Spotlight – personal best of fragrance in 2015

2015 is almost over which naturally makes me want to stop for a few minutes and take a look back at what happened over the course of past 12 months. A year of 2015 has been very intensive and very busy for me. After being assigned at work to look over all fragrance projects in Central & Eastern Europe I had more things to do and much more responsibility to take for my actions. But I think I passed this test and that I gave it all my best. Due to working full-time my family and I decided I should move to Poznań, instead of spending 3 hours on a train on my way between lab and family home; Since February I live by myself in a singular apartment that I’m renting. Of course there are good and bad sides of that fact, biggest disadvantage being the fact that I don’t have too many friends in Poznań after we graduated and everyone went their own way.

This year we had the hottest and most dry summer that I can remember and during that season I was in worst mental condition in my entire life. I wasn’t depressed but I was going through a phase of lacking the right purpose to continue to go on day after day. Once the summer was close to an end and the heat wave was gone I finally recovered my peace of mind. It was also thanks to my long-awaited vacations. For those were summer holidays of a lifetime – during 13 days I visited Berlin, Paris, Rome and Florence. This year I also managed to go to Esxence and Pitti.

Perfume-wise, after spending some time going through my blog archives I conclude that 2015 hasn’t been as good as 2014 when it comes to new launches and innovative concepts. Even if 2015 was slightly worse for fragrance industry doesn’t mean it was a bad year. Just this morning WordPress has sent me “my year in blogging” with some statistics – according to it I wrote 77 posts this year meaning there were perfumes worth writing about! Of course I only managed to cover a small part of this year’s novelties. I wrote even less because of our super hot summer.

Following a tradition that started in previous years I would like to share with you a list of the best perfumes in 2015. Of course it’s a subjective list, created according to my taste. But I think it’s the best way to do it because each perfume blogger can highlight different creations and bring our attention to things we didn’t manage to discover. And we cannot forget that this year over 1600 perfumes were launched. I wonder how many did I try. I might try to count next year!

Many fragrances seemed to catch my interest in 2015 but in the end many of them were becoming less significant to me as I spent some time smelling them peacefully at home after all the fragrance fair excitement was gone. Some of the perfumes had a wonderful start but a disappointing drydown or vice versa when you had to wait until drydown to feel the charm. Luckily there were also perfumes that kept me sniffing from the opening until the very end. In 2015 only two perfumes joined my wardrobe at my own desire. Those are Prada Infusion d’Oeillet which is my number 1 this year for being a multifaceted spicy, floral and oriental composition at once. The other one I bought this year was Diptyque Oud Palao – it caught me by surprise as not being an oud fan I found that when combined with rose and spices – it really suits me.

Roses and irises were still nicely present in this year releases. Among my favorites you will find such beauties as opulent, dark, oriental and liquory rose in Jul et Mad Nin-Shar, chic, elegant and sophisticated Puredistance White where precious rose is surrounded by tonka, sandalwood and vanilla. Another fantastic one was Rose Omeyyade by Atelier des Ors, a brand debuting this year. Among iris creation Huitieme Art Parfums Shermine was the one that stood out for sure. Other ones that were worth noticing included Naomi Goodsir Iris Cendre or even Ambre Cashmere from Parfums de Nicolai with its buttery facet.

In 2015 many white flowers bloomed on the field of niche perfumery. There was a theatrical Jardins d’Ecrivains Marlowe, Neela Vermeire presented Pichola – an intoxicating tuberose inspired by India. Also Andy Tauer made a tuberose in his Sotto La Luna collection. There were some more but these three are the ones I rememeber the most. This year was also rich in leather creations. Le Galion launched Cuir and Aesthete, Atelier des Ors presented Cuir Sacre and we also had Memo African Leather.

2015 in my opinion can be considered a great year for independent fragrance creators from Indie houses. Tanja Bochnig of April Aromatics successfully launched Tempted Muse and Purple Reign. Giovanni Sammarco introduced Ariel while Mandy Aftel composed Bergamoss and Vanilla Smoke. I think my favorite indie this year is Hiram Green Voyage.

Other fragrances that I enjoyed wearing this year include Arquiste Nanban, Carner Barcelona Palo Santo, Altaia Yu Son, Atelier Cologne Oud Saphir & Mandarine Glaciale, Gabriella Chieffo AcquasalaOf course there are more from this or earlier years but it’s hard to remember it all.

***

At the end I would like to say that I hope that you enjoyed these 12 months of little fragrance journey by my side. I wish all of you a wonderful and happy New Year’s Eve as well as fabulous time in 2016. If you wish, please share your own favorites of the year, I’ll be glad to know what you liked to wear.

