed a bottle of this in my cart…I have not paid for it yet, though…it is just going to be a matter of time….

    • lucasai says:

      That decant you found, I suppose it’s from 2011?
      You’ll love Cologne du Maghreb in the summer, that bottle at Indigo is waiting for you 😉

      • hajusuuri says:

        I suppose I should support the smaller shops. Last night I was checking out Luckyscent – they have a gift with purchase promotion going on right now and I am tempted to buy from there instead.

        • lucasai says:

          I like to buy at smaller shops, they have a nicer atmosphere and more personal attitude towards a customer.
          What kind of gift is Luckyscent giving with a purchase?

          • hajusuuri says:

            I just realized I never answered your question about the decant. I think that would have been the case that it was from 2011 but the swap occurred in 2012.

            I agree that the smaller shops have a more personal attitude…although most times, the larger retailers are offering a discount, a gift with purchase and generally can afford more perks that are difficult to resist even if I have a soft spot for the “little guy”. We can give Daisy and Undina for making me think twice about where I stimulate the economy.

            The gifts at LuckyScent were primarily for purchases over $100… a 8-piece Agonist Sample Pack, 8-piece Lubin Sample Pack, 10-piece Women’s Manufacturer’s Sample Pack, 10-piece Men’s Manufacturer’s Sample Pack, 4-piece Puredistance Sample Pack. There’s even a Rose Cut 7.5mL travel spray with the purchase of $85 in Ann Gerard perfumes.

      • hajusuuri says:

        I am leaving comments all over the place! Anyway, I will be wearing Cologne du Maghreb on Saturday!

  7. Undina says:

    I will have a chance to test it soon so we’ll see how it plays on my skin.

  8. […] is an excellent review over on the lovely Lucas’s site ChemistInTheBottle  from  where I cheekily nicked the top […]

  9. […] * For reviews of Tauer’s Cologne du Maghreb see Bonkers,The Non Blonde, CaFleureBon, Chemist in the bottle, Kafkaesque […]

  10. […] reading: Chemist In The Bottle and Bonkers About Perfume IndieScents has $85/50mlSurrender To Chance has samples starting at […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.