6 Perfume Ideas for Christmas Festivities

tick-tock, tick-tock, tick-tock goes the clock, counting down the days until Christmas. There are only 9 days of Advent before the festive time is here, so if you haven’t yet met Santa to tell him what presents your family and relatives would like to find under the tree, this is almost your last chance to do it before it’s too late. As for myself I already completed my Santa quest and together with my Dad we’ve found a perfect spruce on Saturday. We plan to dress it in lights & ornaments next weekend probably. I don’t feel the atmosphere of Christmas yet but it will come to me eventually. It has to.

Christmas time is always filled with positive feelings, with good smiles and kindness. Everyone and everything seems to have that inner shine that we often don’t have on a day-to-day basis. Things look a bit prettier and even strangers seem more friendly. For me this is also the time to unwind and relax. For Christmas Eve and Christmas Day you probably put on some special clothes to be dressed more festive & elegant. And since for us perfume is an essential element of our outfit, you probably already started deliberating what perfume to wear on that special occasion.

Here are a few ideas of fragrances that I would wear to celebrate Christmas festivities.

xmas-scent-ideas

Guerlain Iris Ganache – For me iris is not only a favorite note but in my opinion it is also one of the most elegant smells in perfumery, which makes it suitable for many different celebrations. In case of Iris Ganache you have a richness of a white chocolate served in a mousse-light form. It it surrounded by a buttery texture of iris that goes more powdery later on. Topped with a bit of zest and sprinkled with cinnamon for a delicious feeling on your skin. This perfume melts with your body, leaving a transparent vanillic-ambery veil to enjoy on that special evening. It’s a very smart gourmand.

Tauer Phi Une Rose de Kandahar – A list like this wouldn’t feel complete if there wasn’t at least one rose perfume among my suggestions. Fruity opening with a gorgeous apricot accord leads to the heart where roses, geranium and bitter almond meet. The result is an incredibly rich, yet not overpowering fragrant blend. Phi feels plush, velvety and uber luxurious and the smell of tobacco leaf makes this perfume stand out even more in the crowd. As hours pass tonka, vanilla and musk form a silky cocoon around your body. With Phi you’ll be the best smelling one at midnight mass.

Aedes Cierge de Lune – Chrismas is the time that brings more light to our life, so why not decide on a perfume that can light up the night. Starting with a shimmering crystal accord that has a slightly mineral scent, after a couple of minutes this perfume starts to reveal a very unusual and intriguing vanilla like I’ve never smelled before. It’s oriental but airy, not sweet but delicious. Surrounded by black and pink pepper, ylang, ambroxan and musk, among others, this perfume is sure to make you feel glamorous and special when you’re with your family, enjoying those days together.

Diptyque Oud Palao – I think that during Christmas there’s no need to hide behind a perfume or limit oneself. Why not go all out? Oud Palao definitely isn’t a quiet fragrance. It’s there to make a statement. With a bold smell of Laotian oud that has a strong, resinous sillage you surely will be noticed. Patchouli, cypriol and labdanum add more personality to the scent with their dark vibe. When frankincense makes Oud Palao slightly smoky, vanilla and rose smooth all the sharp edges making this a super enjoyable fragrance. I especially love it when it’s colder outside.

Atelier des Ors Cuir Sacre – Even though leathery notes can pack a serious punch there are also ways to tone them down and bring up their softness & elegance. To me Cuir Sacre from Atelier des Ors is like that. Initially it’s really powerful, with metallic juniper, spicy cardamom and oily green elements of cypress. Leather with backnote of incense and vetiver is really potent but thanks to saffron it becomes more mellow and eventually it becomes more fuzzy, like a suede. This perfume would be highly recommended to any stylish men who wants to make a good impression.

Puredistance Gold – Complex oriental composition that evokes luxury and refinement is an ideal candidate to put on for a Christmas Eve. Puredistance Gold is a beauty in many ways. Spicy at the beginning with accentuated clove, gradually becoming more balmy and mysterious. Cinnamon gives it a nice twist of a tingly sensation. Myrrh, benzoin and styrax create warmth on the skin. Tonka and vanilla give Gold more depth and they improve its roundness as a whole. Despite many potent essences this perfume is charming and supple. You won’t be disappointed to wear it for Christmas.

If you already decided what perfume are you going to wear for Christmas I’d be delighter to hear about your choices and why did you pick that scent in particular. I’m sure you’ll smell fabulous.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “6 Perfume Ideas for Christmas Festivities

  1. Undina says:

    Great choices! None of these is my potential festive perfume but I feel an urge to wear several of your suggestions in the upcoming weeks.

    If I get to go to a parties this year, I will probably wear Amouage Ubar for Christmas and Lancôme Climat for the New Year. If I’ll have to stay at home, I’ll do something “quieter” (I’m afraid to wear my favorites when I’m not feeling well not to build a bad association).

    I hope to decorate my tree next weekend: it’s hard to get into the holiday spirit without some “visual aids.”

  2. Jillie says:

    That’s a lovely list, and the thought of those fragrances does bring a shimmer of joy to the season. I’ve never smelled any of them, but I reckon that the Puredistance Gold would be my choice of a “Christmassy” scent.

    I haven’t yet decided what to wear yet – have you?

    Glad you and your dad have found a good tree! I decorated ours yesterday.

  3. rickyrebarco says:

    Great choices! I love Rose de Kandahar and Iris Ganache. I just sampled Puredistance Gold and it is a shimmery beauty. I’ll be wearing the Puredistance Gold sample and my favorite holiday scent, Jo Malone’s Ginger Biscuit. It has such a great gingerbread scent and it reminds of spiced tea. I’ll also wear Shalimar Souffle’ It’s a warm, cosy, winter scent perfect for the holidays.

    Finally, I’ll wear on Christmas Eve L’Antichambre Le Chocolat Ambre, gorgeous elixir that smells like Belgian chocolate. The L’Antichambre fragrances are well made and just gorgeous in my opinion. I highly recommend L’Antichambre Le Tabac, too.

    Have a wonderful Christmas, Lucas, and a happy and prosperous New Year! Your blog is such a great gift to your readers. I feel like I have my first Christmas gift already!

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you! Phi is a very special rose and Iris Ganache is really luxurious. I never tried JM Ginger Biscuit, it was probably from some limited edition series?

      I never tried anything from L’Antichambre. I am not tempted by chocolate gourmand but a tobacco could be good.

      Likewise! You are too kind :*

  4. hajusuuri says:

    Nice grouping! With a perfume phobe family and close quarters while traveling to holiday party venues, I will have to dial back and severely underspray as early as possible. I may do a trial run of layering Guerlain Ginger Piccante and Gucci Memoire d’une Odeur.

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you! It’s a shame that the rest of your family doesn’t share the same passion for perfume.
      I liked Ginger Piccante, I didn’t care for Memoire d’Une Odeur. For something safe I’d probably use Prada Amber Pour Homme. To me it’s a discrete perfume.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.