Tagged , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “Spotlight – personal best of fragrance in 2015

  1. Lukas – Sorry that your 2015 wasn’t your perfect year…but I guess we have all had those in the past as well. Hang in there and open yourself up to new experiences and opportunities and it will all work out. Not a surprise to see Prada at the top of your list. There are a lot on your list that I have yet to try…I’m thinking I need to get to sampling quickly! Happy New Year my friend! xoxoxox Steve

    • lucasai says:

      I still consider this year as a quite a good one anyway. Hope you will get to try some of those more valuable 2015 launches as well as lots of launches in 2016. And I’ll definitely see you at Esxence or Pitti one of these days 😉

  2. floragal says:

    I so appreciate your reviews, Lucas. Thank you for all the time you dedicate to the fragrance world and sharing your love of it with so many through this blog. I don’t always comment, but I’m very glad you are here.
    When will we see those new Prada’s in the states I wonder?
    Voyage is a beautiful vanilla and one I liked very much this year as well.
    Wishing you great new friends in your new town, and much well being in the year to come.

    • lucasai says:

      Thanks Floragal. It’s great to know there are people out there who read regularly, even if they don’t leave a comment.
      I’m surprised you don’t have them in the US yet.
      Happy New Year

    • hajusuuri says:

      Floragal! According to C.H. over at NST, the Prada boutiques in New York carry them. I plan to check out the one on 57th between Park and Madison (or maybe Madison and 5th) as well as the one next to Bendels. Maybe that’s where we should have our next meet up :-)!

  3. Holly says:

    Dearest Lucas, I’m so glad that you are here! I always look forward to your posts and truly admire you for all that you have achieved this past year. The transition from university to the next phase of life is often difficult for people, and I applaud you for sharing your difficulties with us. You have referred to us here on the blog as a little family, and that’s due to the fact that you approach us that way. You have invited us into your life, and I appreciate that we can share things with you and your readers as well.

    I have a lot of sniffing to catch up on and omg I have plenty of samples here waiting for their opportunity to shine!

    I am wishing you a joyous New Year’s Eve and best wishes for a Happy New Year.
    Plus, a big hug. xo

  4. hajusuuri says:

    Hello my dear Lucas! I’m glad 2015 ended up on a good note for you. Change is certainly difficult and it looks like you handled it pretty well. I live part of my perfume life vicariously through you with your access to Pitti and Esxence! I have tried and now also own several of your favorites – Hiram Green Voyage, Huitieme Art Shermine, Nicolai Ambre Cashmere Intense and Puredistance White. The one where I have an opposite view is Oud Palao – I can’t get past how it smells on paper strips. Others I liked a lot were Aftelier Bergamoss (the solid and the EDP), Aftelier Vanilla Smoke parfum.

    Happy New Year!

  5. Cornelia Blimber says:

    Hi Lucas! 2015 was an important year for you, many challenges..you did well, bravo.

    New perfumes are popping up lake mushrooms after the rain. I love to read your reviews , but I am turning to old favourites. Always back to Guerlain. And I discovered Nicolai (New York, Odalisque).

  6. Undina says:

    Lucas, 2016 should be better! At least I hope for it – for you, me and other people who are glad that 2015 is over.

    I was so out of the Perfumeland, that I missed most of the new releases. Out all the perfumes you’ve mentioned in this post I tried, I think, 4. But it’s OK, I think: I have more than enough perfumes I enjoy wearing and there are many blogs that cover new releases much better than I would have – even if I tested them all.

    Happy New Year, dear Lucas! I hope you’ll find a good balance of work, friends and your blog.

  7. behemot12 says:

    Lucas, I am sorry about the last summer, but at the same time, I am glad someone wrote about problems with “surviving” hot weather. I live in the US, but I am from Krakow and perfectly know what it is to have a hot summer in Poland. I often felt sort of depressed and did not see any purpose when the summer was in a full bloom. My bad mood miraculously went away in early September.
    Nobody understands how I can feel this way, because people assume your mood can be low only during fall/winter season.
    So, after reading your post, I can see someone can imagine what I go through in the summer 🙂
    Thank you for you’re reviews from previous years and I hope for more in 2016. Good luck and Happy New Year!

  8. Barbara says:

    Thank you for your hard work Lucas! I’ve been reading your blog for a few months and really enjoy your approach. You are sincere and kind, and even if you don’t care for something, you are respectful. It’s refreshing to read your reviews. This year I had a chance to explore Parfums de Nicolai and am enjoying the new Ambre Cashmere. I’m putting together a samples wish list which will include many of your suggestions, and I look forward to trying them. With best wishes for a Happy New Year!

  9. Happy New Years Lucas. I loved reading about your favourites. We had a few in common. Here’s to a fragrant 2016 and all the best to you. Hopefully we’ll get to meet up again x

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.